Feature Requests for STeem

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Cyprian » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:31 pm

interesting question because Steem offers full 14MB memory.

Usually ST chips (beside BLiTTER) don't support 24bit address range and they see only $0 to $3fffff address range.
What will happen when I set ram to 14MB? Does Shifter/SoundDMA/DMA will see full 24bit address space?
What about "_FBR" cookie and MxAlloc?
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:11 pm

In one version I restricted video RAM to 4 MB, then the 14MB hack didn't work anymore and there were complaints, so I reversed that.
As far as I'm concerned, this is not real emulation but just a convenience/hack, just like extended resolutions, if it was just me it wouldn't exist, because it's "out of scope" but people use those features and like them, so let it be.

[edit 3 times "just"!]
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Not sure if this is a feature or not but in the old STEEM it was entirely possible to run the emulator, without ever leaving fullscreen, the menus for images and options would just overlay..
Is this going to feature in any future updates?
It would be nice to have SSE running at full screen without having to switch in and out all the time.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:44 pm

It was possible with DirectDraw fullscreen, and it still is, but for Direct3D fullscreen, Micro$oft stupidly removed the API functions, and you're supposed to draw everything yourself, like games do, otherwise it's hit and miss. I tried but results were bad and depended on the computer. Just like DirectDraw fullscreen in fact.
I know it would be cool, but this way at least it works without adding tons of code.
Hint: test if DirectDraw still works for you.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:38 am

Unfort DirectDraw doesnt work for me :( I only seem to get a Black display in fullscreen, even pressing Pause/Break doesnt show any menus or items and usually have to Ctrl/Alt/Del my way out.

It def works on Windows XP so something changed, i now use Win10. Even the old 3.2 doesnt work on Win10 .. but there must be a way, im sorry to say this lol and it seems a little strange but WinUAE must use some other kind of system, maybe check out their source to see what they did? I know amiga ;) yadayada :P

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:24 am

Do you mean that in WinUAE DirectDraw fullscreen works, but not in Steem, on the same PC+OS?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sun Jan 10, 2016 10:44 am

WinUAE works in DirectDraw mode at fullscreen 1080p in Windows 10 (For me!?) and allows the menus to be overlayed when F12 is pressed without dropping out of fullscreen or crashing Win10.

I dont want you to think for one second that I'm picking and if you do feel like that then I am sorry!

I can only go on what I've experienced, it might be that others experience diff things ;)

I effin Love SteemSSE .. ;) perhaps ive just become so used to the system on WinXP back in the day ;)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:11 am

Yes if DirectDraw works, the GUI will work too.
What you could try, if not already done, is change drawing mode option (flip etc.) because sometimes some work, others not.
I don't plan on adding D3D fullscreen GUI yet. What I could do before that is D3D windowed rendering.


As for the picking, well you know it's a dangerous game with some martial artists... :cool:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIZsazaQick
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:49 pm

Not even going there lol...

No changes in the way the screen display is done works for me :(
Meh, i'll wait for the d3d changes you implement or dont ;)
up to you :P

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:18 pm

EstTeeEfEm wrote:Not even going there lol...


If you go to Russia, you could meet... Ruslan.
He just can't resist a good knife fight after some stretching.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_cKAadvooQ (NSFW)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

darkhog
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:05 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby darkhog » Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:39 pm

You should add PC Qwerty mapping. I hate to guess which key to press to put in character I want. Like @ vs. " (quote) or inability to put in \, because there's # and ~ there instead.

emodel
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:41 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby emodel » Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:09 am

Steven Seagal wrote:"Interpolated scanlines" are not a real filter but a hack mixing "stretch" mode and Steem's scanlines.
Now that D3D fullscreen is available, maybe it's not hard to add filters?
I note this request for after v3.8.0 and will look at how WinUAE does that.


Yeah, Winuae overlays are really a great way to filter the image, that would be amazing !

darkhog
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:05 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby darkhog » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:24 am

There are two things I liked about HATARI that Steem doesn't have. Both were AFAIK done via TOS hacks, but were nice to have nevertheless.

First one was mouse scroll support for scrolling through GEM windows. Also you could open file by middle clicking it.

Second one was VirtualBox-style focus detector. This didn't work too well so either code was botched or it didn't use TOS hack for that. As for the feature, what I mean is auto mouse snap when it gets inside emulator window and automatic unsnap when user tries to move mouse to the host.

Would love to see both in Steem.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:04 am

In continuation of the bug reports problem, I'd like a single thread for features request for Steem SSE.
Sometimes it's not even clear the requester is aware of the SSE version.
Alas I can't edit 1st post of this one sticky thread because I'm not the author.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby MiggyMog » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:09 pm

Apologies if it has been suggested before but it would be neat if audio /video input and output cartridges and adaptors which were available for the ST could be emulated. So that for example the microphone / line audio input of the host computer could be mapped to the address on the cartridge port, or screen/ video capture / file could be mapped to cartridge address used by a video digitiser.

Why would you want this you may ask when there are now better ways? well if the software is emulated it would be nice to emulate this side too so that you could play with the software.

E.G. for replay, stereo master, vidi st etc. Emulation for playback cartridge, Monster sound Cart, MV16. etc
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Cyprian » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:29 pm

+1
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Tue Apr 05, 2016 4:53 pm

There is a cool thread by dml showing his 8-way scrolling system which doesn't work on SSE at the moment.

Would be good to have support for this technique in future versions. :cheers:

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=29615&start=50

joefish
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:15 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby joefish » Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:03 pm

Is there a way of making STEEM emulate a standard STFM, rather than an STE? Presumably changing the ROM and turning the blitter off isn't enough?

I notice, for instance, that NEOChrome Master Edition offers 12-bit colour settings rather than 9-bit. Is it detecting something about the system and saying to itself 'Ah-ha! You're an STE!'?

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:02 pm

joefish wrote:Is there a way of making STEEM emulate a standard STFM, rather than an STE? Presumably changing the ROM and turning the blitter off isn't enough?

I notice, for instance, that NEOChrome Master Edition offers 12-bit colour settings rather than 9-bit. Is it detecting something about the system and saying to itself 'Ah-ha! You're an STE!'?


Under "Machine->ST Model" of the Options dialog you can set the machine type to STF.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:40 am

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:There is a cool thread by dml showing his 8-way scrolling system which doesn't work on SSE at the moment.

Would be good to have support for this technique in future versions. :cheers:

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=29615&start=50


The technique itself is already supported in Steem SSE (bee shift and scroll by ljbk).
The crash is unrelated.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:07 am

EstTeeEfEm wrote:Unfort DirectDraw doesnt work for me :( I only seem to get a Black display in fullscreen, even pressing Pause/Break doesnt show any menus or items and usually have to Ctrl/Alt/Del my way out.

It def works on Windows XP so something changed, i now use Win10. Even the old 3.2 doesnt work on Win10 .. but there must be a way, im sorry to say this lol and it seems a little strange but WinUAE must use some other kind of system, maybe check out their source to see what they did? I know amiga ;) yadayada :P


Nah, I have an Amiga. It's in the box though. :)

I finally checked a recent version of WinUAE and yes it works. But now I know why.
1) The GUI is done differently, it's a Dialog box and emulation happens in another window. In Steem, that's in the same window, and we want to keep it that way (right?), so GUI in fullscreen is harder (poorly supported by M$).
2) Good news, fullscreen will work again with DirectDraw too. It fails on modern systems, including mine, because some video card drivers don't support 16bit anymore. Just switching to 32bit fixes it.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

joefish
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:15 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby joefish » Wed Apr 06, 2016 9:47 am

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Under "Machine->ST Model" of the Options dialog you can set the machine type to STF.

Ah, yes, I see now that not only is this option quite well hidden, but the forked versions of STEEM that actually have this function are extraordinarily well hidden...

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:07 am

This has been recently discussed. I thought the extraordinary gravity force due to my ego would draw all emulator fans to the Steem SSE site (see my signature), but google thinks otherwise.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat May 14, 2016 5:52 pm

emodel wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:"Interpolated scanlines" are not a real filter but a hack mixing "stretch" mode and Steem's scanlines.
Now that D3D fullscreen is available, maybe it's not hard to add filters?
I note this request for after v3.8.0 and will look at how WinUAE does that.


Yeah, Winuae overlays are really a great way to filter the image, that would be amazing !


I checked how WinUAE does it, it's quite complex, using shaders and all.
Of course I could imitate, but the results...
winuae_PAL.png

PAL preset; fullscreen not much better

Are filters that great? It seems we're limited by our current LED screen technology (also for refresh rate).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:32 pm

Ok, My STEEM Setup before my request ;)
STEEM SSE Vers 3.8.1 and Boiler Version 3.7.2
TOS 1.62 Both UK and US
1/4 mb

Does the Jagpad code interfere with the keyboard? I wrote my own routines to control the jagpad and it does have some effect on the ACIA and more than this, can be seen to "press" keys lol...
Another example of this would be the game Substation whereby pressing up ALSO presses another key on the keyboard.
I use an XBox 360 controller and all other "joystick" functions are unused. I dont use my PC keyboard for jaguar input, solely the XBox pad, so i know its not an issue regarding poor key mapping lol.

imho, I dont think the multiplexing system that the jaguar pads use has been fully or properly implemented and could we have it implemented lol.. Im not picking, I think having STEEM SSE is fantastic in every otherway, except maybe due to win10 breaking fullscreen lol.

I refer to this document myself: it is by far the most indepth analysis of the STE enhanced ports.

http://www.compsoc.man.ac.uk/~xav/ejp_faq.090

Thank you for your continued work on STEEM SSE, and long may it continue ;)


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest