How do I Turn a Hades 060 into a Music/MIDI Machine? :-)

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

atarimusic[dot]net
Atari freak
Atari freak

How do I Turn a Hades 060 into a Music/MIDI Machine? :-)

Postby atarimusic[dot]net » Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:39 pm

Hi all,

In a few hours, I'll be inheriting a wonderful Hades 060 machine from a gentleman in NY who is giving it away. So far, Ive used two Falcon 030 machines running native TOS and Cubase Score and Cubase Audio. I want to turn my Hades into a Cubase machine now too. Can anyone recommend what I need to do to make this happen (operating system, version of cubase, patches, auto folder)? I am completely new to the Hades system and very unfamiliar with it's bios/motherboard. What sorts of wonderful things can I add to the PCI slots for example? One idea I have is to rack mount the system like a synth module. Has anyone tried this before? It look likes this machine doesn't have regular MIDI ports. Can I use the Steinberg SMP II or any the Steinberg FDI unit?

atarimusic[dot]net
Atari freak
Atari freak

Re: How do I Turn a Hades 060 into a Music/MIDI Machine? :-)

Postby atarimusic[dot]net » Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:52 pm

Update: Now that I've got the Hades computer, it's frightfully dirty inside. On another thread, some kind folks are trying to help me out on how to clean the motherboard before I do anything else. As for turning this into a MIDI machine, here is what I can say for sure now: I will indeed rackmount this computer so it will fit into my synth module stack (the original case is so yellow and dirty it's not even worth cleaning.

As for running cubase or any other MIDI sequencer, I suppose my question is this: What MIDI programs will work on MiNT or MagiC or Hades version of TOS? It seems like this is a really hard question. Any pros out here know the answer?

lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Postby lp » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:40 pm