In what format do you record a screenshot?

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:00 am

Current plan is to remove FreeImage support from the D3D build of Steem SSE to make it thinner.

This build would support: BMP, JPG, PNG, NEO.

With FreeImage, you have more choices (TIFF, PPM...) and quality options for JPG.

The DirectDraw build would still support FreeImage.

My guess is that PNG should be the preferred format, but one always gets surprised by what people use.

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby Cyprian » Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:57 am

BMP, JPG, PNG, NEO are fine for me
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2797
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:03 am

I save normally in BMP, what is default format, I guess. If need some other format I convert it with some paint SW. So, version without FreeImage is fine for me.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby Cogweasel » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:58 am

I pretty much stick to PNG, but NEO and JPG can be useful at times also... and it's always nice to have JPG quality settings :)

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby Brume » Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:25 pm

All shoots on Stonish.net are done with Steem in PNG format.

Also I guess Demozoo does the same (Lotek, please confirm ;) ).

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:27 pm

PNG is the most sensible choice, BMP comes next. JPG is useless for Atari ST shots as it looses clear pixel information.

*EDIT* Small spelling corrections...
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: In what format do you record a screenshot?

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:05 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:PNG is the must sensible choice, BMP comes next. JPG is useless for Atari ST shots as it loose clear pixel information.


+1 to what Simon Sunny boy say.
and also NEO.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest