Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:19 pm

Hey all,

I thought that getting a ct60e at 100mhz would be enough for Ace Tracker to play all songs at 44/48/50khz without any issue. Turns out, I still get 'cpu overload' when running at higher Khz. Whats the deal? Is the CPU overload more to do with the DSP rather than the CPU? Can I overclock the DSP a bit to help?

Thx

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby Orion_ » Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:22 pm

I remember that Ace Tracker was made to heavily rely on the DSP to process music/instruments,
so having a faster 68k won't help much I guess.

User avatar
dhedberg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby dhedberg » Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:46 pm

Haven't talked to Thomas about it but I remember that he was afraid that some optimizations he did (with the DSP communication I assume) would cause the CPU overload issue on Falcons equipped with the CT60/CT63/CT60e. I suspect it's a synchronization issue so higher speeds will not help here.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby 1st1 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:33 pm

I see similar with Aniplayer and MP3 files. When disabling DSP MP3 playback does not run smooth at 95 or 100 Mhz, I get a bit more than 300% load in Aniplayer. With DSP (no speedup) and ct60e it is less than 10% with the same MP3 files (128 kBit) (Falcon In 030 mode with DSP it's about at 95%, Falcon 030 without DSP about 1800%, TT is at about 900%).

By the way, currently my favorite MOD player is paula][.acc. Is there anything which can play more advanced mods on Falcon, like 8 or more voices (octamed, s3m etc.)?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 829
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby shoggoth » Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:40 pm

1st1 wrote:By the way, currently my favorite MOD player is paula][.acc. Is there anything which can play more advanced mods on Falcon, like 8 or more voices (octamed, s3m etc.)?


http://bfy.tw/B9SH
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mikro » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:49 pm

PeP ;-) To be fair, he asked about players, and for that we have the ultimate answer, mxPlay! :)

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby Faucon2001 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:30 pm

Oh yeah, MxPlay rocks :-)
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mikro » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:03 am

1st1 wrote:When disabling DSP MP3 playback does not run smooth at 95 or 100 Mhz, I get a bit more than 300% load in Aniplayer.

Some of your posts made me wonder what on earth you're doing with that poor machine. I'm absolutely sure plain CT60@66 MHz can handle MP3s in CPU only mode without any problem (load around 80%). Also, ogg vorbis files are 100% CPU 0% DSP, similar load.

Just to be sure, we're talking about "sane" MP3s, like 128-192 kbps.

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby fidzen » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:48 am

mikro wrote:PeP ;-) To be fair, he asked about players, and for that we have the ultimate answer, mxPlay! :)


I use Falcamp to play both MP3 and MOD, works great under both TOS and MINT.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:32 am

It's not directly linked to Ace tracker but I realized that if you deactivate the blitter at boot with Xboot, the CT60e will run very slow. I found this issue while watching demos for CT60 which were lagging like hell.
I reactivated the blitter in Xboot option and no more CPU overload.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:11 am

.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:19 am

I'm pretty sure I have blitter enabled, but I don't use xboot. In my ct60conf I have blitter set to 'fast', although when running Gembench it says 'Blitter NP' oddly.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:04 am

I have to check the blitter setting, thanks for the tip.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:06 am

1st1 wrote:I have to check the blitter setting, thanks for the tip.


Does your gembench say 'Blitter NP' even with it enabled in the ct60conf?

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:23 pm

Checked:
- in XBoot the blitter and cache option is enabled in all sets
- general.cpx in 030 mode, blitter is enabled
- general.cpx in 060 mode, blitter option is invisible, instead there is cache enabled
- in gembench blitter always is greyed out. (030 & 060 mode)

Where to enable it in ct60conf? -> Edit. Found. It is set to "fast". Try "slow" now...
Last edited by 1st1 on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:26 pm

there is a section that says 'blitter' and mine is set to 'fast'.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:43 pm

I tryed fast and slow, no change.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
Sturm
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby Sturm » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:21 pm

Would the clock patch resolve the issue?

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ace tracker / ct60 / still not fast enough?

Postby mzry » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:36 pm

I have exxos clock patch installed, it solved all my audio click and pop issues.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest