STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11141
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Mug UK » Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:37 pm

I've set up the latest one as the same error was happening in v3.60. I recently updated my PC to Windows 8.1 (running on an AMD Octa-core, 16gb of RAM and a 2Gb graphics card). That *should* be enough power to run STEEM SSE :)

However I cannot get it to boot up using my old STEEM h/drive folders inside my ST folder (on the root of C:). I have three of them: C: = C:\ST\drive_c, D: = C:\ST\drive_d and, oddly enough, E: = C:\ST\drive_e.

I can boot up floppy disk images without any hassles but as soon as I tell it to boot from the HD, it resets and goes into a "boot up, then die" loop.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1688
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:41 pm

First question is, does it happen with other versions of Steem, like 3.2?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11141
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Mug UK » Mon Oct 06, 2014 9:09 pm

v3.6.0 was working fine (normal & boilerplate) on my old Windows 7 PC. But that went to the scrapyard and I got this machine as a replacement.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1688
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:05 pm

You know, I could debug this but not blindly.
I ask if it happens with v3.2 or older SSE so we know if it's a regression or not.
One other thing you could do is use the Boiler version of Steem, check log options 'Gemdos', 'Init' and look into TRACE.txt, steem.log for error messages.
As usual, try ST type, TOS version, hacks or not etc. and maybe check admin rights of your hd folders and test an apart fresh install of Steem.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11141
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Mug UK » Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:15 pm

Ok will do.

Sent by my Note III
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11141
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: STEEM SSE v3.6.4 - doesn't like my "hard drives"

Postby Mug UK » Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:43 pm

I had a mess around with the settings and it would keep giving me 3 bombs once the memory test had completed (or I skipped past it).

Until, that is, I either switched off the option to "boot to C: if drive A: is empty" or was it because I also switched PASTI back on .. anyway, SSE 3.64 now works OK. So I'm not sure which fix worked. I'll have another play tomorrow night and see if I can work out which option caused it to work once more (TOS v2.06, 2MB of RAM and my three h/d "partitions").

I kept the TRACE.TXT file from my messing around with a few settings under SEE Boilerplate 3.63 in case you need them for checking out.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest