Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:37 am

WARNING!WARNING!WARNING! Competing teams please don't look at this, it's not good for you! WARNING!WARNING!WARNING!

Image

- New option 'Monitor: specific value'
When this is checked, each time you set a Read or Write watch in a
memory browser, Steem will read the value in the find box and will
stop only if the value written or read is the same (BYTE/WORD).
You can type decimal or hexadecimal values (use $).
If you use !, don't use $.
There's only one value so defined for all the browsers, the last one
read.
If you type a new value, you must disable and enable again the watch.
If there's no value when you enable a watch, it will not check.
Those limitations to limit bloat.

- New option 'Monitor: address range'
When this is checked, the first two watches will be considered as
the limits of a range to check.

- New option 'Dump 6301 RAM'

- New option '68030 stack frame'. It's interesting to check if
programs are compatible with Falcon or TT computers. From Petari.

Beta available here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/?

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby npomarede » Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:30 am

Steven Seagal wrote:WARNING!WARNING!WARNING! Competing teams please don't look at this, it's not good for you! WARNING!WARNING!WARNING!

Hello, granted, you have an UI for this, but Hatari's debugger is way more powerful than that :) we can create breakpoints on complex conditions (and, or), after a specific number of hits, on register values, on values pointed by address register, and much much more :)

Nicolas

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 02, 2014 1:03 pm

npomarede wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:WARNING!WARNING!WARNING! Competing teams please don't look at this, it's not good for you! WARNING!WARNING!WARNING!

Hello, granted, you have an UI for this, but Hatari's debugger is way more powerful than that :) we can create breakpoints on complex conditions (and, or), after a specific number of hits, on register values, on values pointed by address register, and much much more :)

Nicolas


In fact I must admit that I know very little about the Hatari debugger.
Some features have to be unique to Steem though: IRQ guessing, scanline and video address on right click, etc.
Watch on An/Dn=X is something I consider too, but like all boiler improvements we must mind the UI too.

User avatar
Cyrano Jones
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 8:28 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Cyrano Jones » Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:51 am

The last time I used Hatari the UI felt like a free Linux application from 1996, the mouse didn't track correctly in the UI window, and it wasn't possible to even get the pointer to reach some of the buttons. Has it improved since then?

The Steem Boiler room is intuitive, powerful and simple. How does Hatari compare?

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:08 am

Well, I admit that I tried couple times Hatari debugger, but it just can not compare to Steem Debugger. It may have some nice functions which are not present in SD, but how much functions, features SD has, which are not present in HD ?
What I use a lot, are: watching history to backtrace something, using Pasti breakpoints - for instance break at track read command - to see copy protections, watching diverse HW browsers - mostly MFP browser. Having 5-6 memory browser windows at once is what makes tracing faster and easier.
It is very helpful that you have description of vectors, HW registers in memory browser windows, so must not keep all it in head or looking literature ...
English language is like bad boss on workplace: it expecting from you to strictly follow all, numerous rules, but self bending rules as much likes :mrgreen:

Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Hippy Dave » Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:04 pm

Hatari documentation:
http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/docs.html
A quick look through the manual will not be a waste of time because a quick look will get you started.
The two things Hatari could be improved with are: A better GUI (maybe from the Python UI or Hatariod).
A compilation of the best of [hatari-devel] developer conversations.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:44 pm

Using the Boiler is a bit like using the Atari ST: power without the price! (will be a new scroller line in steem.new)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:30 pm

New beta here:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/?

Not much new this week.

- bugfix FDC bogus "lost data" flag: Super Monaco Grand Prix

- bugfix FDC IRQ staid on with command $D8: Super Monaco Grand Prix

(my own bugs since v3.5.1)

- added 6301 browser to Boiler, preliminary

- fixed option 'Monitor: specific value':
When the option is checked and you set a watch Steem will look
at the 'find' box and interpret the string there as a condition.
You must set the condition first.
Only the last condition you typed in any memory browser counts:
internally, there's only room for one by design.
One comparison character (=,!,<,>) is required.
Value must be a WORD in hexadecimal, without $
You may for example type >0FFF, then click in the monitor column to
add the watch.

Image

User avatar
Retrogamer_ST
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Retrogamer_ST » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:05 pm

Vertical Sync.

Thank you for that one. :) At last STeem works smooth on my computer too.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:01 am

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Steem_360_coming_soon.htm

Last feature for v3.6.0:

P.S.G. emulation

P.S.G. stands for Programmable Sound Generator, it is the ridiculous Yamaha
YM-2149 equipping the Atari ST, the laughing stock of Amiga fanboys.
Though... it has a distinctive sound, after all the 8bit DACs of the Amiga are
nothing special today the day! You have better in your PC. But you (probably)
have no YM-2149.

There are now 3 P.S.G. mods in Steem SSE:

Image

'P.S.G.' changes the tables used for both "envelope" and "volume".
I don't know where the original Steem values come from, but the
new ones are based on Yamaha doc. The difference isn't dramatic,
it's a bit louder overall.

'Samples' uses another table, done by ljbk, based on actual measurements,
when it's reckoned that samples are being played (check on the "mixer").
Many samples will sound better. Not all, but it may be due to other
emulation issues.

The table can't be used (in Steem) when chip music is mixed with samples, like
in Goldrunner.

'Filter' was already there before, it's a different, more open, low-pass
filter when sound option 'Monitor Speaker' is selected.

Image
ST NICCC: STF sound improved!

Image
Huh! Rha! You want the Barbarian to scream louder!




beta:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/

Release planned soon, internal structure changes are for later.

User avatar
Cyrano Jones
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 662
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 8:28 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Cyrano Jones » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:09 am

Can we have a hotkey to break back to windows mouse mode, because in win8 alt-tab is really annoying?

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:49 am

Yes this would be nice

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Cyprian » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:57 am

Cyrano Jones wrote:Can we have a hotkey to break back to windows mouse mode, because in win8 alt-tab is really annoying?

you can easily define your own hotkeys
Image
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:29 pm

yes true!
unfortunately for me I was using F12 which no more programmable :(
SS insist on stooping Steem with F12 but unfortunately the Windows stays open so not really good as a "boss key" (perso I do not care as I am my own boss :mrgreen: )

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:10 pm

F12 is more a standardisation thing. In Steem it's ON/OFF.
The boss key already exists, just assign a shortcut to 'Exit Steem', also works in fullscreen mode.

Cyrano Jones wrote:Can we have a hotkey to break back to windows mouse mode, because in win8 alt-tab is really annoying?


I'm actually relieved Steem still works in Win 8.
In Win 7 the most annoying aspect is that the wrong icon appears in the task bar (eg disk manager instead of Steem fuji).

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:07 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:I'm actually relieved Steem still works in Win 8.
In Win 7 the most annoying aspect is that the wrong icon appears in the task bar (eg disk manager instead of Steem fuji).


i can't get it to run in fullscreen under win8. other then that it look like it runs
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:23 pm

FedePede04 wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:I'm actually relieved Steem still works in Win 8.
In Win 7 the most annoying aspect is that the wrong icon appears in the task bar (eg disk manager instead of Steem fuji).


i can't get it to run in fullscreen under win8. other then that it look like it runs


Later I'll try to add D3D option like in WinUAE, maybe it would run better.
Maybe also different resolutions. Sometimes the problem is hardware/drivers, not OS.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:48 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:I'm actually relieved Steem still works in Win 8.
In Win 7 the most annoying aspect is that the wrong icon appears in the task bar (eg disk manager instead of Steem fuji).


i can't get it to run in fullscreen under win8. other then that it look like it runs


Later I'll try to add D3D option like in WinUAE, maybe it would run better.
Maybe also different resolutions. Sometimes the problem is hardware/drivers, not OS.


i could very well be the driver, it could also be how the different version of windows handle the graphic interface (GDI/DirectX)
it does not look like a big error, it is more like the display freeze..
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:25 am

Humm did not even know there was problem with Windows 8 ???
I have been using it for quite some time without problem (even works on 8.1 :) )

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:24 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:Humm did not even know there was problem with Windows 8 ???
I have been using it for quite some time without problem (even works on 8.1 :) )


i don't know what graphic card you use, but i use a radeon 7790HD
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:38 pm

FedePede04 wrote:
DrCoolZic wrote:Humm did not even know there was problem with Windows 8 ???
I have been using it for quite some time without problem (even works on 8.1 :) )


i don't know what graphic card you use, but i use a radeon 7790HD

As I do not play games on my machine so I have a rather not powerful graphic card: an old Radeon HD5700. I prefer to invest in CPU power and memory ...

I choose it because I could connect three LCD monitors directly (I like to have a lot of room while doing development ;) )

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:47 pm

I just tried the full screen mode.
It does not seem to work as expected: it just maximize the screen but keep the window with menu around. But the maximize graphic on a 1920 * 1080 monitor is perfect :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:47 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:
DrCoolZic wrote:Humm did not even know there was problem with Windows 8 ???
I have been using it for quite some time without problem (even works on 8.1 :) )


i don't know what graphic card you use, but i use a radeon 7790HD

As I do not play games on my machine so I have a rather not powerful graphic card: an old Radeon HD5700. I prefer to invest in CPU power and memory ...

I choose it because I could connect three LCD monitors directly (I like to have a lot of room while doing development ;) )


i have first recently change my graphic card, i made a little upgrade to my computer when i installed win8, my last gfx card, was also in the radeon 56xx series :)

i have just also tested Steem on my other computer, and i did the same thing

my other computer is an Amd ALU A8-5500 with an Integrated graphics chip Radeon HD 7560D.
both are running win 8 64 bit version...
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby lschafroth » Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:17 pm

Cyrano Jones wrote:The last time I used Hatari the UI felt like a free Linux application from 1996, the mouse didn't track correctly in the UI window, and it wasn't possible to even get the pointer to reach some of the buttons. Has it improved since then?

The Steem Boiler room is intuitive, powerful and simple. How does Hatari compare?


I agree, the gui screen for the settings is pretty plain. After playing a game or rebooting the emulated machine the buttons all go blank and the only way to use Hatari again is to kill it and start over.
This is the latest Mac version posted in the forums here.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1839
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:15 pm

Some good news are needed today!

- I got no threatening email from Atari. They know better than messing with Steven Seagal.

- There's a new beta available here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/?

- Some bugfixes and added option "Stop motor" if you're annoyed by a drive that keeps spinning:

Image

- I fixed the disk image of automation 239 (Jumping Jackson), it's on my site:
http://ataristeven.t15.org/Steem_games.htm#Jumping_Jackson
and here in case it went down again:
Auto 239 fixed.zip


- Like for v3.5.0, there will be a little demo included with Steem v3.6.0, very modest, I didn't put much time into it.

- I set a release date, 28/2/2014, precisely 2 years after Steem v3.3.

EDIT: new beta for XSteem (Steem Linux) also available
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest