Screen filters please :(

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

emodel
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:41 pm

Screen filters please :(

Postby emodel » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:46 pm

Hi

First, thank for updating Steem, great to know it's still supported (somehow).

However, I miss proper screen filters and it really looks terrible on lcd screens to me.

Would it be a lot of work to add something like crt emulation, maybe with simple png overlays displayed over the interpolated display ?
Ot maybe at least, if we could have scanlines AND interpolation at the same time ? (configurable scanlines brightness would be great)

Thanks

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Screen filters please :(

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:13 am

Hi
Even though I like the crisp rendering on LCD, filters, gamma setting etc. will be considered later.
It's not that simple because we need to change the rendering system (DirectDraw->Direct3d; SDL...),
and Steem uses PC assembly, which I don't understand...
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Screen filters please :(

Postby Hippy Dave » Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:37 pm

The emulator doesn't need the filter, LCD display does. Make one... or maybe somewhere, someone already has. :wink:

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4695
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Screen filters please :(

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:32 pm

In the mean time, you can use SainT which offers a special SC1224 emulation mode in its latest incarnation.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

emodel
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:41 pm

Re: Screen filters please :(

Postby emodel » Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:51 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:Hi
Even though I like the crisp rendering on LCD, filters, gamma setting etc. will be considered later.
It's not that simple because we need to change the rendering system (DirectDraw->Direct3d; SDL...),
and Steem uses PC assembly, which I don't understand...


But wouldn't it be easy to let us combine scanlines AND interpolation (which are both already there in Steem) ?

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1629
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Screen filters please :(

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:42 pm

I looked at it today and it's in the current build, there will be a new option in v3.5.1:

Image

You happy?

Here's the difference that it makes:

Image
Usual scanlines


Image
Interpolated

It also works in full screen mode (on my cmputer).
Like you said it was easy, just adding some lines of code at the right places.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron