CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:10 am

JoeAtari wrote:I would love to resolve the network issue if anyone has any insight. As I stated before, nothing is reported at the Mint boot screen when using the rtl8139.xif driver in Mint, and at the end of the boot I get "network unreachable." I know that things are setup correctly because it functions just fine with the netusbee. I am using "rtk0" for the name of the 8139D ethernet card in the mint config files.


can you take a photo of the CTPCI devices and post it here.... need to check the ID.
This is mine from years back found on this thread... some few post back.
Image

What firmware version is on your Xilinx?
You need those specified on this post by Ektus.
viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31641&start=50#p328947
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:03 am

The firmware is as posted by Ektus. I use a custom jtag cable and the flash tool provided by Didier. No matter how I edit my photo, it is posting upside down. Sorry about that! The vendor ID is 0x10EC. The Device ID is 0x8169. It is probably the wrong device! Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Wed Dec 26, 2018 8:00 am

JoeAtari wrote: The Device ID is 0x8169. It is probably the wrong device! Thanks!

That's the wrong device, it will not work.
Get the RTL8139 instead. My guess is that this one from eBay should work: it's only around EUR 2.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:19 pm

I have one on the way. The one I was using was labeled as 8139D, but obviously not an 8139D! I have also ordered an 8139C for testing purposes.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:16 am

I received the replacement (correct) 8139D network card today, and now everything is working! Thanks to all who have helped! Now on to the casing project.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:23 pm

:D Glad you got it working.
Another happy CTPCI user.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Thu Dec 27, 2018 2:34 pm

Great that it works for you!!
Can you please post the exact type of USB card you are using? Perhaps i´ll give it another try...

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:39 pm

Latz wrote:Can you please post the exact type of USB card you are using? Perhaps i´ll give it another try...

vendor id= 0x1033
device id = 0x0035 & 0x00e0
https://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1033/00e0

Looks like a NEC Corporation uPD72010x USB 2.0 Controller
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Ektus » Thu Dec 27, 2018 8:34 pm

wongck wrote:
Latz wrote:Can you please post the exact type of USB card you are using? Perhaps i´ll give it another try...

vendor id= 0x1033
device id = 0x0035 & 0x00e0
https://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1033/00e0

Looks like a NEC Corporation uPD72010x USB 2.0 Controller

Those are the same IDs that are shown with my setup.
I'd have to open the tower case and pull the card to make a photo of the actual device.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:54 pm

Hi
In my system I have the same IDs. My USB is a NEC with chip D720101. Working without any problem with mouse and mass storage in this time.

regards
Kroll

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:40 am

Mine is a Belkin F5U220 5 Port Card, Rev. 3.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:42 pm

Hi,
thank you all for your informations!
My USB card (the last one i tried) has a NEC D720101 too, but shows the described problems.
Before i try the Belkin JoeAtari advised, can you please
- extract the attached lspci.zip
- run

Code: Select all

lspci -vv -i /path/to/pci.ids.gz

and post the output here?

Thanks in advance,
Latz
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Ektus » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:24 pm

Here's the output from my Falcon:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Bridge: PLX Technology, Inc. PCI9054 32-bit 33MHz PCI <-> IOBus Bridge (rev 0c)
   Subsystem: PLX Technology, Inc. PCI9054 32-bit 33MHz PCI <-> IOBus Bridge
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 8000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at ffffff00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Region 2: Memory at 20d80000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
   Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [40] #00 [0000]

00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Subsystem: C.P. Technology Co. Ltd Device 2073
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 0 (2000ns min), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 40000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
   Region 1: I/O ports at <unassigned> [size=256]
   Region 2: Memory at 60000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   Expansion ROM at 60020000 [size=128K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:01.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (Secondary) (rev 01)
   Subsystem: C.P. Technology Co. Ltd Device 2072
   Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at <unassigned> (32-bit, prefetchable) [disabled] [size=128M]
   Region 1: Memory at <unassigned> (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
   Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 0 (8000ns min, 16000ns max)
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: I/O ports at 0100 [size=256]
   Region 1: Memory at 60040000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:03.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation Hama USB 2.0 CardBus
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 10500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60041000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:03.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation Hama USB 2.0 CardBus
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 10500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin B routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60042000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:03.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04) (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation USB 2.0
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 128 (4000ns min, 8500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin C routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60043000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:04.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): NEC Corporation uPD72874 IEEE1394 OHCI 1.1 3-port PHY-Link Ctrlr (rev 01) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation uPD72874 IEEE1394 OHCI 1.1 3-port PHY-Link Ctrlr
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 160 (5000ns min, 11000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60044000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Fri Dec 28, 2018 7:36 pm

Hi, I have simple problem, unpacked this archive ls_pci.zip. Under TOS I change lspci to lspci.ttp, I enter parameters -vv -i k:\PCI (PCI new name from pci.ids.gz) I see on the screen a lot of information, but how can I save to txt the file ?
Maybe I can try under MiNT too.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Ektus » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:30 pm

I did it under mint, but it should also work under TOS if you have a terminal window. Easiest way would be Gemini 1.a as desktop, launch the internal Mupfel shell and start

Code: Select all

lspci.ttp -vv -i k:\PCI > kroll.txt
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:39 pm

Sorry I do not use Gemini at all, I tried to run LSPCI.TTP and I wrote parameters -vv -i k:\PCI that now I see information on the screen, but still the problem to save to file kroll.txt :(.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:46 am

Should run it in Mint using bash shell ( or any one that you like).
Yon can easily copy the output from bash into QED.
Or just use the same redirection command as Ektus mentioned directly on bash command line.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:00 am

Well, I would have run the command to get my USB details but I have a slight problem now.... I also need another USB adapter :roll:
I managed to destroy my USB adapter while it was mounted on the CTPCI amid my small desk in my man cave. :(
And this happened.... noticed the burnt mark on one of the slot.
Radeon & network still OK. USB adapter not detected any more.
burnslot.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1943
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:54 am

Kroll wrote:Sorry I do not use Gemini at all, I tried to run LSPCI.TTP and I wrote parameters -vv -i k:\PCI that now I see information on the screen, but still the problem to save to file kroll.txt :(.

I'm quite confident that redirection (> kroll.txt) works also in plain TOS. But you must fit into 127 characters.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:21 am

Hi,

@Ektus: Thanks for the extra "-v" ;)
@Kroll: Sorry, i should have mentioned that this is for commandline shell.

But now: A "Christmas wonder" happened! 8O
I mounted the USB card again (the one where i had to cut the 5V trace, see USB card thread),
just to compare lspci data. This shows exactly the same lspci output as Ektus' one and
worked "halfways" one year ago (blocked upload of bigger files via network), but now it
works correct...no upload problems anymore, although i didn't change any hardware since then...
a miracle. :shrug:
Network upload speed with Litchi -> UbuntuPC vsftpd server (while listening webradio stream with FalcAmp):
Several files 2-12 MB (from RAM) ~2800 kB/sec
File 218 MB (direct-from-disc) ~1800 kB/sec

USB is also working good so far (only mouse tested yet), will do more tests and post
in other thread.

I really don't know why it works now, but this is a great christmas present and makes
me happy like a child :D

@wongck: Oh sh.., sorry to hear that. Was this a shortcut on an USB card port (cable)? Is the PCI slot still working?

Thank you all for your support,
Latz
:cheers:
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:26 am

Latz wrote:But now: A "Christmas wonder" happened! 8O

Glad that you got it working on Christmas... indeed a good gift.

Latz wrote:@wongck: Oh sh.., sorry to hear that. Was this a shortcut on an USB card port (cable)? Is the PCI slot still working?

The USB adapter card was slightly knocked off and so dislodged from the slot, it became partially removed with some pins were out just touching the top of the slot while some pins were still slotted in. So there was where the burning was.
I have not used anything on that particular slot as I am sure it is broken and not risk any of my other few cards. At least the Radeon and network slots are working. The 3rd slot left will be for USB, that's where I am plugging the "broken" USB adapter and it's not detected. I saw the USB board QC sticker was 2009, so it's nearly 10 years old now.

Well USB is the least priority for me, I love the Falcon keyboard and already using a wireless mouse.
So only USB thumb drives is missing and I use network to do file transfers anyway, so no lost. That's why I only recently ordered another USB adapter even as the damage was done several months back.

I should follow you and JoeAtari and get it into a proper case. Mine's just hanging loose on the table.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:00 am

I don't know how to run the lspci properly. As a gem prg I get this output to the console:

00:00.0 Class 0680: Device 10b5:9054 (rev 0c)
00:01.0 Class 0300: Device 1002:5960 (rev 01)
00:01.1 Class 0380: Device 1002:5940 (rev 01)
00:02.0 Class 0c03: Device 1033:0035 (rev 43)
00:02.1 Class 0c03: Device 1033:0035 (rev 43)
00:02.2 Class 0c03: Device 1033:00e0 (rev 04)
00:03.0 Class 0200: Device 10ec:8139 (rev 10)
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:23 am

Cased cards at this point: I used a mini ATX case and drilled holes and added standoffs so that I could place the PCI card riser just right. I'm using a standard ATX power supply, so this also gave me a place to house the power supply. All the switch and LED wires are also routed into the case (I'm using the wires and switches supplied with the case). These wires are routed through the back of the case where the power cord plugged in to the original power supply. The IDE cables and ATX power cables are currently routed through the cartridge port entrance in the original Falcon case, but this is very tight, and I still can't get the lid on safely with all the screws secured. More work is in order.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:34 am

Hi,

@wongck: It's always dangerous to leave electrical devices unmounted...much more
in our case; imagine such a shortcut would burn CTPCI, CT60 or Falcon MB...
Easiest way is a cardboard box (carton) or a parcel package, use a cutter knife
to cut the slots and a icepick or screwdriver for making screwholes. Tape the carton
where the screwholes are located for more stability.
May not look very professional, but avoids any problems when moving or (un-)connecting devices.

@JoeAtari: lspci (and other "MinT executables") are intended to run in a UNIX-like
environment, which is not part part of FreeMinT snapshot. E.g. lspci should be started
from a shell (sh or bash) and exepts the executable "gzip" in path /bin/ or /usr/bin/ for
extracting the database file "pci_ids.gz". Without this file (or if "gzip" is not found),
lspci only shows numerical values instead of the names and parameters found in database.
I don't know your current MinT installation, so perhaps i explained things you already know...

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:04 am

Latz wrote:@wongck: It's always dangerous to leave electrical devices unmounted...much more
in our case; imagine such a shortcut would burn CTPCI, CT60 or Falcon MB...
Easiest way is a cardboard box (carton) or a parcel package, use a cutter knife
to cut the slots and a icepick or screwdriver for making screwholes. Tape the carton
where the screwholes are located for more stability.
May not look very professional, but avoids any problems when moving or (un-)connecting devices.


Previous I was looking at PCI riser cage from various brands of workstation/server.
But on deep dive, it seems all do not have enough clearance for the IDE cables side, so will misalign the slots. :(
Really need a custom make chassis.
Image
JoeAtari idea of using an old ITX case is good, but I do not have enough room to place any PC chassis on my desk.
Will try the cardboard method.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cyprian, Mathias and 3 guests