CT60 Games

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

CT60 Games

Postby Sturm » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:38 pm

Following the CT60 demo thread, what are the games available for the CT60?

I have tried several ST ports and they usually don't work, same for some Falcon specific games. Not a big deal, since you can run in 030 mode.

So far i have played PMDoom and Worms.

Quake does not work (even using mint) and Scummvm is slow as hell under TOS and crashes under Mint (maybe i'm using the wrong version)?

I heard about Alice's Mom rescue, Elansar and its sequel.

What else?

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby EvilFranky » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:49 pm

Elite 2 Frontier and watch how smooth it is.

There are some ST games patched to run on the CT6x series located here:-

http://klapauzius.net/

Duke Nukem is a good port to try also.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60 Games

Postby 1st1 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:47 pm

I also tryed Quake with my files from my historic PC but it doesn't work. I don't get Duke Nukem to run and pmDoom only runs with the shareware WAD file what I have. I have many wad files from my old PC but they don't run. I also search for Heretic WAD file and more, not found working ones yet. Let's make a collection of links for ct60e working and needing games here, which also includes links for the additional files (from PC version etc.) ? If somebody has, maybe share through clouddrive (google drive, onedrive, dropbox, etc.)n ?

Here are the engines to use with doom, quake, heretic and so on: http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Sturm » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:13 pm

I'd really like to play Scummvm games. Anyone could tell me if they managed to and provide the link to the best version ? And the config used? Thanks

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby mikro » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:41 am

I assure you guys that Quake and DN3D do work as they have been for a decade now. I remember playing them in both TOS and FreeMiNT although FreeMiNT is always the preferred platform. Hard to say why you can't make it running, Quake is one of the cleanest games ever, it even works in multitasking, only a GEM window option is missing :)).

ScummVM (and OpenTTD), that's a different matter. I know Saulot did some efforts after my ports but generally, it's on my pending list -- both projects need a closer look to find out what are their biggest bottlenecks, esp. on ScummVM. I had done some experimental builds of ScummVM with 8-bit palette (2x less data to update), people reported success (you can find a thread about it) but palette was wrong + it has some other glitches.

Lack of manpower.

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: CT60 Games

Postby jury » Sat Apr 08, 2017 2:51 am

1. there is also OpenJazz ( Jazz Jack Rabbit ) which plays great and really smooth, only menu is quite slow.
2. and Open Tyrian with 2 ports:
- insane's which is quite fast and smooth but audio is kind of weird ( finished this port, and it gets slowish only at last levels where there is much going on screen )
- mikro's one which is generally quite slow, but manages audio much better
3. Lopan, which is Mahjong clone, but for me its unplayable because it can press Escape key by itself what ends game automatically

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: CT60 Games

Postby jury » Sat Apr 08, 2017 3:02 am

1st1 wrote:I also tryed Quake with my files from my historic PC but it doesn't work. I don't get Duke Nukem to run and pmDoom only runs with the shareware WAD file what I have. I have many wad files from my old PC but they don't run. I also search for Heretic WAD file and more, not found working ones yet. Let's make a collection of links for ct60e working and needing games here, which also includes links for the additional files (from PC version etc.) ? If somebody has, maybe share through clouddrive (google drive, onedrive, dropbox, etc.)n ?

Here are the engines to use with doom, quake, heretic and so on: http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html


Is there any message when you try to run that Duke from me? As this should work out of the box, just unzip it and run duke.ttp as I provided this archive to some 2 other people and it worked fine. What soft are you using for unzipping?

I run Heretic fine, but I use mikro's port. I think Patrices ports ( Heretic, Hexen, Quake ... ) are really, really, really old ( if I'm wrong here please someone correct me ) and they should not be used as there are much more recent ports of those games done by mikro. Only PMDoom is fresh and is being updated on quite regular basis, so it can be used fine ( and so far its the best Doom port for 060 machines )

Generally, from what it seems to me, I guess there is something else wrong at your setup than the WAD files, and my first guess is unzipping software.
Last edited by jury on Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:21 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60 Games

Postby leech » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:13 am

I believe Dune 2 would be another good port to try out.

Scummvm is slow? What games are you trying through it?

Frontier runs really gast on the TT030, I can only imagine how fast it is on an 060... at least until I solve my power issue..
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60 Games

Postby 1st1 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:44 am

I don't know how to start Duke. Duke.ttp needs Parameters, which ones?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60 Games

Postby 1st1 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:47 am

The other games like Quake and Doom only work with the data files from the demo and shareware versions I have. I need full working full versions.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CT60 Games

Postby paul92706 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:17 am

ScummVM works fine for me, some games drag and others are pretty smooth, lot's of cool DOS BOX games available for ScummVM!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Sturm » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:56 am

Could you provide the link of your scummvm version ? Thanks
And what are the most playable games ?

I only have parcp to transfer files, and I'd like to download only the working ones, or it will take ages.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Orion_ » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:55 am

I made several games for Falcon CT60, 2 point'n click "myst like" adventure game, and a cute platformer !
https://orionsoft.itch.io/

User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Estrayk » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:25 pm

Orion_ wrote:I made several games for Falcon CT60, 2 point'n click "myst like" adventure game, and a cute platformer !
https://orionsoft.itch.io/


Sorry for the offtopic Orion, but I´ve a question:

Elansar and Philia works in a standard Falcon (14mb) ? thanks.
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby mikro » Sat Apr 08, 2017 1:41 pm

Orion_ wrote:I made several games for Falcon CT60, 2 point'n click "myst like" adventure game, and a cute platformer !
https://orionsoft.itch.io/

Thanks for the reminder, just purchased all of them. :)

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: CT60 Games

Postby jury » Sat Apr 08, 2017 1:43 pm

1st1 wrote:I don't know how to start Duke. Duke.ttp needs Parameters, which ones?


No parameters, just press OK :)

Sturm wrote:Could you provide the link of your scummvm version ? Thanks
And what are the most playable games ?

I only have parcp to transfer files, and I'd like to download only the working ones, or it will take ages.


If I'm not wrong, mikro's latest port is here:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=27728&hilit=scummvm&start=25

If it goes for performance, I think its the fastest port, but the colors are broken and mikro needs to be motivated!

And if I'm not mistaken ( do not remember, as tried it at least one year ago ) this is a port of Scummvm which doesnt have broken colors, but performs a little slower ( and its really not much slower, so I guess for many games it will be just perfect port ) then the above port:

viewtopic.php?f=26&t=27728&hilit=scummvm&start=25

And if it goes for me, none of the games that I would like to play are performing good, so here is the list of those you should avoid and not waste parcp bandwith :)
Day of the Tentacle - performs terrible ( I'm pretty sure that once I have configured it to play just ideally, but I can not repeat it when I wanted to play this game )
The Dig - performance is absolutely great, but there is no audio
Full Throttle - like above, performace is wonderful, but no audio
Simon the Sorceror - performance worse than Quake run on Atari STE, it renders one frame per something like 10 seconds or more ( tried all versions, even Amiga one, but no changes )
Simon the Sorceror 2 - same as above
Flight of Amazon Queen - performs baaaaaad
Big Red Adventure - performs baaaaad
and the only game thats really, really close to be playable from all that I tried is Broken Sword - performs almost ideally, has audio, but those darn weird colors keep me away from it :)
Other games did not try.
Last edited by jury on Sat Apr 08, 2017 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Orion_ » Sat Apr 08, 2017 2:13 pm

Estrayk wrote:
Orion_ wrote:I made several games for Falcon CT60, 2 point'n click "myst like" adventure game, and a cute platformer !
https://orionsoft.itch.io/

Elansar and Philia works in a standard Falcon (14mb) ? thanks.

yes, just check the specs on the page of each game:
Elansar: Atari Falcon 030 (VGA 640x480, 2MB of free ram, 50MB of disk space)
Philia: Atari Falcon 030 (8MB of RAM or 4MB without musics, Accelerated card recommended)
and Yopaz works on ST/Falcon :)

mikro wrote:Thanks for the reminder, just purchased all of them. :)

Thank you ! :D

User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Estrayk » Sat Apr 08, 2017 2:30 pm

I purchased Elansar rightnow too. :)
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CT60 Games

Postby fidzen » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:50 pm

If you have both CT60e and SV, try playing Robinsons Requiem. Huge difference in speed!
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Re: CT60 Games

Postby ggn » Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:27 pm

It doesn't take advantage of the 060 but Downfall Falcon was tested on a ct63 during development and everything was fine. So I think it should work on ct60e without problems.
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: CT60 Games

Postby Sturm » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:00 pm

I love Downfall, but for some reason, after the first loss, the joystick (or jagpad) does not respond anymore, i think it's bugged.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60 Games

Postby leech » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:59 pm

fidzen wrote:If you have both CT60e and SV, try playing Robinsons Requiem. Huge difference in speed!


How does this version compare to the Jaguar?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby calimero » Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:37 pm

Nat Car by Nature but you need supervidel also.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60 Games

Postby mikro » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:25 am

fidzen wrote:If you have both CT60e and SV, try playing Robinsons Requiem. Huge difference in speed!

What advantage the SV offers for this game? Is there a patched version somewhere?

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CT60 Games

Postby fidzen » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:22 am

mikro wrote:
fidzen wrote:If you have both CT60e and SV, try playing Robinsons Requiem. Huge difference in speed!

What advantage the SV offers for this game? Is there a patched version somewhere?


I downloaded it from http://christophe.bray.free.fr/informat ... %20Requiem
It's a fun game but quite slow on a stock Falcon. With just CT60 it's a little bit faster, but with the SV it's huge difference.
So it's not any special version made for CT60 and SV, but the original version runs much better with some more power.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests