Problem with boot on IDE disk

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:15 am

Hi,

I dont know what happend, at one point during the boot computer on 060 mode the computer not start from IDE disk, and it is disable even in HDDriver. This problem only exist in 060 mode, in 030 everithing it is OK and computer boot without any problem. What do think about it

Regards
Kroll

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sun Nov 06, 2016 12:09 pm

I partially solved the problem, but it may be have trouble with CTPCI. When I start computer on the screen have standard information with CTRL or ALT disable CTPCI / CTCM and the V key activates the mode Videla and the like.
In the line is Run VGA BIOS please wait, after a while, unfortunately, does not load drivers Radeon, only restarts the computer I switches to signal from the Radeon but no resolution 1024x768x60Hz, and of lacking the stamp ATI in the upper right corner.
CTPCI found checking the connected PCI card but not boots IDE magnetic disk .... error.

If you run while CTRL then everything is OK and run without Radeon

What do you think about it ?
Below you can find a pictures

Zdjęcie-0068.jpg

Zdjęcie-0069.jpg

Zdjęcie-0071.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11616
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:07 pm

did u accidentally make boot from the ctpci ide in your CT60 CPX ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:16 pm

You mean CT60CONF.CPX.
Launched from a floppy disk because the disk IDE does not see and yet that I have SCSI but also does not want to boot, he was up to and started the CPX then appears, the tab Boot IDE with the ability to choose between FALCON and CTPCI, but both options is the same , never changed and probably always been CTPCI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11616
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:41 pm

Yes, CT60CONF.CPX.
on my first attempt to use the CTPCI IDE, it hangs when trying to detect IDE because it is missing an interrupt wire.
I just thought that may be it is the case. If you are using Falcon IDE then no such thing, it would just boot up.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby paul92706 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:22 pm

You are right wongck, there is a wire to be soldered onto one of the IC's on the motherboard to and from CTPCI. He must make sure that wire is ok! There is one problem with CTPCI IDE, you cannot use in 030 mode. You will only have access to Floppy Drive!
Last edited by paul92706 on Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:41 pm

Oh, I understand, that is no small modifications there's no attempt to connect to the IDE CTPCI where I can read about it?
I never even try to mount a CTPCI IDE, because such a problem I did not have as now, also wrote to Didier, maybe he will be able to support something.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby paul92706 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:20 pm

are you using Falcon IDE or CTPCI IDE?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:42 pm

I am using Falcon IDE.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby paul92706 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:58 pm

Ok no need for solder wire to CTPCI and Falcon IC. So this is another problem, i think its software related. I had similar problem with CTPCI IDE, i forgot what the problem was, i need to rethink, and i will post!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:09 pm

OK I understand, that is to try to boot from the CT PCI IDE I have soldered the wire, where I can read about it and if someone is using CTPCI IDE?

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby paul92706 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:52 pm

Kroll wrote:OK I understand, that is to try to boot from the CT PCI IDE I have soldered the wire, where I can read about it and if someone is using CTPCI IDE?

Look in rodolphe czubas webpage, Powerphenix.com, its somewhere in there for sure!! I use CTPCI IDE and wongck i believe uses CTPCI IDE, it is much faster IDE then Falcon IDE!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:39 pm

I'm sorry for the trouble, maybe I'm blind :)
I looked but I did not find this page where is information haw soldered to the wire, please help me
Thank you very much in advance

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11616
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:54 pm

Seem like this one Dal may have encountered and resolved
viewtopic.php?t=26617
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11616
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:00 pm

Kroll wrote:I'm sorry for the trouble, maybe I'm blind :)
I looked but I did not find this page where is information haw soldered to the wire, please help me
Thank you very much in advance


No you are not blind.
I think Czuba removed all references to the CTPCI ide port.
It is really not there any more, he also removed references to the lated firmware needed for ethernet & usb.

May be you can search Exxos website, he did a mirror of it but I do not have an url to it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:41 pm

wongck wrote:Seem like this one Dal may have encountered and resolved
viewtopic.php?t=26617


As I have written much earlier I tried to change the settings CPX IDE CTPCI to Falcon, but it's changed and still does not start and is not visible in hddriver. I made myself this floppy to make a future lest start the computer with only Xcontrol and CT60CONF.CPX.
I'm woeful, not long Czuba repaired me CTPCI which operated suddenly two days and again I have a problem. It's probably not the fault of hardware since the start CTPCI is visible, but ...
Last edited by Kroll on Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:45 pm

wongck wrote:No you are not blind.
I think Czuba removed all references to the CTPCI ide port.
It is really not there any more, he also removed references to the lated firmware needed for ethernet & usb.

May be you can search Exxos website, he did a mirror of it but I do not have an url to it.


I find only this web site but I dont see any informatio about IDE
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Ektus » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:34 pm

One thing to check: Are all the connections okay (CT6x to Falcon, CTPCI to CT6x, 3,3V line to PCI board)? The Radeon driver resides inside TOS, no hard disk required. If it doesn't run, it's either a corrupt flash or some hardware problem (bad connection). You might also want to check if the voltages are okay, I've had a ATX power supply die at last OFAM...

If the IDE drive on the Falcon mainboard connector works in 030 mode but not 060, this also indicates connection problems between Falcon and CT6x.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Ektus » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:38 pm

Kroll wrote:
wongck wrote:No you are not blind.
I think Czuba removed all references to the CTPCI ide port.
It is really not there any more, he also removed references to the lated firmware needed for ethernet & usb.

May be you can search Exxos website, he did a mirror of it but I do not have an url to it.


I find only this web site but I dont see any informatio about IDE
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/

It is there, but not linked from the main site:

http://powerphenix.exxoshost.co.uk/www. ... fault.html
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby paul92706 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:23 pm

i actually had a problem a few months back with my IDE on CTPCI, one of the Ground pins had broken joint, and it was causing many issues with my IDE drive to boot up, so you have a good point Ektus, he may need to revise CT60 and CTPCI all pins and connections and make sure nothing is wrong, and start from there.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:39 pm

Ektus:
I wrote about this above that the I had only with CTPCI as activ, but when I boot computer with CTRL key (disable CTPCI) the computer run, the problem appears when CTPCI was active.

All:
First problem:
I have prepared the floppy CT60conf.cpx and after a few combinations I managed to set the IDE Falcon now and again to boot from an IDE hard disk, I am very pleased, earlier I seem to me that I had always set to CTPCI.
Unfortunately, not everything is so rosy, because it appeared trouble Xboot, choose a configuration then appears white screen does not load the remaining program which I have set in Auto and after a while your computer restarts and so on without interruption. If you then turn off the Auto Xboot.prg it loads the following programs from the catalog Auto but error occurs when starting GEMRAM.PRG example, when you press the spacebar charges whenever on and so do I to load the selected setting in Xboot some combinations and is annoyingly.. What do you thik about it

Second question:
I would like to go back to the information about which he writes in another of my post, looking at the first picture, where the load drivers Radeon earlier seen loaded drivers and after a reboot I had Resolution comes with Radeon in the resolution 1024x768x60 Hz, now charges whenever as you can see in the second picture it is standard resolution. Is it normal ? If you press the D key (use default mode / monitor layout turn on debug information, I can see charges whenever drivers and after a reboot I have the screen resolution of 1024x768.
What do you think about ?

In this moment it is all.
Thank you very much in advance

Regards
Kroll

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:30 pm

Ektus wrote:It is there, but not linked from the main site:

http://powerphenix.exxoshost.co.uk/www. ... fault.html

Sorry for trouble but I can not still find information about it

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Ektus » Wed Nov 09, 2016 4:14 am

- XBOOT: I've never used it, can't tell anything about it. In my opinion, using any boot manager is a very bad idea if there are communication problems with the hard disk, as the boot manager has to write to the boot drive in order to effect the changes, which may lead to file system corruption.
I've got lots of partitions on my hard drives, and for any needed boot configuration I simply set up another partition with the appropriate files and simply chose that partition to boot by pressing the appropriate drive letter during startup (when hddriver displays it's boot message).

- Screen resolution on Radeon: The driver communicates with the monitor and sets the preferred resolution reported by the monitor. Check your VGA or DVI cable, for me it simply works.

- Rodolphes website is online with an outdated version of the content (old backup?). Exxos has the latest version, including the latest ABE and SDR files. Not much information on the CTPCI and IDE, though. There's more to be found here in the forums.

- Didier has a relatively old version of the TOS online. For the PCI network card to work, I have to use a very specific combination of TOS (beta from Didier) and MiNT (Daily build from back then). It's been all discussed here previously.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11616
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby wongck » Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:25 pm

:D Great stuff... I see kroll, you are in very good hands now. Quickly resolving your issues.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Problem with boot on IDE disk

Postby Kroll » Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:08 pm

Ektus:
Thank you for the long explanation and information
Wongck:
I'm so glad that I can again work in the resolution, but as I wrote above, are certain ambiguity:
first, why do not I see the loaded drivers then had earlier been presented information to continue by pressing any key and the screen with a resolution of Radeon was 1024x768x60Hz
Secondly:
Why stopped working Xboot, before I had no such problems
thirdly why the computer crashes when loading GEMRAM.PRG and WINX.PRG

For information
At the moment I use the boot 2.01 and 1.01 TOS driver, previously I had a boot 2.00 beta 2 and TOS drivers 1.00 Beta 2.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests