Ethernat Toast?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Ethernat Toast?

Postby JoeAtari » Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:26 pm

I'm been using my Ethernat for years with no problems. Recently, under Mint if I click on anything that accesses networking, my Falcon will lock up. The mouse cursor still moves, but clicking gets no response. Even if I try to ping from bash this freeze-up will happen.

I tried restoring my software back a couple months before the problem with no result.

I flashed the Ethernat with a Xilinx cable and latest MAIN.JED with no result (programming the FPGA worked with no problems).

I re-seated the Ethernat on the SuperVidel with no result.

I re-seated the CT-60 with no result.

I will only re-seat the SuperVidel as a last result, as it is VERY tight and it scares me to move it.

I have verified that I don't have any router problems by using the same port on the router with other Atari computers.

This one has me baffled. I am thinking the Ethernat has failed (I hope not!). USB storage still functions. I don't get any kind of error messages upon booting Mint. Everything is normal until I try to access networking, then it freezes up.

Help?
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Ethernat Toast?

Postby mikro » Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:06 am

So you didn't change your MiNT setup at all?

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ethernat Toast?

Postby mzry » Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:54 am

Well I find Mint to be very flakey when it comes to networking. At the moment my netusbee/mint config has stopped working too, totally random. Last night it was working, this morning it's not. I have no explanation.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Ethernat Toast?

Postby wongck » Mon Jun 12, 2017 2:18 pm

mzry wrote:Well I find Mint to be very flakey when it comes to networking. At the moment my netusbee/mint config has stopped working too, totally random. Last night it was working, this morning it's not. I have no explanation.


I disagree. I think most of the issues is the hardware.

The hardware retrofits basically tries to add hardware that the Atari was not designed for it. The hardware and software needed to work this is already incredibly amazing.
On my Firebee, the network works everytime. The network hardware was part of the design and so it handles the network stuff very well.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Ethernat Toast?

Postby mikro » Mon Jun 12, 2017 10:22 pm

Exactly. What actually FreeMiNT does very well is that it's being far more sensitive for HW issues. So if you suddenly see a lot of memory violations, bus errors etc, you can be pretty sure something bad is going on with your hardware even if TOS works all right. That includes hard disk corruption as well.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Ethernat Toast?

Postby paul92706 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:27 am

this seems like a Hardware issue joeatari! somthing has failed on your Ethernat board, maybe loose connection, or bad cap, or IC, troubleshooting would be a pain, maybe time to switch to NetUSBee?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest