CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby Kroll » Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:07 pm

Hi all,
I am very happy and I am using Xboot on different computers, it is very useful, I have put up many different options to run Falcon
Several times, with different threads, I was addressing the problem with Xboot and not only that.
So for all who use CT6x and CTPCI I made a compilation, maybe somebody will help something.

All the tests I did on the computer
Atari Falcon, CT63, CTPCI + Radeon 9250
Boot and TOS drivers 2.00 Beta 2 of 24 October 2010
I downloaded several versions of Xboot and did an Xboot compilation, whether it works properly with CTPCI and GEMRAM:

1. XBOOT version 3.02 27 February 1993 (length 89.159 bytes, English version)
2. XBOOT version 3.20 29 November 1993 (length 91.700 bytes, Vertrieb: MAXON Computer Gmbh, English version)
3. XBOOT version 3.02 27 February 1993 (length 89.719 bytes, Vertrieb: BELA Gmbh, Deutsch version)
4. XBOOT version 3.02 27 February 1993 (length 89.719 bytes, Vertrieb: BELA Gmbh, English version)
5. XBOOT version 3.10 29 November 1993 (length 91.630 bytes, Vertrieb: MAXON Computer Gmbh, English version)

Summary of results:
Ad 1: CTPCI: No. GEMRAM, WinX OK
Ad 2: CTPCI: No. GEMRAM, WinX OK
Ad 3: CTPCI: OK. GEMRAM, WinX No
Ad 4: CTPCI: OK. GEMRAM, WinX No
Ad 5: CTPCI: No. GEMRAM, WinX OK

What do the answers mean?
Answer CTPCI: No
Indicates that the xboot does not start up properly, the white screen, press CTRL + Q to launch the last setting, or as in the pictures below:
Wrong_display.jpg

Wrong_display_2.jpg


Answer CTPCI: OK
Every time when start computer, XBOOT works properly

Answer: GEMRAM, WinX No
Almost always there is a bug when running GEMRAM (see picture below) or when running WinX too (Completely random)
GEMRAM_crash.jpg


Answer: GEMRAM, WinX OK
It means that GEMRAN and WinX is working every time

For information, I give what I run at the start of the TOS in Auto folder :)
Xboot, NVDI, Gemram, Dpattern, DSPBIOS, EXCEP060, WinX, Wdialog, E_TEMP, Falcon8, Ldg, Maccel34, Pol_Font (for polish characters), Slectric, TOSFIX, ACCS,

I have a question whether someone who uses Xboot also noticed similar abnormalities?

In summary, I have to change Xboot if I want to run GEMRAM and WinX :)

Regards
Kroll
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby Gaiyan » Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:47 pm

Did you try my patched version of 3.20? viewtopic.php?f=14&t=31588&p=317460&hilit=Xboot#p317460
Image

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby Kroll » Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:43 pm

Gaiyan:
I was not sure about that, so I downloaded xboot32e.zip again, just like the unpatched versions. This version behaves similarly to version 2 in my test, incorrectly displays (see picture 1) and very often the mouse is completely inactive.
As a reminder, this is happening under Radeon

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12289
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:37 am

I stopped using Xboot because it does not work on my Ct63/CTPCI setup.
It was a pity because it was such a nice program.
One thing that I wanted to try now that I have my CT63 out of the cupboard is that new version that suppose to work with 68060.
It's on my todo list, but may be only start test next month.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby Moulinaie » Sun Dec 24, 2017 7:53 am

Hi,

I have a CT60+CTPCI+Radeon.
I had to build a little tool for my own use that activates/deactivates AUTO programs to select the system I want to run (TOS, Mint + Xaes or MyAES + Internet tools or not).
It's hard to share because it is very dependant on your paths and that there is no configuration file! Everything is built into the program, and if I want to change something, I must assemble it again.

That's the best way I found because of Xboot problem.

Guillaume.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12289
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI, Xboot strange behaviour

Postby wongck » Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:51 am

I use STOOL and it works fine for me. I boot to TOS or Mint different versions with it.

To control my ATI and Videl, I use ATI_NVDI which turns on & off NVDI drivers depending on ATI on enabled or not.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests