CT60e ?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby DarkLord » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:42 pm

I think it was the 80 watt version that I used on my STacy when I was playing around
with that route as a power option and an alternate screen. It worked fine there,
powering up the STacy, an Ultrasatan (internal), floppy, replacement screen, etc,.

I could run it for several hours and still hold it in my hand. I was actually quite
impressed with it. However, I never tried any of the smaller versions so I could
see where they might not handle a load correctly.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: CT60e ?

Postby qq1975b » Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:18 am

8O That is awesome! I mean the new CT60e. I hope I can get 1 or 2.

It would be great if it can fit inside the Falcon's case with RAM and PSU. There are some threads about using PICO psu on ST and Falcon...and 120W ones. Did someone stressed them to see if they are reliable?
Trying to learn...

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: CT60e ?

Postby ctirad » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:24 pm

The original PSU has not enough power to feed the CT6x and thus there is no reason to keep it in place.

HuggyOne76
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: CT60e ?

Postby HuggyOne76 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:18 pm

@qq1975b,
As Darklord said, you can't have enough power with the original PSU of the Falcon to run the CT60.
I've got a picoPSU 120W and no problem at all. Perhaps that's too much for my Falcon/CT60/SuperVidel/Svethlana/2 hard drives/Floppy, but everything work pretty well like that. :D

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: CT60e ?

Postby qq1975b » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:20 pm

I expressed myself really bad...I meant with a pico PSU...so soldered RAM and PICO PSU.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby DarkLord » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:36 am

HuggyOne76 wrote:@qq1975b,
As Darklord said, you can't have enough power with the original PSU of the Falcon to run the CT60.


Actually, while I did know that, I think it was Citrad that said it - just giving credit where credit is due. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby shoggoth » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:39 pm

I don't care about integrated PSU nor for soldered SDRAM.

I want to see an improved design with serial resistors etc on high frequency bus signals, to allow expansion boards to run at full speed. The original design is very flawed in this aspect (and I don't say this to bash mr Czuba, because he did a great job - it's just that noone expected us to run this stuff at 100MHz).

Also I'd like to see a mechanically stable design, which perhaps could be screwed on to the motherboard or something, because each time I move my falcon, these boards starts to get separated from eachother.

Basically I'd like a better board for my Supervidel :)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: CT60e ?

Postby qq1975b » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:17 pm

It may be interesting if you share your comments with the guy who is redesigning it. Users and hardware developers (and specially advanced developers like the ones that the supervidel requires :wink: ) are the best feedback source he can have to make an improved CT63.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: CT60e ?

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:42 am

Interested in one of these. Hope to hear more about it in the near future! :cheers:

User avatar
qbert
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:34 pm

Re: CT60e ?

Postby qbert » Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:19 am

' ll happily hear news of this. :)

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby instream » Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:08 pm

Last weekend my brother Henrik, Pep and I met Willy at the Slaskhack party in Falköping. Willys real name is Martin btw. :) We sat down with Willy and he showed us his layout and schematic of the CT60e. It all looks very promising. It is basically an enlarged CT60 that covers the rear PSU mounting holes so it can get proper mechanical support at the rear. It has built in CTCM and footprints for motherboard acceleration components. These components are not mounted. PSU connector and SDRAM connector are like on the CT60. CPU socket is present.

The signal integrity issues of the CT60 should be solved now with series resistors near the 060. The ABE is now placed in the middle of the 060 bus, instead of the far end from the CT60 expansion connector. This made it possible to shorten the bus signals a few cm, and adds to better signal integrity.There are also series resistors outside the clock driver chip, which should render the SV/EtherNat/CTPCI clock filters redundant and improve stability. The 5VSB capacitor fix has also been added.

The CT60e PCB is now 6 layers instead of 4 as on the CT60, which allows more solid GND and 3.3/5V planes. The motherboard is now fed 5V and 12V through a downward pointing connector that mates with the old MB connector. The CT60e therefore reaches about 10 mm further to the right than the CT60. Not sure what that means for the old harddisk bracket. The connector should also add mechanical stability to the CT60e.

The project looked quite complete to us, and Willy said he would produce prototypes "soon". Not sure what that means though. :wink:

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby jvas » Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:23 pm

Great! Thanks for the update!

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby Dal » Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:48 pm

There was always a problem with fitting the ctpci due to the position of the motherboard power connector impeding access to the ribbon headers. Does this new CT60e design allow for that at all?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby instream » Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:07 pm

Dal wrote:There was always a problem with fitting the ctpci due to the position of the motherboard power connector impeding access to the ribbon headers. Does this new CT60e design allow for that at all?

I don't have a CTPCI so I'm not 100% syre how it is installed. But if the ribbon cables need to run between the MB and the CT60, then no, the CT60e will block that.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby Dal » Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:10 pm

It was very badly designed and meant the power connector on the motherboard had to be removed or have the pins bent over to accommodate the ctpci. There are pictures somewhere.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby Dal » Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:17 pm

Will Nature be tempted to do another run of SuperVidels and EtherNATs to coincide with the CT60e? Seems like an obvious opportunity.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: CT60e ?

Postby instream » Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:54 am

Willy asked us if he could produce another batch of the SV after the CT60e. We don't want to spread rumours or put pressure on him, so no comment just yet. ;)

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: CT60e ?

Postby alienkidmj12 » Sat May 09, 2015 9:07 am

OMG. I Need one of these; ) what is super videl. Higher Res board?

User avatar
10p6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:28 am

Re: CT60e ?

Postby 10p6 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:52 am

Can someone please tell me the actual wattage of what the Falcon and CT60e use in full operation? (A Photo from power consumption meter would be awesome :-))

From what I have read, some people seem to be using PSU's which are massively over rated for what this needs. From the specs I read the 68060 uses less than 5 watts at 66 Mhz, so even overclocking to 100 Mhz, and including all the CT60e electronics, the CT60e should not exceed 15 watts. The Falcon I believe uses a max of about 23 watts even with a mechanical HDD, so to me it seems that a 50 watt (40 watt plus inefficiencies) PSU should be ample. Even if you add another 10 watts for other expansion, 60 or 70 watts would seem more than enough. Note that if you look at some Amiga's with accelerators running on a stock PSU, my figures look over rated.
Are you ready to 'PlayOne', and new 5200 and Jaguar controller coming soon.

http://www.facebook.com/10psix
http://www.youtube.com/10p6


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests