CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Postby mikro » Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:15 am

Hi, today I received my CT60e. The most interesting change to the CT60 I can see is the lack of the floppy power connector which used to serve as an output for the rest of the motherboard (and was the source of destruction of your Falcon if you plugged it in opposite direction).

The connector is not there anymore (only a square section named "F030 booster' without any ICs and a PCB looking similar to the floppy power pins) so I'm wondering, how is this supposed to work then? If I recall correctly, if you didn't connect the floppy power cable, you had muted DMA sound or something like that.

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Postby mikro » Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:45 pm

OK, now that I actually tried to install the CT60e I see that the original PSU connector is used as well. :D No more mystery and congratulations to Willy for such elegant idea.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2255
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Postby christos » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:11 pm

As someone who suffered from this, I can only say... this is great. I wish the ct63 was like that, I would still have had a falcon.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Postby mikro » Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:36 am

Yeah, a friend of mine in Slovakia fried his Falcon this way, too.

If you think about it -- all that was needed was a simple floppy power connector instead of those barebone pins. Sigh.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2255
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: CT60e: The infamous floppy power cable - not needed anymore?

Postby christos » Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:35 pm

Yes, and all it takes is a moment of carelessness to fry your machine.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest