68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: 68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

Postby Rustynutt » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:23 pm

The flash for the MB? Don't mean for the 060 upgrade.
Good to know it will still boot in 040 mode.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: 68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

Postby PeterS » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:45 pm


Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: 68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

Postby Rustynutt » Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:27 pm

Yes, that's the early information I read about the flash. Michael said there is no way to tell what package is on the board. I have the box to do so, guess then I could check file sizes.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: 68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Oct 24, 2018 1:14 pm

Peter, have you tried running the CPU (060) 3x the bus speed? We know the 060 easily can be over clocked to say 60 to 75mHz.. I guess then more IC's should be reviewed.

Was thinking of daisy chaining two
https://www.digchip.com/datasheets/part ... DW-pdf.php

The 926 can also output an inverted clock, which could be tested with the Falcon SDMA issues. It keeps a very tight spec on all clock outputs. Going to test this idea soon.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: 68040 40Mhz Upgrade on Milan

Postby PeterS » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:17 pm

My hardware skills don't stretch that far.

I am not 100% exactly what flavour of 68060 I have in the Milan.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hades / Milan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests