Display issue with NVDI.

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

ovni73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:43 am
Location: Saint Jean de Maurienne, France

Display issue with NVDI.

Postby ovni73 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 6:26 am

Hi All.

I have a little problem with NVDI.
I mostly use Magic and Jinnee only, but sometime I need NVDI.
When it's active, the windows don't refresh correctly.
Here is two examples with Cresus (bank account management from Pierre Ton-That)
and the file explorer.


Cresus :
When I scroll the operations by pages (shift + up or down arrow keys or by clicking above
or below the vertical slider), it's correct.
When I scroll by line (up or down arrow keys or by clicking the up or down arrows of the
vertical slidebar) the window content becomes jammed excepted the first line if I scroll
to the top or the last line if I scroll to the bottom. If I scroll again by pages, the window
is re-established correctly.
Using the horizontal slider, the window is jammed whatever I do.

file explorer :
Different behaviour : I keep a correct display only if I scroll vertically by line using the
up or down keys.

I also have the problem with Highwire.

When I activate NVDI with Xboot, the following programs are enabled in my auto folder in this
order and after all other programs :

REDIRECT
NVDI
WDIALOG
SLCT_DEV

In the CPX folder :
NCACHE
NPRNCONF
NVDICONF

Configuration : Hades 060 16 MB of RAM.
Magic Hades 6.1 and Jinnee.
NVDI 2.5 (registered).
NVDI was installed after Magic and Jinnee, and I always use it with Magic and Jinnee active.
1024*768 64k colors.

I didn't fing any setting in the Jinnee configuration menu that could help this wih issue.
Excepted this problem everything works fine (Sting, Troll ...).
No error during the boot.

What could I check to solve this ?

Regards.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:23 am

... need the graphiccard in the Hades the nova vdi !?!

if yes you install NVDI_5 not as ET4000 or so but as NOVA ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ovni73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:43 am
Location: Saint Jean de Maurienne, France

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby ovni73 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:08 pm

There is a ET6000.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:52 pm

Hades ET6000 Driver by Computerinsel (NOVA Drivers) ...

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/nova_et6k.zip

Install NVDI_5 with the option NOVA Graphiccard !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ovni73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:43 am
Location: Saint Jean de Maurienne, France

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby ovni73 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:30 am

Hello Franck.

I use NVDI 5.03 and the Nova PRG is already active in the AUTO folder.
I will compare the files versions with the ones in the ZIP and reinstall them if needed.

Thanks.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:35 am

ovni73 wrote:Hi All.

When I activate NVDI with Xboot, the following programs are enabled in my auto folder in this
order and after all other programs :

REDIRECT
NVDI
WDIALOG
SLCT_DEV



REDIRECT and SLCT_DEV are from the NVDI ET4000 Programs, please install NVDI_5 new with the option "NOVA Graphiccard"
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ovni73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:43 am
Location: Saint Jean de Maurienne, France

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby ovni73 » Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:24 pm

Hi Franck.

Sorry for replying so lately but I recently relocated and it took me some time to get everything working again.
So I removed all the NVDI related files in the AUTO and CPX folders (otherwise xboot complains if it can't rename files ...)
and ran the installation again, choosing Nova Grafikarten.

Unfortunately, the machine hangs up during the boot with that option, the screen is full white and nothing else.

I removed the files again, reinstalled NVDI with the ET4000 option, and the boot is now ok, but the window refresh bug too.

Regards

User avatar
frank.lukas
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:51 pm

... if you install NVDI_5 with the Option NOVA the NVDI *.SYS Drivers are off/disable and NVDI works in GDOS Mode only ...

For a ET6000 Graphiccard you need the "Computer Insel" Nova Drivers for the Hades Machine !

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/nova_et6k.zip

NVDi ET4000 is for the ET4000 Card and W32 Card only and not for a ET6000 Card ...

... ask there for Help -> http://medusacomputer.com/thes-hades.html
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
frank.lukas
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:23 pm

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... VU6NOkUYt0

--- quote from google groups ---
Aha, that sounds familiar to me. You see on my Hades I use an ET6000
graphic card with the NOVA driver v2.61. When I view a page which
contains a large animated gif my system runs within a few minutes out
of memory (32 mb).
Medusa System has told me that it was probably a driver problem but
with the newer version of the driver I still have the same problem.
------
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ovni73
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:43 am
Location: Saint Jean de Maurienne, France

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby ovni73 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:13 am

Hello All.

I didn't take time since the last post to work on this issue, but I decided to get back to work before yesterday.
I took a blank HD, installed the OS (disabled some PRG in the auto folder like et6000 and novacal) + Magic + Jinnee + Nvdi (Nova graphic card) and you what, no more issues with the windows display :D
So I back'd up this new C drive to a ZIP cartridge, plugged my usual HD, renamed the system folders (auto, gemsys, jinnee ...) and copied the new ones.
I kept the inf and other configuration files to not loose my environment, rebooted and all is fine, and faster (well, that is one of the goal of NVDI isn't it ?).
I back'd the C: drive again to be sure to be able to reinstall it if necesary.
I'm going to tune the auto folder a bit but I hope this problem is definitively solved now.

Thanks a lot to all who took time to answer this subject.

Regards.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Display issue with NVDI.

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:36 pm

Good to hear it worked! I noticed you mentioned WDIALOG running with nvdi. This is not needed if you run Magic as the extension is integrated into the operating system now.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hades / Milan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests