Steem SSE beta

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby avtandil » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:41 pm

avtandil wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:Sorry, can't reproduce.

Please use png, not jpg for screenshots, it's clearer and smaller.
Here's one, with the status info.

As an aside, notice the different colour of status info in monochrome mode.


I will try to investigate when it was appeared starting from original STeem and then step-by-step updating SSE versions.


UPDATE: I found that most probably it is a EMUTOS issue - with TOS 2.06 file is showing normally, while in EMUTOS 0.9.5 - cropped. In eralier versions of EMUTOS Notator didn't start at all and gives kernel panic. So I will inform EMUTOS developing team.

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby avtandil » Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:15 pm



For the moment seems that mouse behaviour under Windows in VM is better with the latest beta version.

But I found another thing - among the several latest betas I should after pressing Play (start emulation) icon, made an addiyional mouse click to really start emulation. Before was either to presss Play icon or by mouse double-click.

While option: General-> Start emulation on mouse click is un-ticked.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby AtariZoll » Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:39 pm

As I remember there was some talk about full screen problems in Win 10 - but I can not find anything in recent log files, or on site.
I added missing d3d dll, but it just crashes in fullscreen. In case of Steem 3.2 fullscreen is pretty much useless - mouse works not, messed windows.
Certainly not some priority, but what is the current situation about it ?
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:22 am

avtandil wrote:
But I found another thing - among the several latest betas I should after pressing Play (start emulation) icon, made an addiyional mouse click to really start emulation. Before was either to presss Play icon or by mouse double-click.

While option: General-> Start emulation on mouse click is un-ticked.


You mean still in a VM?

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:29 am

AtariZoll wrote:As I remember there was some talk about full screen problems in Win 10 - but I can not find anything in recent log files, or on site.
I added missing d3d dll, but it just crashes in fullscreen. In case of Steem 3.2 fullscreen is pretty much useless - mouse works not, messed windows.
Certainly not some priority, but what is the current situation about it ?


If it crashes when going fullscreen with option Direct3D On checked, could you use the Boiler, check log/Init option, quit, restart and try fullscreen then post TRACE.txt?

It works on my x64/Win10 machine, good graphics card, with D3DX9_43.dll copied in Steem folder.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:30 am

Actually, latest beta I can not start - getting "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)...
Crash happens with older versions. So far I even did not see that Direct3D On switch.
I have AMD CPU.
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:57 am

AtariZoll wrote:Actually, latest beta I can not start - getting "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)...


This is likely a mix-up of 32bit vs 64bit DLLs.
I suggest downloading and copying in Steem folder the plugins from here:

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Other_downloads.htm

AtariZoll wrote:Crash happens with older versions.


You posted the report in the beta thread. Which version?

AtariZoll wrote:I have AMD CPU.


The only requirement is to be SSE-enabled (of course).

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Feb 10, 2016 12:27 pm

Thanx. The problem was different (64-bit) d3dx9_43.dll revison, hack or whatever. Now it works well in fullscreen mode and damn W10. But still there was little hassle - adding there d3dx9.dll caused crash too :mrgreen:
Now time to play little with it - why not earlier - because you made it not running on XP. So, how much M$ paying you ? :lol:
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:47 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Now time to play little with it - why not earlier - because you made it not running on XP. So, how much M$ paying you ? :lol:


It does run on XP; both the D3D build (=beta) and the no D3D build, but you need up-to-date DirectX 9 for the first.

avtandil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am
Location: St. Petersburg, RUSSIA
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby avtandil » Wed Feb 10, 2016 4:09 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
avtandil wrote:
But I found another thing - among the several latest betas I should after pressing Play (start emulation) icon, made an addiyional mouse click to really start emulation. Before was either to presss Play icon or by mouse double-click.

While option: General-> Start emulation on mouse click is un-ticked.


You mean still in a VM?


Not only, the same under real windows 7.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Feb 11, 2016 2:08 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:...
It does run on XP; both the D3D build (=beta) and the no D3D build, but you need up-to-date DirectX 9 for the first.

I copied there D3D from your site. It works well in Win7 and 10 - same files as when trying in XP - and there I get immed. message Access Denied.
3 XP installs with SP3, 32/64bit, on 2 different computers (AMD/Intel) .
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:06 pm

AtariZoll wrote:I copied there D3D from your site. It works well in Win7 and 10 - same files as when trying in XP - and there I get immed. message Access Denied.
3 XP installs with SP3, 32/64bit, on 2 different computers (AMD/Intel) .


Yet it works in XP for me and some other people, so it's not incompatible. Still believe your directx9 install is bad.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:13 pm

It surely is not because D3D. Problem are permissions, rights for main exe file(s) . I thought that it was because I depacked from Win 10 as admin, so I depacked from XP self. Did run as admin, but still the same. I found some threads about how to fix it.But M$ removed that util long time ago. Mentioned too that must disable file sharing. At that point I lost my interest - that's too much hassle and M$ mess. I need file sharing - doing regularly backups on another PC from safety reasons. So, will use SSE only from higher Windows versions.
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:53 pm

My XP laptop uses file sharing through Wi-Fi precisely for ST files, only a definite folder.
I copy and run versions of Steem SSE as simple user, not admin.
But I agree on one point: setting it up and keeping it working is a nightmare.
It worked with my Vista PC, but I haven't even tried it with the Win10 one.

bj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 468
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:30 am
Location: London

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby bj » Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:11 pm

Damn I wrote a long reply with details n lost it.
I'm having probs with both versions on both XP Pro-SP3 and XP Home-SP2. Basically Asci Hard drive not working can't be selected.
and random failure of progs to open. Boiler gives warning "ASSERT" when Steem started.
regards
BJ

User avatar
galax
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby galax » Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:38 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:-Yes, there's mouse trouble with some virtual machines.
-It's not limited to Steem.

I use VirtualBox all day and only Steem gives me mouse problems. The easy workaround is to uncheck Input->Mouse Integration. If you do this you have to use right control (or whatever you have set your "host key" to) to release the mouse from the VM. Of course the other workaround if you just want to run a program or something is to use Alt+Arrow keys and Alt+Insert ;)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:21 pm

galax wrote:I use VirtualBox all day and only Steem gives me mouse problems.


But do you use other programs that capture the mouse like Steem?
(don't say WinUAE!)

The easy workaround is to uncheck Input->Mouse Integration. If you do this you have to use right control (or whatever you have set your "host key" to) to release the mouse from the VM. Of course the other workaround if you just want to run a program or something is to use Alt+Arrow keys and Alt+Insert ;)


Maybe it's correct behaviour, maybe there's a bug. Steem does use "SetCursorPos".
I'm not familiar with VM at all.
If you're willing to test some betas, please send me a valid email.

User avatar
galax
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby galax » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:30 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
galax wrote:I use VirtualBox all day and only Steem gives me mouse problems.


But do you use other programs that capture the mouse like Steem?
(don't say WinUAE!)


True, I don't use others that capture the mouse. Steem isn't able to capture the host's mouse outside the VM (no matter whether or not 'capture mouse' is selected in Steem), maybe this is part of the problem? It almost seems like there is some kind of GetCursorPos()/SetCursorPos() feedback loop. Moving the host PC's mouse a few pixels to the right results in the ST mouse pointer moving 10x as far or more to the right, and when the PC mouse starts moving to the left, the ST mouse has some inertia and keeps moving right for a bit, I'll make a video later when I get a moment.

Happy to test betas- sending PM.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:12 am

Yo,

There's a new public beta of Steem SSE v3.8.3 available here:

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip
(32bit, release + boiler)


http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta64.zip
(64bit)

Bug-free? Maybe...

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby BlankVector » Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:03 pm

It trashes the EmuTOS font :cry:
Steem SSE 3.8.2 worked fine.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:12 pm

Hi, thx for the report.

I can't reproduce this with etos256fr.img 0.9.6, gemdos HD or ACSI, 32bit or 64bit.

Is there something special in your config?
Please check all your options if you're using a previous ini because I made some name changes.
Mind posting the TRACE.txt content?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby BlankVector » Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:39 pm

Here are my ini/trace.
Note that I dumbly extracted the new zip into my old Steem SSE folder. This can indeed be a steem.ini issue, or even a DLL mess.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby BlankVector » Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:52 pm

Oh, I forgot a capital thing: the EmuTOS cartridge was inserted.
You can use any TOS as ROM (I used 1.62), and insert emutos.stc. Get it there inside the emutos-cartridge archive.

For memories, the EmuTOS cartridge is EmuTOS built as a diagnostic cartridge. Due to size limitation, is does not include GEM: only welcome screen and command line.

I have not investigated anything myself. I just noticed that it worked fine with Steem SSE 3.8.2.

EDIT: Just tested with a clean unzip of Steem SSE beta + TOS 1.62 + emutos.stc. It fails equally.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:30 pm

Indeed, a diagnostic cartridge is a major config particularity. ;)

The TRACE reports it, as well as the fact that you used the X64 build. You may as well copy/paste, like here:

Code: Select all

Steem SSE TRACE - 11/12/16
Cartridge 5F2352FA 986460
Build: Beta VC 1500 x64 D3D v383 Nov 12 2016 10:48:42
unrar.dll 1 unzipd32.dll 0 CAPSImg.dll 0 pasti.dll 0 ArchiveAccess.dll 1 HD6301V1ST.img 1
HP 0 ATS 1 PWI 0 FAFF 0 SEOC 0 ALSS 0
Video DX 1 D3D 1 Mem 1 BHM 1 8 0 16 0
20:34:00 Run
STE0; T206 5; 4096K; #; C1; C2
A: test
20:34:06 Stop
End


I wasn't aware of the EmuTOS cartridge ( :oops: ) or I would have tested it, as I made some changes in cartridge emulation to support B.A.T sounds.
There is the bug, of course.
Thx a lot for the report, it's a little late for me to update the betas, I'll do it tomorrow.

EDIT: done, normally it's fixed

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby BlankVector » Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:32 pm

Quick unzip of new Steem SSE beta and... it works! Great :cheers:

FYI: The EmuTOS diagnostic cartridge has been available since EmuTOS 0.8.7, released in 2012. It has supported Steem since the beginning, by providing emutos.stc in the special Steem Cartridge format.


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests