Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 945
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby leech » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:23 pm

In a different thread about fitting a CF card into a Falcon, we went a bit off topic and were discussing fitting the top of the case on with a PicoPSU.

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=32744&p=334113#p334113

The PicoPSU I'm using ( https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0045 ... UTF8&psc=1 ) does seem to 'almost' fit. I have a stand in place now so that it doesn't bend the CT60e, but it might be a little too high ( Similar to this one; https://www.brickowl.com/catalog/lego-m ... cope-64644 )

Anyone else measure things out to see if their PicoPSU isn't pushing down on the CT60e when they put on the case lid?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby joska » Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:26 pm

You need a 16mm spacer, that brick is 17mm. So if it nearly fits it might fit properly with a correctly sized spacer :)
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 945
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby leech » Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:06 pm

Ha, that is what I was thinking, that it was a mm too high. Gonna have to track one down. Granted I can't get full functionality with the top on unless I mangle the back to fit the DVI /VGA cable out if the SuperVidel. This was more if an exercise for seeing if I got the right size for other people.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby joska » Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:10 pm

Correction - you need a 15.5mm spacer.

I just compared the dimensions of the PSU you linked to with the one I have, and yours is 1.5mm lower than mine. Maybe it will fit with a 15.5mm spacer, but that will be really tight.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 945
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby leech » Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:13 pm

Interesting. I could test it out here if I could find a 15.5mm spacer, since I already have the PicoPSU. I'll see if I can find / make one. I mean it really is a tight fit now, and I feel like I'd be forcing the screws into place, but 1.5mm smaller, it may just have enough clearance to fit right.

I should get a spacer/mount for the CT60e anyhow, before I transfer it over to the wizztronics case.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby joska » Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:13 pm

You should read this thread.

Even when the top lid closes completely you must *not* tighten the screws too much. Remember that the top case posts rests on the PSU bracket legs, this bracket is now gone so there will be a gap between the posts and the motherboard. If you tighten these screws too much you will strip the threads in the posts. To prevent this put some 1mm washers between the posts and the motherboard.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 945
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby leech » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:30 pm

One of the posts was stripped in my Falcon when I got it. I fixed it with these weird plastic beads that you heat up and then you can mold them into anything, then when they cool, it hardens. Stuffed some of it in the hole, put a screw in, let it harden, then shave off any excess.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby joska » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:51 am

I did not want to buy yet another PicoPSU in search of one that was small enough, so I did this to the one I had in my CT60e:

2018-03-06 12.27.03.jpg


By cutting the pins on one side, I could bend the connector just enough to allow the top case to fit. I bent it as little as possible on purpose, to prevent hot air from being trapped on the underside.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 945
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby leech » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Nice!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Xevious
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:06 am

Re: Does it fit? (PicoPSU + CT60e.)

Postby Xevious » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:55 am

Same solution I chose for my picopsu. It is a bit of soldering, but it makes everything fit without issues.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest