Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:43 am

:megaphone: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :D
Hopefully we get it as Christmas present :angel:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Zogging Hell » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:35 pm

That's cryptic, tell us more! :)
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:42 am

Rodolphe's New firmware will be shipped to Didier soon if not already shipped. :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Zogging Hell » Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:47 am

That's good news. I've got one, but have never put it in, still waiting for the Supervidel to try with the Ethernat :)
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:58 am

The Supervidel comes with optional Network attachment, everything inside the original Falcon case.
Sure one Kick-ass combination. :thumbs:
But will it fit with the EtherNAT ??
WOW.... one great combination with USB.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Zogging Hell » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:11 pm

Should do the ethernat and the supervidel (hopefully!) if I use the circuit board (from Nature) to push the boards further back. The CTPCI won't fit in as well though, sadly, but it doesn't really fit in very easily on its own! :)

My Falcon really has been languishing a bit as I got tired of constantly having to unplug and replug the CT60 to reprogram the ABE etc, so its sitting waiting (currently operating as my back up for software system) for some sort of finality on the TOS/ firmware front. I've really been using the STs more and more recently.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:16 pm

Zogging Hell wrote:Should do the ethernat and the supervidel (hopefully!) if I use the circuit board (from Nature) to push the boards further back. The CTPCI won't fit in as well though, sadly, but it doesn't really fit in very easily on its own! :)

My Falcon really has been languishing a bit as I got tired of constantly having to unplug and replug the CT60 to reprogram the ABE etc, so its sitting waiting (currently operating as my back up for software system) for some sort of finality on the TOS/ firmware front. I've really been using the STs more and more recently.


The CTPCI will squeeze into the case, it's all those IDE cables that are the kiilers. I have 3 of them coming out of the case.

Do you remove the CT60 to reprogram the ABE?
I have to have mine inside the Falcon otherwise the IMPACT software would not find the ABE devices.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Zogging Hell » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:33 pm

wongck wrote:The CTPCI will squeeze into the case, it's all those IDE cables that are the kiilers. I have 3 of them coming out of the case.


He he yes my CT60 has a spaghetti junction of a power supply and USB extender cables falling out the back so I can appreciate that.

wongck wrote:Do you remove the CT60 to reprogram the ABE?
I have to have mine inside the Falcon otherwise the IMPACT software would not find the ABE devices.


Well I was using an elaborate system of using my other plain vanilla Falcon to program the CT60 in this one (quite a balancing act on my small desk), I removed it because I could never get a really clear answer on whether it was needed to do this if you were using another Atari to program (you obviously have to if you are using the same machine to do both, or fit that mod). The cable I got to reprogram the ABE is the Atari modified one, so I've never tried with a PC.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:52 pm

I think you can have it to program itself. Just make the jumper so that it runs on 030.
As power into the CT60 is required, it needs to be plugged in but it need not to be running TOS or anthing.
But do quote me on that, I always used a PC ( as my programming wires are generic ones).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:57 am

I've never done it other than programming in 030 mode from the same machine. The 1k Resistor on the CT63 must be in place, then I usually boot MagiC in 030 mode and program from there. For TOS alone, you can even do it in 060 mode.

There's also a tiny bit of news from September on Didier's homepage at the bottom of http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr/ct60/index-e.htm


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:45 am

Ok, the developers have spoken in DHS about the new firmware.
They are still troubleshooting it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 875
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Zogging Hell » Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:41 pm

wongck wrote:I think you can have it to program itself. Just make the jumper so that it runs on 030.
As power into the CT60 is required, it needs to be plugged in but it need not to be running TOS or anthing.
But do quote me on that, I always used a PC ( as my programming wires are generic ones).


Ah yeah I could do, but it seemed as easy to just grab the other Falcon and use that to program it (like you would with a PC programming it) instead of fiddling round that delicate Falcon circuit board with a soldering iron.. :)
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Kroll » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:05 am

Dear All,

I wanted to get back to the topic other PCI cards connected to CTPCI namely network card and a USB controller. I have read about it on Didier website and various forum threads. As is currently the case looks drivers for these cards. Network card must be Realtek 8139, I have just this in Hades comnputer and works perfectly, and I can test it on Falcon with CTPCI, but mostly I'm interested in USB, if I understand it certainly works as a mouse and keyboard when it comes to USB flash drive.
This card must be based on the NEC chipset 720100 or 720101, for example, I found this on ebay below link (NEC Chipset D720101GJ)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=D ... &_from=R40

and on the Polish side (please look at the photo you can see that the chipset is D720101F1)

http://allegro.pl/5x-usb-2-0-karta-pci- ... 71380.html

Are these cards are good are some differences as well as what else I have to look

Best Regards
Kroll

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:41 am

I purchased 2 USB boards with NEC chipset 720100 but have not tried them.Sorry no experience with the NEC 720101 also.
You will also need to make a mod on the PCI side of CTPCI so that 5V is supplied to the device otherwise it will trip the PSU (happened to me - so I stopped trying).
Look for the mod instructions in this forum, Rodolphe himself made that post.
Also firmware fix and software is not ready yet. Beta versions of the software is available from Didier.

Back to topic...
Unfortunately after that short burst of activity by Didier & Rodolphe, there was little follow up.
I got an email from Rodolphe last month when he mentioned did not do much on Atari.
I hope he does not mean also on the CTPCI, and he will have no time again in April.
I guess that's when spring comes and he will be back working on his business with renewable energy.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:08 am

Kroll wrote:Dear All,

I wanted to get back to the topic other PCI cards connected to CTPCI namely network card and a USB controller. I have read about it on Didier website and various forum threads. As is currently the case looks drivers for these cards. Network card must be Realtek 8139, I have just this in Hades comnputer and works perfectly, and I can test it on Falcon with CTPCI, but mostly I'm interested in USB, if I understand it certainly works as a mouse and keyboard when it comes to USB flash drive.
This card must be based on the NEC chipset 720100 or 720101, for example, I found this on ebay below link (NEC Chipset D720101GJ)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=D ... &_from=R40

Are these cards are good are some differences as well as what else I have to look


You'd better get a 3,3V card. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Belkin-F5U220 ... 1e5d68d49f shows two key slots in the connector, that one should do.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby rian_ata » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:04 pm

Ektus,

if I remember correctly you have network on the CTPCI working. Which driver are you using (can you attach it in this thread?) and how to call it on bootup? I would love to get my pci network card up and running replacing and / or comparing speeds with my Daynaport SCSILink adapter.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:25 am

I've got to check at home, but IIRC I've got it working with the beta TOS from May, 2012,[edit] MiNT 1-17-c and the drivers from http://assemsoft.atari.org/rtl8139/index.html or from the FreeMint package? File sizes below.

inet4.xdd 82.372 byte
rtl8139.xif 60.015 byte
static route
netsurf is working, but I wasn't able to edit this post, so I'm using Seamonkey on the notebook instead.
[/edit]

Regards
Ektus.
Last edited by Ektus on Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:27 am, edited 3 times in total.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:20 am

Good luck.
I never got my PCI network card to work.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:30 pm

Ektus wrote:I've got to check at home, but IIRC I've got it working with the beta TOS from May, 2012,[edit] MiNT 1-17-c and the drivers from http://assemsoft.atari.org/rtl8139/index.html or from the FreeMint package? File sizes below.

inet4.xdd 82.372 byte
rtl8139.xif 60.015 byte
static route
netsurf is working, but I wasn't able to edit this post, so I'm using Seamonkes on the notebook instead.
[/edit]

Regards
Ektus.

Hi Ektus, i hope your still around, well i tapped into this old thread, wanting to know more info on how you got this Network card working with CTPCI? and what model of card you used. Thanks
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:53 pm

ok i recieved the Realtek 8139 Fast Ethernet card today. I installed the driver and plugged her in. During bootup under Mint 1-19 the Network card was not responding to the driver. I switched to Mint 1-17 and it this is what i got, look at picture (at bottom of screen) . It seemed to reconize the card and it seems it accessed the hardware address, so thats a good sign. But somehow the machine locked up and does not proceed to bootup to desktop. I then switched to Mint 1-18 and same thing , it hangs after the driver loads, and recieves Network info and seems to lock my system up. Anyone have ideas? thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4080
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Dal » Fri Aug 05, 2016 7:36 am

Ektus hasn't been active for a while, you may wish to PM him.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:02 am

Dal wrote:Ektus hasn't been active for a while, you may wish to PM him.

Hi Dal, ya i kinda figured. I havn't seen him around in a while.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Beetle
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Beetle » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:25 pm

Ektus showed his Falcon 060 here at Fujiama Party, with USB card mouse working, and Network (Realtek PCI) working under MiNT.
It had a download speed of around 400kByte, pretty impressive. With a daily build of Netsurf, freshly downloaded today,
he was able to post on Atari-Home.de.

I will remind him of this thread.

Greetings,
Beetle
What Atari do you want to modify today?

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:51 pm

Beetle wrote:Ektus showed his Falcon 060 here at Fujiama Party, with USB card mouse working, and Network (Realtek PCI) working under MiNT.
It had a download speed of around 400kByte, pretty impressive. With a daily build of Netsurf, freshly downloaded today,
he was able to post on Atari-Home.de.

I will remind him of this thread.

Greetings,
Beetle

superb!!! that's great beetle, thanks for informing us of this. I have questions i would like to ask him in regards to his setup! thank you again! :cheers:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:24 am

I'm back home, but off to bed now. Just so much, I've got the network card working with the beta TOS from May 6th, 2012 and the latest ABE and SDR. Driver versions have been posted earlier in this thread. The card goes by the name RTK0.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests