CT60 memory test strangeness

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

sety
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

CT60 memory test strangeness

Postby sety » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:33 am

Hi.

I've had this problem for as long as I've had the CT60 - If I let it complete the ST RAM check/start the TT RAM check it won't boot. It usually crashes with an access fault. I've lived with it simply by using a zero second boot delay, thus avoiding the RAM check all together. But I've had some free time over the break and I thought I would revisit it.

Anyway, I got it to boot into GEM after completing a RAM check and found that while it's in this state, it thinks it's an ST!

When I got it to boot it behaved exactly like an ST. It came up in ST Medium, I could select ST LOW but could not select ST HIGH (presumably because there was no SM124 connected). No falcon modes worked.

I've flashed on the later ABE_V7F and SDF_V7D firmwares but it didn't make much difference.
I'm using the boot firmware pm 1.03c

Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Screenshots below. Thanks!

This from sysinfo:
IMG_1513 2.JPG


This from the setup screen:
IMG_1518 3.JPG


Even when I try to boot MiNT it goes looking for the 68K kernel (which I don't have)
IMG_1520 2.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12541
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60 memory test strangeness

Postby wongck » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:18 am

wow... you got a 3-in-1 ST, Falcon & CT60.

I have no idea why it is behaving like that but remove the CT60 and see if it still thinks it is a ST.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

sety
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: CT60 memory test strangeness

Postby sety » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:48 am

wongck wrote:wow... you got a 3-in-1 ST, Falcon & CT60.

I have no idea why it is behaving like that but remove the CT60 and see if it still thinks it is a ST.


:lol: I did try to load an ST game but it didn't work.

It only thinks its an ST if I let it complete the memory check in 060 mode. If I skip the memory check, everything functions normally.
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1803
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CT60 memory test strangeness

Postby mikro » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:04 am

This might be a deeper hardware problem - CPU type is usually recognised by catching an exception, for instance FreeMiNT uses "move.w ccr,dx" to distinguish between 68000 and 68010 and accessing the CACR (cache) register to distinguish between 68010 and 68020+.

misha76
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: CT60 memory test strangeness

Postby misha76 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:54 pm

sety wrote:Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Screenshots below. Thanks!


My CT60e behaves the same: If I give him to test all the memory it crashes with an access fault.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron