I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby mzry » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:43 pm

Hey there,

I've recently been on a quest to get the schematic and pcb information for the Supervidel from Nature, so that another hardware designer can produce them for the community (I'll leave that person anonymous for now) I have been given permission to pass the project along, but ONLY if Willy can confirm that he is not going to produce them.

Message to Willy: Everyone is super grateful with all the hard work you put into the ct60e, the project was a great success. But since then (about a year now) all of your customers have been waiting patiently for the new SV production that you spoke about. We have had zero communication, either on forums, PM's or e-mails. Please Willy, could you give us an update? If you cannot go ahead with the project, please let us know, this way we can move forward. Thank you!

Message to the community: If anyone has any special access to communicating with Willy, please let him know, please let him see this.

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby viking272 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:11 am

I forwarded a link to Willy via email, hopefully he can post a response.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby mzry » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:54 am

viking272 wrote:I forwarded a link to Willy via email, hopefully he can post a response.


Thank you :)

User avatar
willy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby willy » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:35 pm

Hi.

So, yes.
I'am working on SuperVidel. The whole idea is to be able to close case with CT60e and SuperVidel on top of it.
Actually i got stucked on some mechanical idea around moving DVI conector to the backside/outside - using same pcb kit.

I need to rethink that once again, or just make 2 different kits:
- One for them who don't want to modify case (no additional holes etc)
- And another one for those who may accept some holes.

Status for today: stalled :(

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby 1st1 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:46 pm

Very good news! I prefer the version without additional holes.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:50 pm

Nice update Willy. and thanks for the CT63e's as well :)

Personally, haven't had any luck at all getting a "board" member to design and / or build a few of my own small, very small projects.

Building a "SuperVidel" would be quite the undertaking for anyone.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby mzry » Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:01 pm

Hey Willy!

Thank you so much for giving us an update, even though you're stalled that is still excellent information. I personally will modify my case, having a DVI output on the back will still look very good.

Thanks,

ps - Please keep us in the loop! We love to follow your progress, perhaps you might consider making a small blog we could follow?

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby joska » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:07 pm

willy wrote:I need to rethink that once again, or just make 2 different kits:
- One for them who don't want to modify case (no additional holes etc)
- And another one for those who may accept some holes.


Why not have the DVI connector on a separate board, with a cable to a simple header on the SV? Then the user can decide for himself where to mount the connector.

Personally I would not consider a solution that requires a molested case.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
willy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby willy » Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:58 pm

joska wrote:
willy wrote:Why not have the DVI connector on a separate board, with a cable to a simple header on the SV? Then the user can decide for himself where to mount the connector.

Personally I would not consider a solution that requires a molested case.


Thats the main ponit.

It can be done within 1-2 hours.
But, I want to do that smart, and fulfill requirements of them who Do Not Want make any holes in falcon case, and them who did it already, and doesn't care about few more holes.
Smart - means also that will not be a pcb that is flapping on the breeze ...

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby 1st1 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:38 pm

Maybe you find a smart idea to get it out by the power supply and/or power switch hole if the falcon chassis, ideally together with the new power switch, turbo switch and power connector.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby joska » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:17 pm

willy wrote:But, I want to do that smart, and fulfill requirements of them who Do Not Want make any holes in falcon case, and them who did it already, and doesn't care about few more holes.


The only way to avoid hacking the case is to reuse the holes for the powersocket and switch. Neither is big enough for a standard DVI connector. My suggestion is to...

a) Drop the DVI socket on the SV itself, replace it with a simple pin-header.
b) Create a sub-PCB with a mini-DVI socket and a 12V inlet for the PicoPSU that fits the old powersocket hole, and one with two pushbuttons (power and 030/060-mode) that fits the powerswitch hole.
c) Offer a 3D-printed bracket for this through Shapeways or similar service.

The bracket should double as support for the CT60e too, since the back of the CT60e is very poorly supported
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby jvas » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:06 am

Can't the DVI be replaced by HDMI? Lot smaller.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2304
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby christos » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:21 am

jvas wrote:Can't the DVI be replaced by HDMI? Lot smaller.

I think hdmi needs a licence to be purchased. You cant just add it.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby joska » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:22 am

HDMI does not carry the VGA signals. So no possibility for dual-screen with HDMI.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby dbsys » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:12 am

jvas wrote:Can't the DVI be replaced by HDMI? Lot smaller.


HDMI is "digital" only, there are no analog VGA signals any more. DVI instead supports analog and digital signals.

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby jvas » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:22 am

Yes I know, but do we really need analog video and/or dual monitor? I think, it would be a fair compromise.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby joska » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:59 am

I would be seriously disappointed if that feature was left out.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby Trixster » Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:33 am

This is good news. I would definitely like to be on a list for an 'un-modded' case solution.
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | A3000/060
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC + Deneb | Saturn | PS1 | PS2
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64 | 3DO | CPC6128

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby troed » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:17 am

... I'll order a SuperVidel immediately it's available. Right after that CT60e I still desperately need from a second run? :)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby Dal » Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:02 pm

A nice engineering challenge. One other approach to put out there is a breakout box that clips into the hole left by the mains inlet. No case hacking - sure there would be a slight protrusion from the back to house the DVI Connector, but you could also allow room for the svethlana connector as well?

Just a thought to throw in the mix.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby paul92706 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:05 am

This is good news! Thank's willy for keeping us updated, and good luck!!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby leech » Sun Nov 26, 2017 4:20 pm

I ended up getting the Rack mount case so I don't have to cut up the original. Still haven't gotten around to putting the Falcon in there, since I also have to mod the board for internal SCSI for the Cosmosex!

Awesome that there will be a new run after I forked out way too much for one. At least I managed to get one, sounds like it still might be awhile for the new ones to be released.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
willy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby willy » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:53 pm

I will disappoint you, but simple pin header will not work :(
It's enough for VGA but not for high speed differential digital signals like DVI/HDMI.

About HDMI - it would be better ... but it's not possible because of royalties.
As long as fees themselves for hardware are acceptable (flat $1 for every piece of HDMI hardware for small manufacturers) then adoptor annual fee cost $5000 ... It's not worth that.

I think we'll try to find the right solution the 8.12 in Gdansk (SV) tasting whisky :)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby leech » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:15 pm

I thought I read that DisplayPort wasn't encumbered with royalties? Micro DP would be a bit less painful to find a spot for as well.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
willy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: I'm calling Willy out! SuperVidel info!

Postby willy » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:28 pm

There is another problem with DisplayPort - implementation is f*****g complicated in comparison to DVI/HDMI :(


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests