Feature Requests for STeem

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
bjjones37
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:11 pm
Location: USA

Feature Requests for STeem

Postby bjjones37 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 2:43 pm

I posted this elsewhere. I guess I should have put it here.

This is a feature request. I have several parallel installs of STeem SSE with different TOSes and emulating different machines. I would like to be able to make an entry in the steem.ini file that would rename the title bar from "STeem SSE 3.6.4" to "Mega ST4" or Mega STE" or something similar. That way It would be easy to discern which was which when I had more than one running simultaneously. Or when I had one open for awhile and could not remember which it was. Could this be implemented?

Additionally

Is it possible to mount two Pasti HDD images at the same time?
I am using the 1G ACSI images and they work great but it would be much easier if I could mount two at the same time.

And can the option to use Pasti only for STX images be configured to leave the hard drive HDD image enabled?
I have floppy images that Pasti cannot read (902K, 1.44M, etc) that I would like to be able to use with the Pasti HDD image.
Courtesy is not an option.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:59 pm

Hi
I'll keep those requests someplace, but right now I don't know if any of this is possible.
I thought HDD emu wasn't affected by option 'Pasti only for STX'.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
bjjones37
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:11 pm
Location: USA

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby bjjones37 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:43 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:Hi
I thought HDD emu wasn't affected by option 'Pasti only for STX'.


I just confirmed it. When I enable the option, I lose access to my hard drive image. However the mounted Windows filesystems do still work.

BTW, I always thought that STeem was a wonderful product, but I particularly like the enhancements you have added to it! Thank you for your efforts.
Courtesy is not an option.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:54 pm

I can reproduce this...
Argh! Then it's a bug. It worked in v3.6.0 but I somehow broke it in v3.6.4.
Will fix it again for v3.7.
Thx for reporting.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

Triads
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:22 am

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Triads » Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:58 pm

Is there a way to incorporate Telnet functionality to the Serial port(s).. For those of use wanting to reanimate our ST BBS's? Or even dial out to other Telnet BBS's. I know there are ways of using a virtual modem, or even real hardware like LanTronix, I would just like to be able to Telnet to Steem and cut out all the middle men.

Thanks

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:38 pm

bjjones37 wrote:I posted this elsewhere. I guess I should have put it here.

This is a feature request. I have several parallel installs of STeem SSE with different TOSes and emulating different machines. I would like to be able to make an entry in the steem.ini file that would rename the title bar from "STeem SSE 3.6.4" to "Mega ST4" or Mega STE" or something similar. That way It would be easy to discern which was which when I had more than one running simultaneously. Or when I had one open for awhile and could not remember which it was. Could this be implemented?


This will be in v3.7.

INI file options
_________________

WindowTitle

You can change the name that is displayed as window title and in the task bar
by adding a line in the [main] part of steem.ini, for example:
WindowTitle=Steem SSE teh best
It is useful if you mean to run several specialised instances, each in its
own folder.
Limitation: mustn't be longer than 20 characters.


Additionally

Is it possible to mount two Pasti HDD images at the same time?
I am using the 1G ACSI images and they work great but it would be much easier if I could mount two at the same time.


I think it isn't up to Steem but to pasti.dll.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:08 pm

Triads wrote:Is there a way to incorporate Telnet functionality to the Serial port(s).. For those of use wanting to reanimate our ST BBS's? Or even dial out to other Telnet BBS's. I know there are ways of using a virtual modem, or even real hardware like LanTronix, I would just like to be able to Telnet to Steem and cut out all the middle men.

Thanks


On the contrary I favour middle men when it's possible to keep Steem itself lean.
For example, Steem uses dlls like capsimg, pasti, unrar, ... for this feature it would be appropriate as well.
There are solutions, mostly commercial though, and that's the real problem.
I found those free utilities:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/com0com/
http://astrogeeks.com/AstroGeeks/COM2TCP/download.html

You would create a virtual COM port, connect it to the internet, and assign it to Steem.
But maybe it's missing the virtual modem?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby wietze » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:22 pm

With regards to snapshots;

would it be possible to add the feature to the shortcuts to load a specific filename for snapshot.

E.g. load snapshot `thissnapshot.sts', instead only the last snapshot.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:28 pm

wietze wrote:With regards to snapshots;

would it be possible to add the feature to the shortcuts to load a specific filename for snapshot.

E.g. load snapshot `thissnapshot.sts', instead only the last snapshot.


Would you be happy with a (single) snapshot specified in ini file?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby wietze » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:36 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
wietze wrote:With regards to snapshots;

would it be possible to add the feature to the shortcuts to load a specific filename for snapshot.

E.g. load snapshot `thissnapshot.sts', instead only the last snapshot.


Would you be happy with a (single) snapshot specified in ini file?


As long as it is in addition to the `last' snapshot, that would work for me ;)

User avatar
Eraph
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:46 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Eraph » Sat May 16, 2015 4:52 am

G'day, folks. Firstly I'd like to say what an outstanding job you're doing on STeem SSE, love it to pieces. Just wish I'd kept all my old ST disks!
Anyway, feature request! Fullscreen works brilliantly in Windows 8.1 using Direct3D, but doesn't work at all without it. That's fine, but would it be possible to add an option to disable smoothing? Me, I like them big blocky pixels.

Cheers!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat May 16, 2015 10:14 am

Welcome to the forum!
The most important thing is that fullscreen works on your system, despite directdraw not working.
Mission accomplished.
I may add options in the future, but it's important to keep it simple too.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun May 17, 2015 9:21 am

You got it kid!

steem372_full_filtered.png

1st screenshot is current D3D fullscreen, filtered
The big STEEM SSE logo shows that technically the method used is "stretch"



steem372_full_crisp.png

2nd screenshot is future optional D3D full, crisp with big pixels.
Same big logo, same method, but DirectX instructed not to "antialias".
You may notice the screen's a bit smaller than 1st screen. It's rounded down to 3x instead of 3.3333x in this case.



steem372_full_bad.png

It's because otherwise ugly artefacts appear as in 3rd screenshot.

important note: if screenshots are resized by forum software, rendering isn't faithful. Download the pics.
The hard part will be to change the options for that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
Eraph
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:46 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Eraph » Mon May 18, 2015 9:44 am

Nice one mate, that's perfect. Looking forward to seeing it in a release! :cheers:

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat May 23, 2015 8:29 am

That was easy, like I said the harder part is fitting the option:
optiond3d_crisp.png

First I thought of a toggle with "ST aspect ratio", but that restricts choice.
If you check both options, picture will not be perfect.
Don't forget there's also ''Interpolated scanlines" on the SSE page (it is there because it also works with windows).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
bjjones37
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:11 pm
Location: USA

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby bjjones37 » Sun May 24, 2015 1:02 am

Thanks for implementing the Title Bar, that has really come in handy.

I am curious about something. I have GamebaseST installed on both my WinXP desktop and my Win81 laptop. I use STeem for emulation and I found that while everything works just fine on WinXP, almost nothing works on Win81. For example, I tried SainT 1.61, 1.99, 2.00, 2.14, 2.21, 2.31 and STeem 3.1, 3.2, 3.30, 3.41, 3,54, 3.64, and 3.71 under GBST and the only three that actually worked were STeem SSE 3.64 and STeem 3.2 and 3.1. I kind of wondered what was special about 3.64 that made it work (thank goodness it did) when I call it from GBST under Windows 8.1.

Just to clarify, they all work fine as standalone programs under Win81.
Courtesy is not an option.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun May 24, 2015 9:11 am

I don't have Win 8.1, so it's tough.
Could you check other versions, 3.6.x and 3.7.0?
When it doesn't work, what precisely happens?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
bjjones37
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 1:11 pm
Location: USA

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby bjjones37 » Sun May 24, 2015 12:40 pm

Okay, I tested STeem versions 3.1, 3.2, 3.30, 3.40, 3.41, 3.50, 3.51, 3.52, 3.53, 3.54, 3.60, 3.61, 3.62, 3.63, 3.64, 3.70, and 3.71.

Of these, 3.1, 3.2, 3.52, 3.60, and 3.64 worked.

The remainder gave the message "There was and error running the following program:". Then it lists the path and filename.

I created a gemus.dat file on my XP computer and used it with the setup wizard to configure the emulators on the laptop so I know they are set up properly.
Courtesy is not an option.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:49 pm

Not sure if this is the right place?
I want to talk about Steem SSE 3.8 but could not find the place where to discuss?

You are saying that support of ACSI by Pasti has limitations. What limitations are you talking about?
I have been using ACSI with Pasti for a long time and the only limitation I am aware of is the max size of the disk.
I cant remember if it is 1 or 4 GB?

If you are doing ACSI support by far the most important feature (beyond basic support) is the support of the ICD extensions.
Pasti supports the ICD extension correctly with the caveat of the size of the drive being limited.

So just want to make sure you will support ACSI with ICD extension and with "ICD size limit"

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2386
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:32 am

DrCoolZic wrote:Not sure if this is the right place?
I want to talk about Steem SSE 3.8 but could not find the place where to discuss?

You are saying that support of ACSI by Pasti has limitations. What limitations are you talking about?
I have been using ACSI with Pasti for a long time and the only limitation I am aware of is the max size of the disk.
I cant remember if it is 1 or 4 GB?

If you are doing ACSI support by far the most important feature (beyond basic support) is the support of the ICD extensions.
Pasti supports the ICD extension correctly with the caveat of the size of the drive being limited.

So just want to make sure you will support ACSI with ICD extension and with "ICD size limit"


Pasti has only very limited, not usable ICD extension support - for instance read10 command works not . And it means that 1 GB is max usable image size. Then, there is support for only 1 ACSI target, and transfer speed is very high on newer PCs, and no accurate speed mode.
Just to add here that Hatari's ICD support is limited too, so some commands/functions necessary for hot swap are not emulated. Image size in Windows is practically limited to 2 GB because 32-bit file access code.
I guess that basic ICD would be fine for start, what can be improved by time. That will make usage easier than with Pasti.
I'm not against GMO, I'm against that children play with fire.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:49 am

I thought ICD support was better. I new about the 1GB limit as well as one drive but thought read10 was working correctly (apart from 1gb limit).
I do not have time to make tests now

Another reason why Steem SSE should do a good job in fully supporting ICD extension (should not be a big deal apart from lack of documentation but I am sure you can help in this area. Another expert is Jookie as he fully implement ICD extension.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:46 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:Not sure if this is the right place?
I want to talk about Steem SSE 3.8 but could not find the place where to discuss?


This or a new 'ACSI' thread was fine.
There's already a brag page on my site because I was first going to add it to v3.7.2, but it's beter to save such new feature for a major version.
This is "ACSI" only, so no SCSI, no IDE, no "ICD" emulation, not sure those are necessary.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Jul 10, 2015 7:59 pm

Not sure what you mean by ICD emulation?
What is needed is that your ACSI support the few commands added by ICD. It is not a big deal but a must to support large drive

ssj
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby ssj » Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:00 am

Would it be possible to allow window manual resizing to the emulator? I'm trying to run the emulator with some bezels on its sides and as it is the emulator window is always too small on my monitor and even by setting it to quadruple size is still not large enough.

I'm also having an issue when I have a HDD mounted where I keep getting a warning message stating GEMDOS HDD emulation works better with TOS 1.04 or 1.62, I've been warned :)... but is there any way to disable this dialog to popup?

Thanks for all your work on this, ST emulation is just getting better and better!

RikusMaximus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:51 pm

Re: Feature Requests for STeem

Postby RikusMaximus » Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:22 pm

HELLO!
Love Steem SSE and really glad to see its development continue.
I have some requests for you...
1: Ability to map any Atari ST keyboard keycode to a any joystick button. Example of this could be mapping spacebar to 360 controllers Y button for using the special attack in Turrican.
2: Option to have per game controller configs. I imagine these would work much like the Patch files. This is however much bigger task due to the amount of design to get the menus making sense and allowing a default configuration or several controller profiles easy to select etc etc etc

This is probably not the place but I would like to mention I had a go at compiling the Steem SSE source and run into some issues like :
Steem\code\SSE\SSEHfe.cpp(80) : error C2065: 'FullScreen' : undeclared identifier
I mention this as I am an experienced C++ programmer and thought I could have a stab at adding these features myself, then contribute back to the project.

CHEERS!


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest