1GB Hades

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

1GB Hades

Postby alanh » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:20 pm

:D :D :D :D

But a problem too.

It seems in the quest of getting 1GB in my Hades, it's suffering. I need to bend the board slightly near the SIMM sockets to get it to work properly.

So I'm off to give a bit of a reflow job at the weekend. Hope it doesn't get worse 8-O
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2192
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby lp » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:25 am

I still have 1gb worth of EDO simms laying on a shelf, but I never installed it as I was always to afraid to mess around with it. The case was so small I would of had to dis-assemble it just to get at the simm sockets. :lol:

Hope you get it sorted, hate to see another Hades not working.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby alanh » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:52 pm

O.k. Success. But it wasn't a reflow.

Turns out the first SIMM socket must be a little slack, and maybe just maybe, the pins don't always make solid contact. So I've improvised and used a small plastic wedge to hold the SIMM enough to reach the pins.

I may replace the SIMM socket eventually, but for now we're done and back in business.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby Mathias » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:35 pm

Wow, ... so what is the exact hardware config of your "Monster-Hades" now? Where did you get the RAM from? I cannot find a real cheap source recently, but there was one for about 10$ for 128MB a few years ago, …

And the next aim might be to equip your Medusa T40 with 4 GB, as it is the only Atari that can handle more than 1GB to my knowledge :-)
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby alanh » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:53 pm

eBay for 128MB SIMMs.

But the T40 cannot do 4GB at all. Maximum is 128MB.

The Hades is THE only Atari clone that can do > 512MB (i.e. 1GB). Even the FireBee is stuck with 512MB, and so is the CT60. :-(
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby Mathias » Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:03 pm

There was an "addoncard" for more than the 128 MB at the mainboard. See this article (in german): http://www.stcarchiv.de/stc1994/10_medusa.php

Or was this card never produced, and the 4 GB are just a theoretical value (as at the FireBee, which could also get some addon RAM hardware via the "Expansion Socket")?

But what for do you need more than 512MB? I suspect some compiling jobs, right?
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby alanh » Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:15 pm

Ficticious cards don't count. They weren't made for the T40 and one doesn't yet exist for the FireBee. So the Hades wins :-)

512MB doesn't cut it these days for alternative stuff :-)

Didn't Mr Gates say who needs more than 640KB at one point too.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

Ato
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:27 am
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby Ato » Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:01 pm

Mathias wrote:But what for do you need more than 512MB? I suspect some compiling jobs, right?


:twisted: If I am not mistaken the CP/M programmers had similar thoughts when they decided to not support sub-directories until some later CP/M version. I can still hear them saying "Who will be going to use more than 10 files on a disc anyway?".

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby Mathias » Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:10 pm

Perhaps it is my poor english again, … my question was not theoretically or some kind of postulation, it was real interrest what for Alan is using more than 512 MB recently.

And about the Medusa T40 RAM addon card; I am not sure if it is ficticious. I´ll have to ask Fredi about it. But yes, the Hades with 1GB winns recently! ;)
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2192
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby lp » Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:18 am

If I ever get the Hades fixed the 1gb is going in, since its all torn apart now anyway. Not speaking for Alan, but I use the MiNT ram-disk extensively for my assembler work. The bigger, the better. :D

User avatar
TTowner
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:53 am
Location: NR Birmingham. UK
Contact:

Re: 1GB Hades

Postby TTowner » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:05 am

Per chance to dream. If is a big word. Personally I would be happy to see the boot screen on mine. :(
Hades060 & 2 TT030 machines.Nova & Spektrum Graphics cards,1 Reibel network cards,1 Netusb,Slm Lazer printer, Epson GT600 flatbed, 2 SCSi to IDE interface + UltraSatan.Nakamachi 7 & 5 CD disk changers.Mega STE .[url]http://www.llill.co/5j
[/url]


Social Media

     

Return to “Hades / Milan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest