Help wanted for broken Hades

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:19 pm

I acquired a (free, broken) Hades060 that I'm trying to resuscitate. When powered on, it doesn't seem to do anything (no access to floppy, nothing on the screen). Here's what I've done so far (not necessarily in this order :-)):
1. changed video board
2. changed PCI slot for video board
3. reseated all socketed chips
4. changed memory around (was 2*32MB + 2*16MB, tried single 32MB, single 16MB)
5. changed P/S
6. checked for short between +5V supply pins & ground

I don't want to junk this, but I'm running out of ideas! Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Roger

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby Omikronman » Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:13 am

Maybe the power-supply is out of order?

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby jvas » Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:08 pm

anodyne wrote:I acquired a (free, broken) Hades060 that I'm trying to resuscitate. When powered on, it doesn't seem to do anything (no access to floppy, nothing on the screen). Here's what I've done so far (not necessarily in this order :-)):
1. changed video board
2. changed PCI slot for video board
3. reseated all socketed chips
4. changed memory around (was 2*32MB + 2*16MB, tried single 32MB, single 16MB)
5. changed P/S
6. checked for short between +5V supply pins & ground

I don't want to junk this, but I'm running out of ideas! Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Roger


Try to remove all peripherials except the video.

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:56 pm

Omikronman wrote:Maybe the power-supply is out of order?


Good idea, but I already changed it.
Roger

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Tue Apr 07, 2009 4:01 pm

jvas wrote:
anodyne wrote:I acquired a (free, broken) Hades060 that I'm trying to resuscitate. When powered on, it doesn't seem to do anything (no access to floppy, nothing on the screen). Here's what I've done so far (not necessarily in this order :-)):
1. changed video board
2. changed PCI slot for video board
3. reseated all socketed chips
4. changed memory around (was 2*32MB + 2*16MB, tried single 32MB, single 16MB)
5. changed P/S
6. checked for short between +5V supply pins & ground

I don't want to junk this, but I'm running out of ideas! Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Roger


Try to remove all peripherials except the video.


Thanks, but I already did. The only things that were connected when I started working on it were the floppy, the keyboard, and the video board, and I've disconnected the floppy and changed the keyboard. The motherboard is sitting on a table (on standoffs) with a P/S, a keyboard, and a video card in a PCI slot.

If the PCI is totally shot, I suppose I could try an ISA video card, at least for testing. Will any work (just to get a bootup screen) or do I need a special one?

Roger

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby lp » Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:49 pm

I think if you purchased a Hades back in the day with an ISA video card it used the ET4000 chip set. For example an ISA version of the Mach 64 should work.

There was a guy that fixed Ozk's Hades after he wrote his off as dead. If you wish to go that path, let me know and we can track down who that was that did the repair for him. Possibly 'plan B' if you get to that point. :)
Last edited by lp on Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:27 pm

lp wrote:I think if you purchased a Hades back in the day with an ISA video card it used the ET4000 chip set. For example an ISA version of the Mach 64 should work.

There was a guy that fixed Ozk's Hades after he wrote his off as dead. If you wish to go that path, let me know and we can track down who that was that did the repair for him. Possibly 'plan B' if you get that point. :)


Thanks! I'll try to locate a suitable ISA board. But I wouldn't mind starting on Plan B now anyway. So if you could find the guy ...

One other thing I think I'll do (long shot probably) is move the 68060 to a known working CT60 and make sure it works.

Thanks,
Roger

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby lp » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:34 pm

anodyne wrote:Thanks! I'll try to locate a suitable ISA board. But I wouldn't mind starting on Plan B now anyway. So if you could find the guy ...

One other thing I think I'll do (long shot probably) is move the 68060 to a known working CT60 and make sure it works.
Roger


I shot off some e-mails. Soon I as have some contact info I'll let you know.

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby shoggoth » Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:36 am

PLCC sockets tend to break after a few years. IIRC all PLCC chips were resoldered directly to the motherboard in Ozks machine. This may look very difficult, but it's definitely doable. Someone with the right equipment (SMD solder stuff, good non-clean (non corrosive) flux etc) and experience might be able to help you.

Question - why use an ISA graphics card? The bandwidth of those cards is horrible?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:13 pm

shoggoth wrote:PLCC sockets tend to break after a few years. IIRC all PLCC chips were resoldered directly to the motherboard in Ozks machine. This may look very difficult, but it's definitely doable. Someone with the right equipment (SMD solder stuff, good non-clean (non corrosive) flux etc) and experience might be able to help you.

Question - why use an ISA graphics card? The bandwidth of those cards is horrible?


I've done the reverse (replaced a directly soldered chip with a socket :-). As far as why use an ISA card, if you read the topic from the start, you'll see why that came up ...

Roger

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby lp » Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:02 pm

Roger,

I have heard back from Ozk, and it's with a heavy heart that I must inform you that Axel Gehringer was the one who fixed his Hades some time ago. He passed away back in 2007, at 40 years of age. Sad news indeed. :cry:

Ozk and myself think your best course of action would probably be to e-mail Fredi at Medusa and see if he is willing to work on it, if it comes to that.

simbo

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby simbo » Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:13 am

if nothing happens then checking clocks are running is a good idea
followed by the chipsets power at various areas
and reset vectors incase some TTL or other reset component has failed
unplugging everything except the video is a good idea
you can use a scope or frequency counter to check clocks ...

anodyne
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby anodyne » Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:38 pm

simbo wrote:if nothing happens then checking clocks are running is a good idea
followed by the chipsets power at various areas
and reset vectors incase some TTL or other reset component has failed
unplugging everything except the video is a good idea
you can use a scope or frequency counter to check clocks ...


Good suggestions! I'm sure I can figure out some points to check clocks, but I'll have to find someone with a scope. Any suggestions as to a minimum spec for a suitable scope? Are the various advertised digital scopes any good?

I'm not sure what you mean by checking reset vectors ... do you mean reset signals to various chips such as CPU?

Thanks again,
Roger

simbo

Re: Help wanted for broken Hades

Postby simbo » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:44 pm

yes vectors are dimentions in time of events or multiple events
in this case the reset period and signals at boot time
they must be correct or the chipset will fail to init and runup etc

as for scopes to use any scope like a 20mhz type is sutible it will measure to about 40mhz but with some attentuation to signals
you just need to check basic clocks and buffered outputs are there
i use here a 60mhz philips it works to about 140mhz with a visible signal
but 60mhz is all its calibrated to ...{3db point}


Social Media

     

Return to “Hades / Milan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest