CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby leech » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:03 am

So I finally got around to plugging in the CT60e. Am I completely wrong that just plugging in the external power supply with the PicoPSU should just turn the Falcon on (since I have no off/on switch?)

Unfortunately it just blinks the power, hard drive and floppy lights, but doesn't output any video.

I didn't fry anything did I?

I would also think maybe it's just being reset over and over, but it still uses the built on reset button for that, right? I know there is a switch for 060/030, which I tried with jumper and without, but it did the same thing.

Edit: put the jumper back on and the PSU back in and it comes back up. Maybe I just have incompatible memory?

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 946
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby mikro » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:08 am

leech wrote:So I finally got around to plugging in the CT60e. Am I completely wrong that just plugging in the external power supply with the PicoPSU should just turn the Falcon on (since I have no off/on switch?)

Yes you are. You need either a button or at least a screwdriver to briefly touch the two pins.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 624
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby 1st1 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:29 am

I sugest you to use a push button which closes the contact when pressed. Additionally a noraml on-off switch to select 030 or 060 mode.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby leech » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:45 pm

I found and ordered this last night; https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UB ... UTF8&psc=1

That should tied me over until I can hopefully get one of these things; http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=31361 because... well internal PSU all the way!

mzry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby mzry » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:26 am

I had this issue with a Pico PSU, so I put it in the pico in the bin. Got a different longer one and it worked.

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby leech » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:20 am

Sounds like I am going to do the same thing. Even after putting the switch on, it just fades out and doesn't turn on.

If I didn't have too many various projects laying around, maybe I could find that ATX power supply I have for a test....

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60e installation; did I miss something? (Perhaps Bad RAM)

Postby leech » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:39 am

Confirmed, it's my PicoPSU that is bunk. Works fine with a full ATX PSU. Ordered another PicoPSU since of course fitting a ATX PSU through the power hole is a bit on the impossible side....


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest