Fastest 060 clock?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Fastest 060 clock?

Postby mzry » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:16 pm

Just wondering what the fastest clockspeed people have achieved with their ct60/ct63/ct60e's?

I have my 060 in ct60e running at 100mhz stable as a table. Haven't tried anything faster.

Thx

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4184
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby DarkLord » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:02 pm

95mhz is as fast as I can get with my setup. I can get 100mhz, but then
its not stable. I get random crashes when running some software...

I think Gullime (sp?) had a water cooled tower setup that went higher
into the 100+ mhz range at one time, IIRC.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby mikro » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:35 pm

IIRC Didier had experimented with 110 MHz (with some crazy cooling setup) but then ended up with 105 MHz for very similar reasons.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4184
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby DarkLord » Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:37 am

<snapping fingers> !

That was it. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:06 am

My 060 runs stable at 100 Mhz, at 105 it crashes. I haven't checked if I increase in 0,1 or 1 Mhz steps above 100. But by default at the moment I have set it to 95, it's not necesssary to go to the limit. It's fast enough.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby fidzen » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:34 am

I run my CT63 at 90MHz and my CT60e at 95MHz, both rock stable.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby calimero » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:26 am

HM... I keep my CT63 at 75MHz. I am afraid that I will somehow shorten life of 68060 if I go for 95MHz.

Do you use default fan and heat sink at 95MHz?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:53 am

My CT60e runs fine @90 MHz but freeze @100 MHz.
I am using a slim CoolerMaster copper heat sink+ fan and temperature reaches 72 degrees C on load for an outside temperature of 25 degrees C, and 69 degrees C on idle , but I don't know how precise is this measurement.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby fidzen » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:44 pm

calimero wrote:HM... I keep my CT63 at 75MHz. I am afraid that I will somehow shorten life of 68060 if I go for 95MHz.

Do you use default fan and heat sink at 95MHz?


Yes it's the default fan and sink and it works great even under heavy load.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby jury » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:04 pm

I have mostly set 95MHz and its always rock solid. But some time ago I tried to go up, but at 100MHz it quickly crashed. Then tried to change memory and set CT at 107MHz. It was playing quake fine for 1.5 hour, but after that time it crashed and even reseting it did not help, it was crashing almost right away. So after this I went back to 95MHz and I'm doing no more overclocking since then :) It was CT63

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12002
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:04 am

I run my CT63 now at 95MHz as it came default set at the speed and works with the ATI card.
Before the CTPCI stuff, I ran it at 103MHz as that would give me 100MHZ on the SDRAM.
IIRC, I have success with it at 106MHz but do not use that speed now.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby mzry » Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:55 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:My CT60e runs fine @90 MHz but freeze @100 MHz.
I am using a slim CoolerMaster copper heat sink+ fan and temperature reaches 72 degrees C on load for an outside temperature of 25 degrees C, and 69 degrees C on idle , but I don't know how precise is this measurement.


I am using a copper server socket 370 heatsink with a fan. I fitted a trimpot and made the fan silent. My temp is between 60-70c on average. I haven't had any crashes at 100mhz so maybe I am lucky. I have seen other people report their temperatures at around 30 degrees? This makes no sense to me :)

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby troed » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:16 pm

The 68060 was manufactured at 0.6um, 0.42um and 0.32um manufacturing process. The difference in heat dissipation is huge between these. That's why "rev 6" are sought after (at least 0.42). It's somewhat more unclear if Motorola ever did 0.42um or if only Freescale 060s are 0.32.

/Troed
Last edited by troed on Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby mzry » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:19 pm

troed wrote:The 68060 was manufactured at 0.6um, 0.42um and 0.32um manufacturing process. The difference in heat dissipation is huge between these. That's why "rev 6" are sought after (at least 0.42). It's somewhat more unclear of Motorola ever did 0.42um or if only Freescale 060s are 0.32.

/Troed


Yes but mine is a rev6 so surely there should be nothing at a lower temp. 30 degrees sounds like pie in the sky lol.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3692
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby joska » Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:17 pm

mzry wrote: My temp is between 60-70c on average. I haven't had any crashes at 100mhz so maybe I am lucky. I have seen other people report their temperatures at around 30 degrees? This makes no sense to me :)


ct60conf.cpx also reports temperatures in the 60-70C range. However, the real temperature is a lot lower. Also, it reports this temperature immediately after power-on, when ambient temperature is just above 20C...

In my Milan060 I have a rev 1 running at 60MHz. Rev 1 CPU's will run hotter than rev 6 (which I have in my CT60), but in my Milan the CPU temperature rarely rise above 40C. I only have a heatsink and no fan in the Milan, while the CT60 CPU is cooled with a heatsink + fan.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Trixster » Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:35 pm

I run at 95 and I've managed 97 ok with hours of
Quake running with no issue. 100 crashed. I have not tried 98 or 99, or anything over 100. I don't have another ram stick to try to see if that's a limiting factor. I have a large heatsink and fan and a rev6 060 from exxos.
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | A3000/060
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC + Deneb | Saturn | PS1 | PS2
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64 | 3DO | CPC6128

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Ektus » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:16 pm

My CT63 has been running with 108MHz at the OFAM user meeting in 2009: http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... 6#msg38856

I've set it to 95MHz normally, but I did just fire it up and set the clock to 108MHz, and it's still working that way. Don't know about temperatures, though, as the CT63 is lacking the necessary electronics :-(
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby paul92706 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:45 pm

Ektus wrote:My CT63 has been running with 108MHz at the OFAM user meeting in 2009: http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... 6#msg38856

I've set it to 95MHz normally, but I did just fire it up and set the clock to 108MHz, and it's still working that way. Don't know about temperatures, though, as the CT63 is lacking the necessary electronics :-(

Hi Ektus, is that speed (108Mhz) with CTPCI/Radeon connected?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Ektus » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:18 pm

Yes, it is with Radeon and the default 1920x1200x16M on the big LCD. It doesn't seem to be stable, though. Did run for a couple minutes, but would freeze when trying to play a MP3 sound file with aniplayer 2.23. Subsequent boot attempts would hang with a white screen on the Radeon, no output after the initializing message on the Videl and switching to the graphics card. Booting in Videl-mode did still work, so I was able to access the CPX and reduce the speed back to the stable 95. I haven't been doing much testing to determine where the highest stable frequency with the radeon is for my machine. The 108MHz at OFAM were tested displaying demos, therefore on the Videl and not on the Radeon. I do have a fan on the CT63 and a big 12cm (4,7") fan moving air inside the tower case. Room temperature is around 21°C (70°F), the temperature sensor of my Eiffel interface measures the Radeon cooler at around 51°C (120°F).

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12002
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby wongck » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:34 am

I can run my CT63 on 106MHZ without any crashes, but anything higher will freeze.

This was when I did not have the CTPCI/radeon on it.

With the CTPCI/radeon, it will freeze at 96 MHZ.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby mikro » Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:13 am

troed wrote:The 68060 was manufactured at 0.6um, 0.42um and 0.32um manufacturing process. The difference in heat dissipation is huge between these. That's why "rev 6" are sought after (at least 0.42). It's somewhat more unclear if Motorola ever did 0.42um or if only Freescale 060s are 0.32.

See https://mikrosk.github.io/ct60tos/CT60/english/fpu.htm:

In 1999, the XC68060RCxx is qualified and the prefix changes to MC with the new 71E41J mask :

This last mask (Rev.6) is manufactured with 0.32um process and has the particularity to be able to run up to 100 MHz !


From 1999, the 75 MHz, manufactured with 0.32um process, arrives with 2 versions :

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Ektus » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:27 am

I've done some more testing. The machine won't boot to the Radeon with the frequency set to 100MHz or above. With 99MHz and 95MHz it will do so. If I increase the frequency but don't reboot, the system stays up. Is the frequency change applied directly, or is set only upon reset?

I've been able to boot in Videl mode to the TOS desktop with 108, 107, 106, 105, 104, 103, 102, 101 and 100MHz.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby troed » Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:55 am

mikro wrote:
In 1999, the XC68060RCxx is qualified and the prefix changes to MC with the new 71E41J mask :

This last mask (Rev.6) is manufactured with 0.32um process and has the particularity to be able to run up to 100 MHz !


From 1999, the 75 MHz, manufactured with 0.32um process, arrives with 2 versions :


Yes, I've seen those claims. The following table is also posted widely:

rev1: maskset 01F43G (1994, engraved 0.60µm)
rev2: maskset 01G65V (1996, engraved 0.60µm)
rev5: maskset 74E41J (1998, engraved 0.42µm)
rev6: maskset 71E41J (1999, engraved 0.32µm)


... my memory is from when I tried figuring out the mask shrinks from notices like these:

http://www.nxp.com/assets/documents/dat ... N3448.html

MOS11 = 0.42um
68060 - 0E41J changed to 1E41J 860


http://www.nxp.com/assets/documents/dat ... teral.html

1999 shrink to MOS11 process, XC becomes MC


From my understanding of the above, it's pretty conclusive in saying that the 1E41J mask is 0.42um. I.e, not what's claimed in the widely distributed table above. The question then becomes when the next shrink in the process, to 0.32um, happened. All product change notices, I think, are listed here:

http://archive.li/B8uD3

(I like to find original sources when researching, so just because the widely distributed table is widely distributed I'm not certain it's true ;) Try to find a 4E41J mask in official documents .. )

/Troed
Last edited by troed on Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12002
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby wongck » Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:57 am

I go to Videl only and set the clock speed, then reboot with Radeon on.
So there is a reboot in all cases. Videl only I only went up to 106 Mhz.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fastest 060 clock?

Postby Ektus » Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:46 pm

Ektus wrote:I've done some more testing. The machine won't boot to the Radeon with the frequency set to 100MHz or above. With 99MHz and 95MHz it will do so. If I increase the frequency but don't reboot, the system stays up. Is the frequency change applied directly, or is set only upon reset?


To answer my own question: The frequency change is applied instantly (well, upon selecting "ok" in the CPX). Verfied by running Kronos 2.01 twice.

Benchmark results:

Code: Select all

Frequency:   99MHz (1) 90MHz (2) 108MHz (1) 108MHz (2)
CPU:           47.5      47.5      50.8      51.9
FPU:         2158.5    2155.7    2374.8    2353.2
Memory:         7.8       7.8       7.8       7.8
VDI:          144.3     144.3     154.7     154.5
Disk:          60.0      60.1      63.4      63.8
3D OpenGL:    386.0     381.2     419.4     411.4


Test setup: TOS beta 2.02 from May 6th, 2012 with MagiC 6.20 and NVDI 5.03, Radeon 1920x1200@16M, FPU installed, no bus speeder, IDE HDD connected to CTPCI. Ran the tests twice, values differ slightly as shown in the table above.

There's an error in Kronos 2.01: If I save the results and load them again into "result 1" or "result 2", the numbers shown are vastly different from what was shown in the "Your computer" line before.



Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests