Problem with boot on IDE disk

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:42 pm

Kroll wrote:Why stopped working Xboot, before I had no such problems
thirdly why the computer crashes when loading GEMRAM.PRG and WINX.PRG
For information
At the moment I use the boot 2.01 and 1.01 TOS driver, previously I had a boot 2.00 beta 2 and TOS drivers 1.00 Beta 2.

Please read the readme.txt or any other documentation that you have (like the CTPCI.HYP etc).
I am sorry if you cannot find any information now as what is left on major web sites are already too old or forgotten.

IIRC, the (new) TOS 2.02 with Radeon driver takes too much space in firmware so it is compressed inside.
Decompress memory it into to run.
So now you WinX onto it load as well, overwrite something maybe. If so, crash it will be.

Use old TOS 2,00 and WinX runs very well.
Now on TOS 2.00 set load memory into to test. See crash or not when Load you WinX.
I remember not, may be no crash as good you are.

I am not sure because it is like may be 5 years ago when I switch to TOS 2,01/2.02.
I always loved having WinX on system because it has many many nice features, but new TOS runs YMMD.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:45 pm

Kroll wrote:first, why do not I see the loaded drivers then had earlier been presented information to continue by pressing any key and the screen with a resolution of Radeon was 1024x768x60Hz


New TOS do not display information unless you press D.
Faster it run without screen writing stuff, not understand stuff on screen anyway (may you do... which is great).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Thu Nov 10, 2016 7:09 pm

wongck wrote:
Please read the readme.txt or any other documentation that you have (like the CTPCI.HYP etc).
I am sorry if you cannot find any information now as what is left on major web sites are already too old or forgotten.

IIRC, the (new) TOS 2.02 with Radeon driver takes too much space in firmware so it is compressed inside.
Decompress memory it into to run.
So now you WinX onto it load as well, overwrite something maybe. If so, crash it will be.

Use old TOS 2,00 and WinX runs very well.
Now on TOS 2.00 set load memory into to test. See crash or not when Load you WinX.
I remember not, may be no crash as good you are.

I am not sure because it is like may be 5 years ago when I switch to TOS 2,01/2.02.
I always loved having WinX on system because it has many many nice features, but new TOS runs YMMD.


Where Can I find the new version of TOS 2.02 ?
WinX need before runs GEMRAM.PRG, because gemram crush the computer (standard error of CT63) than WinX is not active.
The second questions is do I need gemram or winx in MiNT system, or only in TOS ?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 11, 2016 12:19 pm

Kroll wrote:Where Can I find the new version of TOS 2.02 ?
WinX need before runs GEMRAM.PRG, because gemram crush the computer (standard error of CT63) than WinX is not active.
The second questions is do I need gemram or winx in MiNT system, or only in TOS ?


I am sorry maybe 2,02 is for Firebee.... :oops:
Mint will kick out WinX and replaces it, in fact you do not need to load WinX if you use Mint.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:24 pm

I solved the problem with the resolution when booting using a Radeon, and I had set resolution in CPX 640x480 and I changed to 1024x768 and is now just as I wanted. In contrast, when load GEMRAM.PRG and WINX.PRG the problem was on the side of hddriver I changed to version 9.00 and now it is OK, I am very happy, XBOOT also already works :)

Appeared, however, little minor annoyance partitions under MiNT. I connected IDE hard disk where I have partitions from C: \ to O: \ and I have the second SCSI with 5 partitions from P \ to T:\, I do not know why but under MiNT I see only partitions P: \ further does not, however in the Magic system are all, under the TOS is normal but why for this hddriver not see these further?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 11, 2016 11:54 pm

Really the same hddriver do not see the additional drives ??
What drives does U: in Mint show ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:30 am

Below I made a photo, it is not the best quality but you can see clearly partitions the letter p \

Photo_01.jpg


Additional below you can find enable partition, but there is for older version of Hddriver 8.31

Photo_02.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 12, 2016 3:48 am

when you say up to drive P it sounds very much like old TOS limitation.
In Mint, you check for settings NEWFATFS and see if drive after P are set there.

When you boot can you see if HDdriver sees all the drives?
Also Hddrutil should also report back the partitions.

I do not use more than 4 partitions on my system.... may be 6 if my external drives are connected, So I cannot really tell the issue.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:57 am

Yes of course I check and in the MINT.CNF file Newfats is set more than letter P:, and Hddriver 9.00 see all drive during boot the computer and in MiNT system run HDdrutil too. On above photos, I change only the hddriver nothing more.
But the strange is that I re-installed to the older version hddriver 8.31 and now works again Xboot, Gemram and Winx :)
At the moment, everything was back to the state before the light failure

Thank you very much for everything

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11572
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:27 am

:wink: So you found a bug
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Ektus » Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:03 pm

The problem with MiNT, HDDriver beyond 8.xx and drive letters above P: has been discussed in the MiNT mailing list and the HDDriver forum. There is a patch by Dr. Uwe Seimet to circumvent the problem, but in my understanding it's a kind of misunderstanding in the implementation of the XHDI protocol within MiNT.

http://hddriver.seimet.de/forum/viewtop ... 6&start=10


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:11 pm

Wongck: I'm not quite sure but that's an old 19 inch CRT monitor, but it was OK and Hddriver 8.xx works again
Ektus,thank you for information I will be read this topic, but now hddriver 8.xx works again and I dont need use hddriver 9.00


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest