Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:28 am

Hi
first of all many thx for the nice Christmas gift.

i think that i have found a error in STeem 3.9 every time that i minimize Steem. and after restore it again the screen is black,
the emulator sound like it still running fine, so i think that it have something to do with the direct draw.

(i am running Steem in a Windows)

STeem.zip
.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:21 pm

Hi,
Like they say, it works for me.
I know it's no excuse but please fill a report here instead:
viewforum.php?f=112
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:44 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:Hi,
Like they say, it works for me.
I know it's no excuse but please fill a report here instead:
viewforum.php?f=112


will do that in the futher..
there are also still something with the screen buffer things.
i will pm you instead of...
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2311
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby lotek_style » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:32 pm

How do I disable 'TRACE.txt' ?
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:04 pm

3.9.1:
Take Screenshot --> Copy to clipboard doesn't work.
And BMP files (Take Screenshot --> BMP) are not ok if SSE --> Interpolated scanlines is checked
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:52 am

Oops...
Thx, I'll fix that for the release.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

Zamuel_a
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Zamuel_a » Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:19 am

I have been using version 3.7.2 for a while without any problems. When I checked I saw that there were newer versions out so I tried the 3.9.0 but found a lot of bugs. I haven't checked with the versions between 3.7.2 - 3.9.0 so can't say were the errors first shows up.

some things I found was that:

sometimes after a savestate restore, the keyboard doesn't work anymore. Loading the savestate again fixes the problem. Also sometimes after a savestate restore the screen colors change. Was normal again after another restore.

The mouse/joystick port doesn't work properly. The mouse interfere with the signal so in a game that uses the mouseport the player can't be controlled. Then I moved the mouse around the player moves so that interfere. Didn't happen with the older versions.

Maybe someone else found similar bugs and can give more information about it?
ST / STFM / STE / Mega STE / Falcon / TT030 / Portfolio / 2600 / 7800 / Jaguar / 600xl / 130xe

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:13 pm

Zamuel_a wrote:The mouse/joystick port doesn't work properly. The mouse interfere with the signal so in a game that uses the mouseport the player can't be controlled. Then I moved the mouse around the player moves so that interfere. Didn't happen with the older versions.


Argh! When you move the mouse, it's normal behaviour, but when you press joystick 0 fire, Steem thinks you're using the mouse(option C1).
This shows how I test stuff: I could move the cursor in TNT so I thought OK, but didn't even try the fire button. :(
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:10 am

I noticed a big bug by myself, hopefully now fixed: the sound recording feature was totally broken, and for long! At least since v3.6.

Here's the current list, embarrassingly long:

v3.9.1 Bugfixes
_________________

- Option 'Fullscreen/Triple buffering' not updated.

- Microwire volume effect on PSG sound (Antiques).
To allow volume effects while avoiding clicks, Steem will adapt the
volume only progressively, this is not correct emulation, it's a compromise.

- CPU exception stack frame for MOVE <ea>,(xxx).L.

- TRACE.txt appearing in local directory when Steem launched by association.

- NVDI 5 failing to boot.

- BMP screenshot having wrong size with borders off (D3D).

- Screenshot having bad proportion with option 'Interpolated Scanlines' (D3D).

- Option 'Minimum Size Screenshots' not operating (D3D).

- Save screenshot to clipboard not operating (D3D).

- JPG quality option not operating (DD).

- Ports options messed up.

- Crash on deassociating Steem.

- On Screen Display centring in fullscreen mode, medium resolution, scanlines
(D3D).

- Strange triangle in crisp fullscreen mode with scanlines (D3D).

- Crisp fullscreen rendering in medium resolution (D3D).

- Fetching from wrong address in IO zone (White Spirit).

- Steem thinking you're using the mouse when pressing joystick 0 fire (TNT).

- Some potential CPU timing errors.

- Sound recording.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:17 pm

Desktop is blurred in Low resolution when the window is scaled to "Treble size" / "Quadruple size". I use them for my pixel coding things and would be cool to have also "no stretch" mode.

And in the Bolier the CPU Registers name and value is trimmed:
Steem_Debug_20170217.png


And the Boiler crash after Warm reset:
Steem_Debug_Crash_20170217.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:58 pm

note: I also detected and fixed a bug in Extended monitor.

Hi, are you talking of beta r556?

On my system, window stretch mode is crisp, also treble!
Notice that Steem authors coded assembly routines to display the no stretch mode, I'm not going into that.

Maybe you have strange fonts on your system? Is it a new problem, or with all versions? Display is fine here.

Could you maybe start the boiler, check log options Init and Shutdown, enable TRACE and log to see if Steem boiler reports something strange before it crashes?

EDIT: could you redownload the r556 debug build, I updated it?
There was a beta bug in drive sound I was circling around, it could be the reason.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:05 pm

yep, I've just downloaded R556 and Steem.SSE.3.9.1.Win64.DD shows me:
Steem_issue_20170218.png


Below scaling from R556 Boiler
"Treble size"
Steem_3_20170218.png


"Quadruple size"
Steem_4_20170218.png



Steven Seagal wrote:Could you maybe start the boiler, check log options Init and Shutdown, enable TRACE and log to see if Steem boiler reports something strange before it crashes?

ok, I'll check that
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:37 pm

Cyprian wrote:yep, I've just downloaded R556 and Steem.SSE.3.9.1.Win64.DD shows me:
Steem_issue_20170218.png


Yes, funny, isn't it? :)
When you leave I guess.

If you will I uploaded all builds again this time, except it's 558 instead of 556.

Below scaling from R556 Boiler
"Treble size"
Steem_3_20170218.png

"Quadruple size"
Steem_4_20170218.png


Yes, it depends on hardware visibly.
There could be a difference in fullscreen mode (that is, if it doesn't crash :)).
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:29 am

Hi.

i think i found an error in your new ym2149 system.

steem setup
Steem setting3.jpg


Steem setting4.jpg


Steem setting1.jpg


Steem setting2.jpg


what i does in my program is when setup as about, the buzzer sound don't come on, when i removed the sampled ym2149. the buzzer come on and then i set sampled ym2149 to true the buzzer go off, but aftersome time it start working. the program work on real hardware.

i will PM you my program.
sound test : changing between Sampled ym2149 on and off
https://www.dropbox.com/s/51e14mescvb1w ... t.mp3?dl=0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:10 pm

I'll check your program later but I can already say that switching this option is not the best idea, switching C2 on/off is a bit better to compare.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:13 pm

hi
the only reason why i switch it, was there was no buzzer in the C2/Sampled YM2149
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:30 pm

Hi.
There is a good and a bad news
the good news it now sound fine then the emulator run 8mhz
and the bad, is you change the emulator speed it really mess up.

see video
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kf50wops9kulo ... h.avi?dl=0


just one note, i don't think Steem have ever sounded better, when running at 8mhz...
so mega great good super fine excellent work
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:30 am

The good news about the bad news is that it's easy to fix.
Just wonder if I should. If you accelerate the CPU on an ST, doesn't the PSG accelerate too?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:58 am

Steven Seagal wrote:The good news about the bad news is that it's easy to fix.
Just wonder if I should. If you accelerate the CPU on an ST, doesn't the PSG accelerate too?

In my view it would ruin all. If you want to play a game that's heavy like eg. Elite 2 frontier. You can set the speed higher to get it to run more smoothly, or you want to emulate how it would run on a 16mhz mega ste .But if you consider it then please let be a optiones.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby npomarede » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:The good news about the bad news is that it's easy to fix.
Just wonder if I should. If you accelerate the CPU on an ST, doesn't the PSG accelerate too?

Not that I know ; the CPU has 8 MHz from a base 32 MHz clock and the PSG has 2 MHz from this same 32 MHz clock, so speeding up the cpu clock should not impact the PSG clock (same as it should not impact the 8 MHz FDC clock, else it would not be able to decode MFM).
In the case of the mega STE, you could also switch cpu to 16 MHz, but all other components kept their clocks (MFP, PSG, FDC, ...), so you get faster cpu, but sound is still OK.
Nicolas

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:23 pm

npomarede wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:The good news about the bad news is that it's easy to fix.
Just wonder if I should. If you accelerate the CPU on an ST, doesn't the PSG accelerate too?

Not that I know ; the CPU has 8 MHz from a base 32 MHz clock and the PSG has 2 MHz from this same 32 MHz clock, so speeding up the cpu clock should not impact the PSG clock (same as it should not impact the 8 MHz FDC clock, else it would not be able to decode MFM).
In the case of the mega STE, you could also switch cpu to 16 MHz, but all other components kept their clocks (MFP, PSG, FDC, ...), so you get faster cpu, but sound is still OK.
Nicolas

Thanks for explaining so much better that i could :)
edit: forgot something... then same applies to the mfp68901
Last edited by FedePede04 on Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:26 pm

double post
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2879
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby ijor » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:00 am

npomarede wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:The good news about the bad news is that it's easy to fix.
Just wonder if I should. If you accelerate the CPU on an ST, doesn't the PSG accelerate too?

Not that I know ; the CPU has 8 MHz from a base 32 MHz clock and the PSG has 2 MHz from this same 32 MHz clock, so speeding up the cpu clock should not impact the PSG clock (same as it should not impact the 8 MHz FDC clock, else it would not be able to decode MFM).
In the case of the mega STE, you could also switch cpu to 16 MHz, but all other components kept their clocks (MFP, PSG, FDC, ...), so you get faster cpu, but sound is still OK.


The ST and the STE have different clocking systems.

In the ST, the 2 MHz clock is produced by GLUE from the 8 MHz clock. So technically, if you double the 8 MHz clock, you double the PSG (and the FDC clock as well). Of course, you are not going to do that, but that's a different story.

In the STE both the PSG and the FDC clocks are produced by a separate 8 MHz crystal. So they are completely independent (and asynchronous).

Not sure this matter too much, obviously you don't want to accelerate the PSG regardless.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:56 am

Right, I changed that, I didn't know how it was on the Mega STE @16mhz.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.9 bug reports

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:24 pm

Still not there but a lot better.

8mhz 16mhz and up to 512mhz sound normal
it start to play slower from 9mhz to 14mhz.

Check video to see the problem.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zl0lzrq2moyfj ... d.avi?dl=0
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest