Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 8:07 pm

This is the thread where you report bugs found in Steem SSE 3.8
This version can be found here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse/
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EDIT

I don't like to play dictator but there have been some issues with bug reporting.
Here are the "rules", if they're not respected, the bug report will just be ignored from now on.

- All bug reports for v3.8 should be posted in this thread.
- Nothing else than bug reports for v3.8 should be posted in this thread.
- The answer should not be already in provided doc (manual, hints, bugs).
- Always mention the precise version (3.8.0, 3.8.1...).
- The bug report should contain at least ST model, TOS version and language, RAM size, monochrome/colour, disk options if enabled (ACSI or GEMDOS hard drive, Accurate disk access times, Read/Write archives, Pasti, Ghost disk, PRG/TOS), SSE page options if not enabled (Hacks, C1, C2).
You may also post a screenshot containing status info.
- The bug report should contain a link to the trouble program if available.
- The bug report should contain your version of Windows and whether some virtual machine (VM) is used.
- If the bug only happens with some display options, all relevant display options should be listed.
- The bug should be reproductible, that's why I ask for all this info. If I can't reproduce the bug, I can't and help.


EDIT2
please check this for future bug reports:
viewforum.php?f=112
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:07 pm

EDIT...nvm I forgot the dang pasti.dll again... :oops: I forget that everytime a new Steem comes out lol. (getting old)


EDIT 2...This is a great feature allowing ASCI and GEMDOS drives. It's going to make transfers and editing much easier! Thanks for it.

But even after setting up pasti.dll and enabling the ASCI hard drive, pressing the ASCI Hard Drives icon doesn't do anything. Is it supposed to pop-up a window or anything like the GEMDOS Hard Drive icon does?

Is there a way to set a mouse button to exit the emulation back to windows instead of F12 key? I would like to set the middle mouse button click as the trigger back to the host system.
Last edited by TheNameOfTheGame on Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:12 pm

Steem 3.7.1 let me select the MagiC rom, but 3.8 no longer shows it in the selection window.

Image

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:31 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Steem 3.7.1 let me select the MagiC rom, but 3.8 no longer shows it in the selection window.

Image


Yes, it's a "feature" of v3.7.2, restricting version between 1.00 and 4.10, so as to avoid identifying the IKBD rom as TOS.
I wasn't aware of MagiC rom. Is it freeware?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:37 pm

No, but I can send it to you if you want it. It uses the English patch from PPera. It works on 3.7.1 fine.

I boot with magic rom on real hardware and also in Steem 3.7.1. I never used 3.7.2 so I didn't realize the feature was added.

Here is 3.7.1 with MagiC in rom and using jinnee desktop so can it be added back to 3.8 please?

Image
Last edited by TheNameOfTheGame on Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:38 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:EDIT...nvm I forgot the dang pasti.dll again... :oops: I forget that everytime a new Steem comes out lol. (getting old)


This is a great feature allowing ASCI and GEMDOS drives. It's going to make transfers and editing much easier! Thanks for it.

But even after setting up pasti.dll and enabling the ASCI hard drive, pressing the ASCI Hard Drives icon doesn't do anything. Is it supposed to pop-up a window or anything like the GEMDOS Hard Drive icon does?


No, you don't need pasti.dll, that's the point.
It shouldn't be active when using the feature, but for the moment I don't see why a dialog box doesn't appear when clicking on the ACSI icon. It does with me.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:42 pm

Oh ok, well when I activate pasti.dll then I can access the ASCI drive as C and the GEMDOS as D. Transfer between them works fine in this way.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:46 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:No, but I can send it to you if you want it. It uses the English patch from PPera. It works on 3.7.1 fine.


I just #undefed the feature and reuploaded the file, it's still the release day. Please redownload
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:59 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
TheNameOfTheGame wrote:No, but I can send it to you if you want it. It uses the English patch from PPera. It works on 3.7.1 fine.


I just #undefed the feature and reuploaded the file, it's still the release day. Please redownload


Thank you. So I downloaded this new file and installed fresh. I selected TOS 1.04 just to set the system up, then I went to change the RAM and speed, etc. But I soon as I do a cold boot I get this message. Notice the TOS 1.04 is posted in the main window but I still get the incompatible message. Could it be picking something up from the 3.7.1 version or is it maybe that it sees the MAGIC rom now and for some reason posts the message even though I didn't select it? I keep all the versions in separate folders and do a clean install each new release I use.

Image

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:03 pm

Here, Steem is correct. TOS 1.04 is for STF, not STE.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:06 pm

Please check:
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem_380_coming_soon1.htm

to see how ACSI feature should work.
The icon should react to right and left click differently.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:11 pm

Ok, sorry about my mistake with the TOS version. The good news is I can get MagiC rom to boot now. The not so good news (but not unexpected) is the the GEMDOS drive cannot be access with this setup.

Image

But I can always boot into 1.04 to transfer files to/from the ASCI image and then boot into MagiC. In any case this makes things much easier when using a ASCI image. Thanks for the feature.

I'll have a look at the link you posted.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:25 pm

Hmm, yes I see what should happen on your link, but my installation doesn't do that. I'm not sure why.

P.S. you said on the link page that you are not sure if ICD emulation is necessary. Well, without it we can't have long filename support active under MagiC. Of course that is normally a small matter but I thought I'd mention it.

P.S.S I edited to my first post with "Is there a way to set a mouse button to exit the emulation back to windows instead of F12 key? I would like to set the middle mouse button click as the trigger back to the host system." You probably didn't see the edit and I know that is not a bug report, but is it possible to set a button to do this in 3.8?

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:34 pm

Is there a hint when you hover on the icon?
Does the HD icon appear on the status bar when right clicking?
Is it all dead?


I personally use middle mouse button to start/stop emu (shortcut), but maybe like ACSI it only works for me.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:46 pm

Yes hovering on GEMDISK icon, no message hovering on ASCI icon.

Hover on GEMDOS
Image

Hover on ASCI
Image

EDIT: Ok, configured the shortcut for the MMB = Toggle Emulation Start/Stop and now it works great. Thanks for the tip.
Last edited by TheNameOfTheGame on Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:09 am

I figured out by accident how to make the icon respond. For some reason, there is only a small strip of the icon that is clickable. It is normal for me to click the center of an icon so I didn't notice this immediately. Also my ASCI Hard Drive icon is shifted over into the area for Floppy Drive B's box. You can see the shift on the screenshot below and in the post above:

Image

Not sure why my clickable area is so narrow, but at least I can get it working now.

Using TOS 1.04 I can access both the ASCI drive and GEMDOS drive with pasti turned off.

Good stuff SS :cheers:

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:28 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Not sure why my clickable area is so narrow, but at least I can get it working now.


Because you create a new folder for each version, initial settings apply, including for the disk manager.
I'll make it a bit larger in next version.
Meanwhile, you may just resize it and it will work as it should, no big issue.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:33 pm

Duh, I never even thought to resize the disk manager. I thought it was a fixed size. I need to think more out of the box, so to speak. Thanks for the solution.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:25 pm

Actually it isn't stated in the manual, I'll add it, but there's a telling fullscreen button.
The disk manager is a great asset of Steem as done by Steem authors, and I made a point of correctly integrating ACSI emulation into it.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:14 pm

Not really a bug so please excuse me posting it in this thread but now with this great ASCI drive feature I am doing a lot of switching between TOS 1.04 and MagiC roms with ASCI and GEMDOS both active and am getting a lot of warnings boxes.

Image

Image

Would it be possible to have an option to turn these off after the first time showing the message? It slows down the work and get a little annoying (and it's only been one day haha) to have to click off the same message box over and over :wink:

could something like this nice little checkbox be added?

Image

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1292
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Cyprian » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:22 pm

+1
Also would be cool to have an option for messages like a Breakpoint, Activation, Interrupt etc. to see them in e.g statusbar instead of a dialogbox
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:23 pm

It's possible, but it's not as user friendly as a checkbox.
I quote the manual:

- TosVersionWarning

Steem checks TOS version for STF/STE compatibility and for better GEMDOS
hard drive emulation.
But some people use an exotic setup.
If you get sick of all those messages and think you know what you're doing,
you may add this in the [main] part of steem.ini:

TosVersionWarning=0
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:39 pm

Yes, thanks! I guess I should read the manual once haha. Ok, I'll post a MAGIC.ROM and basic HDD Image from PPera in the main Steem forum in case anyone wants to try it out. It's working very well.

fusionsynth
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby fusionsynth » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:59 pm

When using the C1 and/or C2 option in the SSE settings window i almost always lose mouse control. I tried several tos versions etc. The only way to get control back is unchecking these options and change TOS. As long as i leave them unchecked, i have control over the mouse pointer, otherwhise i can not move the mouse pointer anymore. (win7 PC)


edit: When i use the ALT key and the arrows on my keyboard, i can move the mouse pointer.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.8 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:56 am

1st post has been edited to add some "rules" for bug reporting.

edit: meanwhile, Dal created a subforum, so forget it, but is it possible to include some of those rules?
BTW maybe people will feel reluctant to attach steem.ini as it contains full paths.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest