Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:44 pm

Don't know about that. It seems multiples of 8mhz are fine, but not in between.
It also happens with v3.9.1, and it doesn't happen with the BIG demo, for example.
Needs more investigations but it's no bug specific to the alternative YM emu.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:24 pm

my play routine use mfp 68901 "Timer A" interrupt, and it say c2 68901/ym2149 in the options. so maybe something wrong there?
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:33 pm

I looked at it and it's an old problem in Steem, not SSE-specific.
MFP prescales (4, 10...) are multiplied by new speed/8mhz with rounding when CPU is boosted, so it gets very imprecise except when it's 2* (16mhz), 3*, etc.
It's been fixed, thx for the report.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:10 pm

you are so welcome, and thx for your continue support for STeem:
I let you know if i find more fun(work) for you :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:27 pm

ok i am very sorry to bother you again.

two things sound in my slide program is still wrong, the envelope is still mess up.
and after you change the other thing my sound routine play to slow,

i have found out why, 2 raster line before it hits overscan i pause TimerA so it not interfere with the overscan, and let it continue after, if i removed the pause, it play in normal speed. but sometime mess up the overscan
it work perfectly before and also on real hardware.
the envelope also work before the last version.

i am really sorry to cause all these problems.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:27 pm

Nah, I'm sorry to upload buggy betas!
And for having poor ears, i didn't hear the music was too slow. :(
I uploaded yet another version for you to try...

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:49 am

Steven Seagal wrote:Nah, I'm sorry to upload buggy betas!
And for having poor ears, i didn't hear the music was too slow. :(
I uploaded yet another version for you to try...


Hi It is me again :D
good news now the speed is correct
bad new now the sound mess up over 40mhz.
there are also still error with the sound chip envelope where it either play an octave to high or remove the
sound. but it not so often anymore and it is harder to trigger.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g4y8mjmb5j50p ... d.avi?dl=0
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:23 pm

Above 40mhz, I noticed it made Steem hang in previous versions.
While debugging the previous bug I inserted another bug. :)
But normally, it only had effect above 8mhz.
Do you have envelope error at 8mhz? (please try the new beta...)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:06 pm

I will , but I am first home agani later. The funny thing is whet the error came, I actual fixed the output sound by speeding up the emulator to over 40mhz.

Btw yes it is a classics when remove one error. You replace it with two new ones :lol:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:08 pm

I started the latest beta, and it start with out buzzer or wrong envelope data...
not to sound stupid, are you sure that you initials all sound chip data?
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:30 am

Steem SSE 3.9.2
Two bugs with Extended Monitor "Machine --> Monitor --> Extended Monitor" :
- When I use options "Color" / "Monochrome" are removed from a dropdown list.
- "Take Screenshot" saves always rescaled to 320x200 pictures for Extended Monitor
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1982
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:28 am

Cyprian wrote:Steem SSE 3.9.2
Two bugs with Extended Monitor "Machine --> Monitor --> Extended Monitor" :
- When I use options "Color" / "Monochrome" are removed from a dropdown list.
- "Take Screenshot" saves always rescaled to 320x200 pictures for Extended Monitor


Hi
I couldn't reproduce any of this, could you do a more precise report (which build, etc.)
Thx

viewforum.php?f=112

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby npomarede » Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:16 pm

Hi
using latest 3.9.2 boiler version for windows 32 bit, I can't manage to output cpu trace in the log file : by default all componenents are selected in log and log2 menus, except cpu. But each time I click on cpu and click "run" from the boiler window, then "cpu" log is automatically unselected and the resulting log file never has any cpu traces (it just has log for video, sound, blitter, fdc, ...)

I known that it used to work in some previous version, but I can't say when it stopped working.
Or is there a specific action to do to have cpu traces in the log file ?

EDIT : it seems cpu traces might go into TRACE.txt and not steem.log ? But that's not very handy to see interactions between cpu and rest of the HW.

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:07 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:I couldn't reproduce any of this, could you do a more precise report (which build, etc.)

the latest 3.9.2:
Steem.SSE.3.9.2.Win64.D3D.zip, Steem.SSE.3.9.2.Win64.DD.zip, Steem.SSE.3.9.2.Win32.Debug.zip
See below both issues:
Steem392.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4858
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:57 pm

*Moderator note*. Locked, please add bug reports to the support subforum instead: viewforum.php?f=112
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest