CT60e is coming :)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:35 pm

Ah yes, that's the one :thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: York

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby Trixster » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:49 pm

Amazing, thanks!
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC | Saturn | PS1 | CPC6128
Acorn A3020 + 4MB | A3000 + 2MB | BBC B | Acorn Atom | BBC Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby leech » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:40 pm

alexh wrote:I was able to get a free NVRAM chips from Dallas. Yes you will need someone to solder it in place (or fit a low-profile socket) but at least that is one less thing to worry about. Just find the part on their website and click on something like "request a sample".


I think even the one I ordered was really cheap, maybe 20 dollars? I had already socketed mine because I had bought the adapter from Arne, though I never did get it to work right, I wondered if I had shorted it out on the metal top.. but whatever it is working sweetly now.

I suck at soldering, and I managed to do it. Granted I almost dropped the iron into my face...
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:48 pm

stompas wrote:..got it yesterday :). Big thanks to Willy!
The card works with 256MB and 100MHz, but had to flash to 2.01 cause 1.3 didn't work for me. Is there any chance to keep off the note "ctpci not found" during the bootscreen?



Is 2.01 compatible with ct60e? Would of thought it would have been in by default?

asik
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby asik » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:03 pm

Yes!!!
AS...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:39 pm

2.01 should be compatible to both CT60 & CT63, it just had the CTPCI support stuff on it. Should be OK if you do not have one.
IIRC, it takes over the diagnostic section of the firmware.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby mikro » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:43 pm

wongck wrote:2.01 should be compatible to both CT60 & CT63, it just had the CTPCI support stuff on it. Should be OK if you do not have one.
IIRC, it takes over the diagnostic section of the firmware.

And then there's the most important detail: 2.01 is not open source (not publicly, anyway) so all my future work on CT60 TOS is going to be based on 1.03c.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:46 pm

Oh... I just remembered... v2.01 uses more memory as it does not allow running the TOS from the firmware. Can't remember why... been almost 3-4 years since I used my CT63. :-(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
willy
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby willy » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:49 pm

stompas wrote:..got it yesterday :). Big thanks to Willy!
The card works with 256MB and 100MHz, but had to flash to 2.01 cause 1.3 didn't work for me. Is there any chance to keep off the note "ctpci not found" during the bootscreen?


Remember to use patched TOS from my website:
http://jil.guru/32bit/CT60e/TOS/Legacy/

There also patched&recompiled tools:
http://jil.guru/32bit/CT60e/Tools/Legacy/

The difference is that my versions supports all compatible flash chips, not only hardcoded ones. Also support for 512MB flash is removed (obsolete).

stompas
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:58 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby stompas » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:21 pm

Have flashed again with 1.3. Now it works, thanks.

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:53 pm

when i press cancel on the ct60 config the whole system crashes, EXCEPTION PROCESSING. whats with the annoying .acc file that gets created each reboot, cant it all be done from a single cpx :)

asik
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby asik » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:43 am

What are you using, cooling for ct60e ???
AS...

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby 1st1 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:30 pm

asik wrote:What are you using, cooling for ct60e ???


See my postings here: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31324 (It's easy to copy, if you have a similar CPU fan)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby 1st1 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:33 pm

Tomorrow will be the day... Yesterday I have recieved my Kingston PC133 512 MB DIMM, same model that is used by some others here in the forum. They are cheap to get (I payed 8 Euros for two of them on ebay, there was no single package). So now all is there for installation.

It will happen at our retro community meeting in Hanau, next to Frankfurt/M. http://forum.homecon.org/index.php/Thre ... ostID=6469
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby viking272 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:38 pm

I got my CT60e today, number #72. Did Willy say how many were produced? Just curious.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby 1st1 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:45 pm

I think you need to read the serial number hexadecimal. At least mine is.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:14 pm

how do reset to default settings on 060e board ?

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby mzry » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:38 am

mfro wrote:Err, no.

You can't determine if your RAM is compatible by just counting the number of chips on the stick. While this might work for low capacity DIMMS, it doesn't for larger ones (that's why the linked docs above say 64 MB with 16 chips doesn't work).

If you look closely at the eBay pictures, you can read the individual SDRAM chip's part number:

K4S560432E

You can also download the datasheet of these SDRAM chips. This will tell you that this is a 16 MBits x 4 banks x 4 bits chip (resulting in a capacity of 32 MB per chip or 32 x 16 = 512 MB per stick). 4 bits is _not_ supported with the CT60.

In the exact same datasheet, you'll see Samsung built these chips also as 8 MBits x 4 banks x 8 bit (K4S560832E) and 4 MBits x 4 banks x 16 bit (K4S561632E). DIMMS with these chips would also be double sided and would also have 16 chips/stick, looking exactly the same except the chip numbers, but should be well supported (at least according to the FireTOS sources).

If you go shopping, look carefully on the pictures provided.


I ordered my RAM exactly as explained here, I got double sided 8 per side samsung K4S560832E, and my ct60e boots with: SDRAM 512MB detected, SDRAM read failure at $01000000 :(

Luckily I have a 256mb stick to use till I can find a working dimm.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby 1st1 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:10 am

alienkidmj12 wrote:how do reset to default settings on 060e board ?


Press the ALTERNATE Key at reset. It will switch the ct60e back to 66 Mhz.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

ausl8
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 12:53 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby ausl8 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:19 am

Are there any more CT60e's available? If so how do I go about ordering 1?

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby 1st1 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:26 am

Contact Willy via email or private message here in the forum.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Xevious
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:06 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby Xevious » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:12 pm

Any info on the ct60e, since I've tried emailing/PM-ing willy, but no reaction. Any tips?

Xevious
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:06 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby Xevious » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:12 pm

Double post, sorry
Last edited by Xevious on Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:36 am

Did you miss out on the run?
How bad do you want one?

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Postby AdamK » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:11 am

IT will be available soon (the normal definition of 'soon' may not apply ;))
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron