CT63 68060 CPU direction

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:32 pm

Hello

Just last week installed a CT60, simple start up is fine.
Also, have a CT63 to install, on this same Falcon to check it out.
The CT63 needs the CPU seated, and like the CT60, there are no markings as to which way it goes, one must rely on photos.
On the Phoenix site, there is a photo of the CT63 where you can see the CPU MASK.
In this photo of the CT63, the 060 is placed 180 degrees opposiite of how it sets on the CT60.
Is this photo correct?
TIA

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4032
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Dal » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:23 pm

The cpu can only go in one way. Look at the socket and the chip, there is one corner that is not square.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:58 pm

Thanks Dal.
Socket on this CT63 allows the 060 to be placed in any position (didn't try to "seat it" though).
Noted on the underside of the CPU, near the "gold" square area a dot indicator.
This places the CPU same as on the CT60.
Unless seeing things, the CT63 photo (posted here) on Rodolphe's site shows the CPU Mask stencil toward the keyboard side of the CT
(grabs the photo), which is opposite the 4 CPU here.
Looking close at the photo, can see the "T1" CPU pin location at the bottom left corner of the socket/CPU.
Just used to seeing a corner blank on the socket where the "no pin" area of an IC goes.
**************************************************
But, now that I have your attention :D

Both the CT60 and 63 have been safely stored since purchased.
The CT60 installed and booted without incident.

The CT63 however did not boot.
Did a visual, the two are quite different without the F030 bus booster circuit and CT63 having the programmable clock, for that to be any indicatior to me.

Here's where we got to.
Placement and connections are the same as how the working CT60 set up is.
With the powersupply up, power indicator LED connected to the CT63 is lit.
When the momentary switch connected to the CT63 is depressed, nothing happens. Can hear the fan in the powersupply start.
The IDE drive does not spin up.
(concerned look occurs)
Rechecked connections, reseated SDRAM and tried again, same result.

Jumped the CT63 (off) for Falcon mode, IDE drive spins up and Falcon boots normally.

Remember reading through many CT post over time, recall one where either there was a missing resistor or cap on the (powerside?) CT63.
Does that ring any bells?

The Falcon does have the reset capacitor modification.
One contact on the SDRAM socket came a little buggered. Looks to be making contact. Rang it out, it's a ground contact, with continunity to the rest.

Also, can the programmable clock module be removed, or is it soldered in place? Don't want to force it.
If it comes out, will a "can" oscillator work in it's place?

TIA for the help
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4032
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Dal » Wed Nov 12, 2014 7:37 am

Look at your second pic (the 060 socket). The shape in the middle tells me pin 1 is the top left corner. There is actually an extra pin hole there which should match to an extra pin on the chip. It should not be possible to put the chip in the wrong way.

As for your running up issue. I had a similar problem with a sensitive pico psu. It would shut itself down immediately. I have since discovered in my case that continuity between +5v and GND was my issue. I replaced the large reservoir capacitor on the falcon main board and the fault went away.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

cyberish
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby cyberish » Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:37 am

Hi

which one is exactly "the large reservoir capacitor on the falcon main board"?
thx

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4032
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Dal » Wed Nov 12, 2014 10:01 am

That big 4700uf electrolytic just south of the PSU
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby mikro » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:46 am

Dal wrote:Look at your second pic (the 060 socket). The shape in the middle tells me pin 1 is the top left corner. There is actually an extra pin hole there which should match to an extra pin on the chip. It should not be possible to put the chip in the wrong way.

Actually, this is not true (yes, I've learned this the hard way).

First, you can insert the CPU any way you like, the pin there is non-existent, there's no pin on 'coordinates' (5,5), see for yourself.

Second, it's the inner corner of the CPU you're interested to match with the socket, not the outer one. So where do you see that golden 'pad', that part must match the top left corner.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4032
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby Dal » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:46 am

Looking at the shape of the board marking and the 060, there is only one logical way to insert the chip. I'll take your point in some cases it may be physically possible to insert the chip in another orientation, but why would you ignore the marking which clearly shows the top left corner is pin 1?
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

mikro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CT63 68060 CPU direction

Postby mikro » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:59 am

Well, it may be just me being idiot again (wouldn't be for the first time) but for some reason I was tempted to follow the corner in the red circle instead of the green one:

IMG_20170408_143836a.jpg

To me it looked more logical, here's a diagonal cut, there's diagonal cut = it matches.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest