Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:23 pm

Hi,
I would like to ask because I searched the forum and could not find anything on CT60 with CTPCI and Radeon card for pure TOS, program to set desktop background.
Is there any good background program (for example DESKPIC for 256 colors) for 32-bit colour resolution (16M colours) ?

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby paul92706 » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:12 am

I don't think you can set back ground image in plain TOS.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 pm

I use WinX to set a repeating background pattern, but not an image.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:50 pm

May be use Thing as Desktop replacement...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:58 pm

wongck wrote:I use WinX to set a repeating background pattern, but not an image.


Today I tried using WinX, but I have a huge problem. First problem with GEMRAM is using version 1.6 (length 13.647 bytes). GEMRAM is the second program in the AUTO folder after the NVDI and after starting the computer after loading GEMRAM the computer resets and then it shows OK (GEM 3.40 relocated to RAM - unfortunately very strange after reboot) unfortunately later on always starts EXCEPTION PROCESSING 4: Illegal Instructions, I was testing version 2.2 (length 51649 bytes) for 2.3 beta (58363 bytes)

I wonder if this could be a flash issue, I'm using BOOT 2.00 beta 2 from 24 Sep 2010, and TOS Drivers 1.00

Generally WinX I have a problem and I stopped using it.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:12 am

frank.lukas wrote:May be use Thing as Desktop replacement...

I just use WinX on normal TOS, no Teradsek.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:13 am

Kroll wrote:Generally WinX I have a problem and I stopped using it.


I don't have these problems.
I use the Gemram and WinX from my website.
i think they are the latest version.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:37 pm

wongck wrote:I use WinX to set a repeating background pattern, but not an image.


Today I managed to install GEMRAM and WinX, but I do not understand it, but it depends on Xboot and sometimes completely random, but OK I have installed and both under CTPCI as in 060 mode.
Where can I set in WinX ta repeating background pattern ?

User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby rudis » Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:06 pm

WINX2.3N full archiv.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:24 pm

Ah yes, that version N is better.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:34 pm

Thanks for this version, I did not know that it is so extensive, I also installed DPATTERN.PRG (I first saw it :))
At CPX I changed my settings, I saved the "sichern" button, but after reboot computer all the time I have a default value, even if I save this in the file Newdesk, but also it does not change where I still make a mistake, because my German is really bad :)
Thanks for any help.

User avatar
Estrayk
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Estrayk » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:02 pm

rudis wrote:WINX2.3N full archiv.


an English version please?
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Thu Jun 29, 2017 8:43 pm

I instaled Gemram and the last version of WinX. Please loot at the photos taken a mobile phone.
The first photo is in TOS in desktop. Inactive options in the menu are completely not visible, on the second picture as it looks like in QED. Is it possible to change something?
And such background settings are on my desktop and I can not change that in CPX
Zdjęcie-0136.jpg

Zdjęcie-0135.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:05 pm

background also cannot be saved, it just goes back to the default one on reboot. :(

The missing lines, I think it is your palette
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Wongck:

Please look at at the photos
I run computer with only GEMRAN, DPATTERN and WINX in AUTO folder, Xcontrol as accesory and DPATTERN.CPX and CTCONF.CPX and thats all
WinX.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:23 am

Hello
Ah... you have black & white there... sorry my bad.
This is what I see using WinX, the lines and grey out text are all OK. Background is default as well.
I configured it long long time ago so I forgot a lot. I really like this program as it make TOS modern.
You also see the PRG that are executed in my AUTO.
IMG_0939s.JPG

I translated doc to English somewhere.... I cannot find but Google can do nowadays easily.
I can only offer you my WINX.INF to try on your setup.
WINX.INF.TXT

Please remove the TXT extension as I cannot attach INF file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Sun Jul 02, 2017 12:10 pm

Wongck: Thank you very much
I will be test with your configuration winx.inf file, but I have also a question with your program in AUTO folder.
Can you tell me what some programs are used for:
ATI_NVDI.PRG
BOOTHLP.PRG
CHK_OFLS.PRG
FONTSEL.PRG
KEYOFF.PRG

Second question I see that your GEMRAM is other than I have, My version is 1.6 from 15/10/1993 (my have 13647 bytes length), please send me I check it ?

Do you use Stoop instead of Xboot on your computer with CTPCI?

Regards
Kroll

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 02, 2017 3:32 pm

The first 2 programs are my own to make it easier to use the ATI card.
chk_ofls is from Kobold.
fontsel is just a random font selector program.
keyoff turns off the awful repeating key clicks that you get sometimes on reboot.

Yes I use STOOP instead as Xboot did not work on CTPCI.
(cannot remember what was wrong with xboot).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:27 pm

wongck wrote:I can only offer you my WINX.INF to try on your setup.
WINX.INF.TXT
Please remove the TXT extension as I cannot attach INF file.

Thank you very much,
I am very grateful to you I used your winx.inf and it is working perfectly.
For comparison, I also sent you my winx.inf file, which I used, and which caused my problems, very interesting will be the comparison where is the reason that now is OK.
I will try to compare and describe it
winx.inf.txt


I woluld like ask you what does it mean in your winx.inf
.LOADFONT= C:\GEMSYS\TREK8X16.FNT
Do you use this font instead system font in TOS ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:40 pm

wongck wrote:The first 2 programs are my own to make it easier to use the ATI card.
chk_ofls is from Kobold.
fontsel is just a random font selector program.
keyoff turns off the awful repeating key clicks that you get sometimes on reboot.

Can you describe what makes these two programs easy to use for the Radeon card?
Very interesting is the name ATI_NVDI, because I also use NVDI and must manually turn off the drivers nvdi.

Fontsel, I found on the net and I read HYP this file
keyoff.prg, wow, do you know where can I find it

wongck wrote:Yes I use STOOP instead as Xboot did not work on CTPCI.
(cannot remember what was wrong with xboot).


I've described correctly and tested several versions of the xboot, all found in this thread
viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31877

I will try to use Stoop too,
This program will work very nicely, but somehow I did not use it :(

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:36 am

Kroll wrote:Thank you very much,
I am very grateful to you I used your winx.inf and it is working perfectly.
For comparison, I also sent you my winx.inf file, which I used, and which caused my problems, very interesting will be the comparison where is the reason that now is OK.

Glad that it resolved your issue, the main difference is just the nice menu lines.
Many many years ago I may also have this issue, I turn off the nice lines but I cannot total recall if that was the reason.
IMG_0940.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:41 am

Kroll wrote:I woluld like ask you what does it mean in your winx.inf
.LOADFONT= C:\GEMSYS\TREK8X16.FNT
Do you use this font instead system font in TOS ?

No I do not even have this font in my folder.
It was something in the INF that came default I guess.
My fonts are loaded by NVDI and defined by standard ASSIGN.SYS method.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11849
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:42 am

Kroll wrote:Can you describe what makes these two programs easy to use for the Radeon card?
Very interesting is the name ATI_NVDI, because I also use NVDI and must manually turn off the drivers nvdi.

I made these programs very long time ago and cannot really remember what they do... :lol:

I think ATI_NVDI will detect if Radeon is running or not.
If it is not, then it will will enable the NVDI SYS file by renaming it to SYS.
When i started using the Radeon, I find myself kept renaming these SYS files, so I decide to make a program to help me.

BOOTHLP will rename/copy files, may be delete files... I cannot be sure until i see the source code (if I can find them :coffe: :roll: )
It works with scripts that tells which file and action on that file, so it is very difficult to use. Further more no documentation.
So I have defined a lot (like 25 ) different configuration for my Falcon/CT63.
- TOS only, TOS with NVDI, TOS with NVDI & WinX, TOS with WINX only .... etc
- Mint v1.16, Mint v1.17, Mint v1.18 , all these with/without CDROM BDOS, all these with/without DHCP .... etc
- spareMint or normal Mint, teradesk or thing or ease or jinnie.
- Radeon, Videl Inside or nothing.
- If Radeon, then resolution can be 1024x768 or 1280x800.

So there are many many combinations 8O , some I did not even try to write in the script. :lol:
Today I look at all these configurations file, I am also confused to say the least :oops: .
Luckily I can use STOOP to select... I think so can Xboot, IDK as I created this program using with STOOP.
Certain thing for Mint like desktop / resolution work with Mint v1,17 up.

it was really funny because when I took my Falc/CT63 out to use recently, I took 2 days just to figure out what the hell was going on with all these configuration. Some it makes no sense now as I do not have the CDROM on it.

Kroll wrote:keyoff.prg, wow, do you know where can I find it

I think it got it off the net somewhere, I don't think I did that one.
I will attach here when I have access to my Falcon.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:42 am

wongck wrote:I made these programs very long time ago and cannot really remember what they do... :lol:

I think ATI_NVDI will detect if Radeon is running or not.
If it is not, then it will will enable the NVDI SYS file by renaming it to SYS.
When i started using the Radeon, I find myself kept renaming these SYS files, so I decide to make a program to help me.

BOOTHLP will rename/copy files, may be delete files... I cannot be sure until i see the source code (if I can find them :coffe: :roll: )
It works with scripts that tells which file and action on that file, so it is very difficult to use. Further more no documentation.
So I have defined a lot (like 25 ) different configuration for my Falcon/CT63.
- TOS only, TOS with NVDI, TOS with NVDI & WinX, TOS with WINX only .... etc
- Mint v1.16, Mint v1.17, Mint v1.18 , all these with/without CDROM BDOS, all these with/without DHCP .... etc
- spareMint or normal Mint, teradesk or thing or ease or jinnie.
- Radeon, Videl Inside or nothing.
- If Radeon, then resolution can be 1024x768 or 1280x800.


Exactly, you ave very similar like me, I have a lot of different configuration in Xboot too.
I also got it when I want to use Mint 1.18, 1.19 with different desktops, Teradesk, Thing or Jinnee, just like me :).
Similarly, when I use Radeon, or not, then I use centscren to resolve resolutions such as 800x600 etc.

As you will have access to Falcon, maybe both ATI_NVDI and BOOTHLP.PRG send them here, they can be very helpful also for me, in advance thank you very much.
I have two copies of Gemsys. One when the nvdi*.sys drivers are available, the other when they are not available, then before the normal Xboot switch, I have to change the name manually :)

wongck wrote:I think it got it off the net somewhere, I don't think I did that one.
I will attach here when I have access to my Falcon.


Thank you very much, please attach these programs here, this can be very useful

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Desktop background in TOS for CTPCI

Postby Kroll » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:52 am

wongck wrote:
Kroll wrote:I woluld like ask you what does it mean in your winx.inf
.LOADFONT= C:\GEMSYS\TREK8X16.FNT
Do you use this font instead system font in TOS ?

No I do not even have this font in my folder.
It was something in the INF that came default I guess.
My fonts are loaded by NVDI and defined by standard ASSIGN.SYS method.


I checked exactly in the winx.inf file where you can specify the font, and the size of the font you want to use in the window name etc., you set it in the winx.cpx file.

Thank you very much for the clarification, I also use NVDI and assign.sys to load different fonts * .fnt

I also looked at your last photoe where you showed winx.cpx, that is English version
Have you got english version of the winx.cpx configuration file ?


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest