CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sat May 20, 2017 10:04 am

mikro wrote:
wongck wrote:Great stuff. So this will get updated to v1.19 ?

Not sure what you mean but if Ektus tests the new kernel and will be willing to try a few things then yes, the fix would get into 1.19.


Well now that the Guardians of the FreeMint Github knows, I would think that the regression will be fixed.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Sat May 20, 2017 12:52 pm

wongck wrote:Well now that the Guardians of the FreeMint Github knows, I would think that the regression will be fixed.

It may be shocking news for you but not all developers have the CTPCI to test. And when I say not all, I mean zero.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sat May 20, 2017 3:02 pm

Well CTPCI is rather rare and not a lot of ppl who has it gets it working.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Sat May 20, 2017 9:11 pm

This is true of CTPCI and network card users are very little, I am not a programmer but since there is one build quite old because from 2012. Is it a big problem to implement again, I honestly have a sentiment for this device.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Sun Jun 11, 2017 12:58 pm

Ektus wrote:http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=24151&p=299611&hilit=ctpci+realtek#p299622
Boot output of my working MiNT setup:
MiNT-Net TCP-IP 1.6 PL 1 Nov 3 2012


The Mint 1.17 that I got from the sparemint is date 1/1/2011.
I know you mentioned daily builds, so I think your 1.17 must have been updated.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:01 am

Kroll wrote:This is true of CTPCI and network card users are very little, I am not a programmer but since there is one build quite old because from 2012. Is it a big problem to implement again, I honestly have a sentiment for this device.


:mrgreen:

Think no matter the hardware, we all have sentiment for it.
May be getting a CTPCI, then join in on the head banging :cheers:

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:59 pm

Hi,

today i tried CTPCI network card RTL8139 with current FreeMint (1-19-cur, 23.9.2017).

- ATI Radeon 9250 and RealTek 8139 cards installed.
- CT63/CTPCI flashed with latest ABE_V7F, SDR_V7D, CTPCI_1M; CT60TOS and network driver
from unofficial TOSbeta10 package (see Ektus´ post above).
- With TOS and STinG, network runs perfect (HighWire, Litchi FTP, FalcAmp webradio, ...).

Now with MinT (MinTNet+gluestik), network card is detected correctly at boot:

Code: Select all

RTL8139: RealTek RTL8139CP Fast Ethernet at 0x60040000, 00:08:54:39:B9:85
RTL8139: TX buffers at 0x8D80000, RX buffers at 0x8D81800, DMA offset 0x0
RTL8139: Setting 100mbps full-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 45E1.
RTL8139: ioaddr 0x60040000 handle 0x2 full duplex.


"lspci" shows:

Code: Select all

>lspci 00:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co.; Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


MinT network setting manually (no DHCP), "ifconfig" and "route" (a bit shortened) show:

Code: Select all

>ifconfig
rtk0: flags=0x443<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING>
      inet 192.168.0.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255 metric 0 mtu 1500
      (...)

>route
Destination  Gateway      Flags   Ref   Use  Metric   Iface
default      192.168.0.1  UGD     1     0         0   rtk0
192.168.0.4  *            UH      1     0         0   lo0
(...)


So far, so good. But no webclient work, for example:

Code: Select all

>ping -c 10 192.168.0.1
ping 192.168.0.1:56 data bytes
RTL8139: Setting 100mbps full-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 45E1.

----192.168.0.1 PING Statistics----
10 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packets lost


Litchi hangs when RESOLVING: Litchi errormessage "Cannot find server" and output
"RTL8139: Setting 100mbps full-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 45E1."
on TOSWIN2 console.

Same with HighWire: No matter which address or IP, HighWire shows "No route to host"
or "Connection timeout"; in TOSWIN2 console same message (multiple):
"RTL8139: Setting 100mbps full-duplex based on auto-negotiated partner ability 45E1."

All these clients work perfect when i use a NetUSBee, so my configuration should be ok.

AFAIK FreeMinT 1-17 used a file "socket.dev" for network purposes; since 1-18-0 this
file is not used anymore. So as the rtl8139.xif works with 1-17 and NOT with 1-18 and
upwards, this maybe a startpoint to look at this issue.

It would be really great if someone (mikro?) could fix this and make all CTPCI users
VERY happy :-)
Please tell me if you need additional informations!

Latz
Falcon/CT60, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, EtherNeC, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, NetUSBee, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, CD-RW.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:52 pm

Exactly,
thank you very much for describing this problem.
I thought to describe it, because there are not many network card users on CTPCI

I'm very supportive of this idea, I'm a CTPCI user, and lately I've been able to run a USB PCI card too, it would be great if I could use the latest freemint on my network adapter also and netusbee I could use on my other Atari computer.

Kroll

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:50 pm

Where rtl8139.xif comes from? If it's not from freemint or there is no source code available, that would be a problem. If it is, please report another issue here as usual so it wont get forgotten: https://github.com/freemint/freemint/issues

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:09 pm

Ektus wrote:It is included in the tosbeta10 archive, available from my website. http://www.ektus.de/tosbeta10.zip
That's the TOS I have to use, together with the latest ABE, CTPCI and SDR versions. ABE7F, CTPCI_1M and SDR7D.

Regards
Ektus.


Ektus send it earlier, I thing, that everything it is here

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:57 pm

What a mess. It's labeled as 1.0 beta and it seems to be 1.02, what would make sense as it had been released one year after 1.01. Strangely, 1.01 doesn't contain such source code at all.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:55 pm

Hmm, looked into a it briefly... there's so many things wrong with that driver. :-( If only Didier asked... it uses a lot of user-space calls via trap calls (like Mxalloc(), PCI functions, even some mintlib calls), no wonder it doesn't work properly. I can't say why it works for 1.17, perhaps pure luck.

If I find some time, I'll include it in the freemint tree, it's not that complex (one has to make PCI functions accessible also to XDD/XFS/XIF modules, not just kernel ones) and should fix your issue as well.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:47 am

Mikro, thank you very much for looking at this!! I feel confident that this long lasting
problem can be solved with your engagement and knowledge!
Please tell me if i can help with testing.

Latz
Falcon/CT60, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, EtherNeC, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, NetUSBee, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, CD-RW.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:05 am

Although I own a CTPCI, my possibilities are very limited at this time:

  • it's somewhere in a closet
  • the closet is 15 000 km away
  • even if it weren't I don't have a network card like this

Anyway, that didn't stop me to build the driver for you, most likely it will crash but you can always hope. ;-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:29 pm

Hi,
ouf, you are fast!
mikro wrote:Although I own a CTPCI, my possibilities are very limited at this time:

  • it's somewhere in a closet
  • the closet is 15 000 km away
  • even if it weren't I don't have a network card like this


These are definetly not the best conditions :wink:

mikro wrote:Anyway, that didn't stop me to build the driver for you, most likely it will crash but you can always hope. ;-)


Hmm, it doesn´t crash...it behaves the same way as the "original" from beta10 package. >ping shows 100% packets lost.
But this would have been too easy anyway :mrgreen:

Thank you very much!

Latz
Falcon/CT60, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, EtherNeC, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, NetUSBee, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, CD-RW.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:38 pm

Strangest thing. So you are guys 100% sure it doesn't work on 1.18, right? Because my strongest suspect (except a bug in driver) was adding PCI BIOS wrapper to the kernel. But that happened in 2014, a year after 1.18 release...

Too bad between 1.17 and 1.18 there are three years and 1058 commits. ;-) However, 'git bisect' says there's roughly 9 steps (builds) to test so if you have time to test them (ideally while we're both online), drop me a PM. I will send you a build, you will tell me whether it's good or bad, according to that answer I will generate another one until the successful end. :-)

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:32 pm

mikro wrote:Strangest thing. So you are guys 100% sure it doesn't work on 1.18, right? Because my strongest suspect (except a bug in driver) was adding PCI BIOS wrapper to the kernel. But that happened in 2014, a year after 1.18 release...

Too bad between 1.17 and 1.18 there are three years and 1058 commits. ;-) However, 'git bisect' says there's roughly 9 steps (builds) to test so if you have time to test them (ideally while we're both online), drop me a PM. I will send you a build, you will tell me whether it's good or bad, according to that answer I will generate another one until the successful end. :-)

Hi,

I have just test on my system MiNT 1.18.0 and your driver is working on my configuration if I set ifconfig and route manually, DHCP is not working.
On system MiNT 1-18-1 is working too
On MiNT 1-19-cur biuild from 26.09 is still the same, not working at all.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:45 pm

Can you Latz confirm this?

So if I understand you correctly, situation is as follows:

- latest master + original driver: not working
- latest master + my driver: not working
- 1.18.0 + original driver: not working
- 1.18.0 + my driver: DHCP not working, manual working
- 1.17.0 + original driver: DHCP working, manual working
- 1.17.0 + my driver: ?

EDIT: note there is not a 1.18.1 version, please be precise in your reports.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:11 am

mikro wrote:Can you Latz confirm this?

So if I understand you correctly, situation is as follows:

- latest master + original driver: not working
- latest master + my driver: not working
- 1.18.0 + original driver: not working
- 1.18.0 + my driver: DHCP not working, manual working
- 1.17.0 + original driver: DHCP working, manual working
- 1.17.0 + my driver: ?


1.17.0 - your driver working
DHCP not working at all on original and your driver
1.18.0, 1-19-cur - exactly as you wrote

mikro wrote:EDIT: note there is not a 1.18.1 version, please be precise in your reports.


I have this version on my disk (I thing not realeased only beta version, during the start
I have on the screen 1-18-1-BETA
from 8 Fabuary 2016
OK I think we can forgetten about it

DHCP not working at all on all system on my disk

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:09 am

OK, that changes everything then! That means 1.18 kernel is perfectly fine (as long as the original functionality goes...) and therefore it could have been broken with the PCI BIOS addition.

I have attached two (more or less complete) builds -- just before adding PCI BIOS and a few commits after it (as there had been some fixes to it). I hope I haven't forgotten any important file. Feel free to test your USB trouble with it as well. :)

If/when we fix the manual config issue, I suspect fixing DHCP wont be that hard.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:14 am

I have checked both versions and I have good news, the version pre_pcibios works correctly on both the original and your driver versions, DHCP not working.
Second version post_pcibios not woring at all
I run loader.prg but there is no file usb060.km in usb directory

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:59 am

Apologies for the missing file, please find it attached to this post. I actually hope this will work too because it will be much bigger pain to debug the cause of wrong PCI BIOS implementation than some random commit which caused it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:00 pm

Hi,
mikro wrote:Can you Latz confirm this?


- latest master + original driver: not working Correct
- latest master + my driver: not working Correct
- 1.18.0 + original driver: not working Correct (1.18.0 from Oct 2 2012 here)
- 1.18.0 + my driver: DHCP not working, manual working Correct (tested only manual)
- 1.17.0 + original driver: DHCP working, manual working ->Ektus say that it works, i don´t have 1.17 anymore
- 1.17.0 + my driver: ? -> Perhaps Ektus can test?

For testing pcibios files i have to re-arrange my equipment a bit, so i´m not so fast.

Regards,
Latz
Falcon/CT60, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, EtherNeC, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, NetUSBee, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, CD-RW.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:22 pm

Ok, i can confirm Krolls report:
- With pre_pcibios, both drivers (original and yours) work correct..
- With post_pcibios both driver don´t work (same behaviour as reported before)

Latz
Falcon/CT60, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, EtherNeC, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250, NetUSBee, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, CD-RW.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Kroll » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:41 pm

mikro wrote:Apologies for the missing file, please find it attached to this post. I actually hope this will work too because it will be much bigger pain to debug the cause of wrong PCI BIOS implementation than some random commit which caused it.


I've just copy to this directory, but look at the photo, problem with kernel,
It also confirms the correct network work on this compilation pre_pcibios :)
Photo-0079.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest