Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:44 am

This is the thread were you report bugs in v3.7 of Steem, that will be released today.
I open it in advance so I can put the link in the release notes.
This will probably remain a one post thread :)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

grzeniu
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:45 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby grzeniu » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:31 pm

Thank you for the very long awaited release. I notice a small bug in the GUI. Volume slider in the Sound Menu is at min position and the sound has maximum volume when the emulator was run for the first time. Slider have to be moved to the right to correct this. Please fix it. Thanks.
__if technology is the answer, what was the question ?!
--
JIL ST mjuz:k @ gnu/linux -> http://www.atari.org.pl/stymulator

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:00 pm

There goes my prediction...

grzeniu wrote:Thank you for the very long awaited release. I notice a small bug in the GUI. Volume slider in the Sound Menu is at min position and the sound has maximum volume when the emulator was run for the first time. Slider have to be moved to the right to correct this. Please fix it. Thanks.


True but as you say it only happens the 1st time, no big issue. I think it was worse in v3.6.
It is because volume is logarithmic since v3.6, for a better control/feeling.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

Zamuel_a
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Zamuel_a » Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:37 pm

Will steem ever emulate the Falcon in the future? I prefer using it over Hatari so it had been nice, but maybe there would be to much work to make it happen.
ST / STFM / STE / Mega STE / Falcon / TT030 / Portfolio / 2600 / 7800 / Jaguar / 600xl / 130xe

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1172
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Stefan jL » Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:43 pm

Zamuel_a wrote:Will steem ever emulate the Falcon in the future? I prefer using it over Hatari so it had been nice, but maybe there would be to much work to make it happen.


Is that a "bug" :lol:


Clicking on "seek sound" seems to do nothing? Does it not need another seek.wav for it to work.. as there is only one in the zip?
Image

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:13 pm

Stefan jL wrote:
Clicking on "seek sound" seems to do nothing? Does it not need another seek.wav for it to work.. as there is only one in the zip?


No, it uses the step sound.
It doesn't work with pasti and capsimg because I have no access to each step during a seek if you see what I mean.
Also 'single sided' will not work with pasti.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

Zamuel_a
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Zamuel_a » Sat Feb 28, 2015 8:15 pm

Stefan jL wrote:
Zamuel_a wrote:Will steem ever emulate the Falcon in the future? I prefer using it over Hatari so it had been nice, but maybe there would be to much work to make it happen.


Is that a "bug" :lol:


Clicking on "seek sound" seems to do nothing? Does it not need another seek.wav for it to work.. as there is only one in the zip?


I just noticed after I post it that it might had been in the wrong thread, but maybe it could be considered a bug :wink:
ST / STFM / STE / Mega STE / Falcon / TT030 / Portfolio / 2600 / 7800 / Jaguar / 600xl / 130xe

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 28, 2015 8:30 pm

Falcon emulation is dealt with (summarily) in the FAQ:

Q:
Is support for Falcon planned?
A:
No. To me those machines, like the TT, have no interest.
Steem SSE is strictly STF/STE.
Atari supported Falcon only for a few months, and little software was
developed. Software was so specialised in audio it is very hard to emulate,
not to mention protections.
Now nothing keeps dedicated people from starting a Falcon branch of Steem.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4075
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Marcer » Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:49 am

HI

Just tried Maxymiser Live v1.33... 2mb version prg.. loaded a tune and pressed play.. 4 bombs..

tried different tunes.. crashes. not sure the issue..
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

Krakerman
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Krakerman » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:06 am

I have a 5 monitor setup on a nvidia gtx670 and gtx760 and when I run SSE 3.7 I get a blank white screen.

User avatar
Champions_2002
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 8:14 am
Location: Manchester England

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Champions_2002 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:57 am

When I take a screenshot in Steem my pictures turn out upside down and back to front if i am using FreeImage.dll.

It also did it in the last version

Example
Risk_00001.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
A member of Atari Legend & Atarimania ST & 7800 department

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby mOdmate » Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:28 pm

After starting Steem 3.7 on my Win7 machine, it asks for "D3DX9_43.dll". I copied this file to the Steem directory, but still Steem refuses to start (application error (0xc00007b)). I had no problem with previous Steem versions.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:52 pm

Thx for the reports, I'll check them. Please always be specific about config (STF/TOS...).
Some quick hints:
-Maybe copy d3d9.dll as well? Same problem with the nod3d build?
-Use last version of freeimage.dll?

Krakerman wrote:I have a 5 monitor setup on a nvidia gtx670 and gtx760 and when I run SSE 3.7 I get a blank white screen.

For example with this I can do nothing. Fullscreen problem? Same problem with v3.6? etc. And why run Steem on a 5 monitor setup??
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby mOdmate » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:06 pm

Ah, thanks for the hints. The No3D3 version works. But adding d3d9.dll does not help to get the main built running. Please define "older computers". :-)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:13 pm

mOdmate wrote:Ah, thanks for the hints. The No3D3 version works. But adding d3d9.dll does not help to get the main built running. Please define "older computers". :-)


Too bad, it did on another computer. At least we know it's a problem of D3D9 install.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4075
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Postby Marcer » Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:26 pm

The upside down screen shoot was also in 3.6.4..

User avatar
Champions_2002
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 8:14 am
Location: Manchester England

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Champions_2002 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:10 am

[quote="Steven Seagal"]Thx for the reports, I'll check them. Please always be specific about config (STF/TOS...).
Some quick hints:
-Maybe copy d3d9.dll as well? Same problem with the nod3d build?
-Use last version of freeimage.dll?

I have used Steem 3.7 and Marcer says 3.64 with tos 1.6, 1.4, & 1.62 with no other settings have been changed.
A member of Atari Legend & Atarimania ST & 7800 department

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:51 pm

Marcer wrote:HI

Just tried Maxymiser Live v1.33... 2mb version prg.. loaded a tune and pressed play.. 4 bombs..

tried different tunes.. crashes. not sure the issue..


I did the same and the tune played...

Champions_2002 wrote:I have used Steem 3.7 and Marcer says 3.64 with tos 1.6, 1.4, & 1.62 with no other settings have been changed.


It works fine with FreeImage v3.16.0, please update your software:
http://freeimage.sourceforge.net/download.html

Steven Seagal wrote:Too bad, it did on another computer. At least we know it's a problem of D3D9 install.


Apparently it's a common issue with many games, it's not a Steem bug, but the usual M$ confusion. I can't give better advice than google would.
Maybe reinstall Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package, or .Net Framwork 4.5.1...
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Champions_2002
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 8:14 am
Location: Manchester England

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Champions_2002 » Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:51 am

Thanks for that.
A member of Atari Legend & Atarimania ST & 7800 department

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby dma » Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:06 pm

When i got sound activated under STeemSSE (any sound output setting other than "mute" then), it makes my overall PC sound go all muffled when the emulation is running.

Is there something i could do about it?

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:45 am

dma wrote:When i got sound activated under STeemSSE (any sound output setting other than "mute" then), it makes my overall PC sound go all muffled when the emulation is running.

Is there something i could do about it?


This is the first report in that vein. Normally Steem only messes with its buffers.
What other sounds? Music?
Could you detail your other sound options?
Make sure option startup/never use directsound isn't checked
What sort of soudcard do you use?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby dma » Sun Mar 08, 2015 9:21 am

It's foobar mainly, playing some music yes.
The sound device is Realtek HD Audio, with the usual max quality settings in the device's "performance" setting tab of Windows sound configuration.

I tried the original STeem 3.2 build and the problem doesn't occurs on it.
Also the muffling is less pronounce with SSE 3.5.4 build (but still not clean).

"never use directsound" isn't checked.

It indeed seems to grab the global PC sound buffer and do something to it.
But it also occurs in "no filter" mode. The overall system sound is untouched only in total "mute" mode.

It also occurs with other Windows programs than foobar (video on smplayer, music on Renoise), and even on Windows sounds.

(i never noticed it before, as i usually use the emulator to actually compose or test some music - so without foobar playing in the back)

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby avtandil » Sun Mar 08, 2015 12:44 pm

Regarding compatibility with EMU TOS. (I posted this already in another thread, but seems that one was already closed).

As I have some free time now, I scrolled old related correspondence from 2010 and would like
to arise one old issue of STeem - way it emulates HDD.

The question history is like this:

When I started to work with creating of Russian version of EMUTOS, I
tested it and found that while running under STeem it gives an errors
like do not find some RSC-files while they are not in root folder of HDD.

MissingRSC.jpg


Also from Vincent Riviere I heard that EMUTOS has problem to load
*.ACC files.

FYI This error is not exist while running EMUTOS under Hatari or
AranyM and also not exist while running STeem with real TOS image.

Could you please check from your side ?

Petr Stehlik told that STeem uses some hack of TOS image, while that
image is already loaded to the program memory (so original TOS file is
stayed unchanged)...

As EMU TOS project is growing, it would be nice to have EMU TOS images
also working with STeem - for me STeem is remaining most convenient
emulator, especially after MIDI was implemented here.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby avtandil » Sun Mar 08, 2015 12:48 pm

Dear Steven !

Digging a bit with latest SSE edition I found following:

1. For all types of machines 14 MB RAM is not working. It was still
working on 3.5.4, but starting from VC9 - 301 stopped.

2. In Links window link for TeraDesk is missing
http://solair.eunet.rs/~vdjole/teradesk.htm - I suppose this
shell deserve to be mentioned.
While MALEB site http://atari.scum.org/ is posted 2 times.

3. I mentioned your work on my web-site. But I didn't find any button,
did you ever think to create one ? Meanwhile I'm using small Fuji
symbol on your Links page.

4. I found also that after some crashes (for ex. regarding 14MB RAM), SSE
automatically tick the option 'Disable all hard drives' and they are
not coming respectively...

I suppose that this should be user's choice in case of troubleshooting
- to disable HDD or not, how do you think ?

Brgds

Dima-

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE 3.7 bug reports

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 08, 2015 6:36 pm

avtandil wrote:1. For all types of machines 14 MB RAM is not working. It was still
working on 3.5.4, but starting from VC9 - 301 stopped.


Yep, that's a bug, will be fixed, thx for the report.

avtandil wrote:2. In Links window link for TeraDesk is missing
http://solair.eunet.rs/~vdjole/teradesk.htm - I suppose this
shell deserve to be mentioned.
While MALEB site http://atari.scum.org/ is posted 2 times.


It's part of file steem.new, included in the download.
I suppose a lot of that is outdated.
I'll add TeraDesk.
But I see MALEB only once.

I had seen your other post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest