Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Discuss Demos / Games / Applications written by Atari coders

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby stormy » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:48 pm

Allo,

I've been playing about with a Mac recently and discovered this:

https://macmint.superglobalmegacorp.com/

Just wondered if anyone else has experience with it? I wonder if I could install Xaaes/teradesk on it, but I get the feeling its just the console.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4540
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby joska » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:09 am

MacMiNT is a console application only, there is no VDI. Also, it's based on a very old version of MiNT so no current AES would have worked on it anyway.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby ThorstenOtto » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:22 am

You would need a VDI driver, for example for fVDI. Not impossible, but still some work. Maybe for monochrome you can even use the 1-plane driver (dunno how the video memory in a Mac is organized).

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2038
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:48 pm

W Window System supported MacMiNT. Jonathan Oddie contributed the MacMiNT (monocrome, 8-bit palette, mouse & keyboard driver) support in 1999, and there were few fixes in 2000, but I don't have Mac, so I don't know whether MacMiNT support still works out of the box with later WWS versions: http://eerott.mbnet.fi/open.shtml#wws

If you give it a try, send me a note!

TomH
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:47 pm

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby TomH » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:26 pm

ThorstenOtto wrote:You would need a VDI driver, for example for fVDI. Not impossible, but still some work. Maybe for monochrome you can even use the 1-plane driver (dunno how the video memory in a Mac is organized).


It's the most trivial layout possible — it's linear from one of two selectable start addresses*, with the MSB of each word being the first pixel out and the LSB the last. 1 = black, 0 = white. So it's colour inverted compared to the ST (and a different size) but otherwise the same. And the pixels are square.

An interrupt is offered on vsync, and you can poll for whether pixel output is currently active; there's the usual time division of RAM access that you'd expect from anything of that era so you don't need to do anything special to avoid snow/sparkle.

There's no mouse cursor sprite or anything like that, just the frame buffer.

Speaking of the pre-ADB machines: the mouse is the standard quadrature thing of the era, generating interrupts on changes in X1 and Y1 and leaving the processor to sample X2 and Y2 at interrupt to determine direction of movement. The mouse button is polled, it isn't an interrupt source. The keyboard is serial, feeding into and out of a VIA shift register. So it can trigger interrupts. But the keyboard itself supplies the clock, so you'll occasionally hit the 6522 shiter race condition bug. Very rarely though as it's only ever one-or-two byte packets, as infrequently as a human types. The built-in firmware just does a retry anytime a transmission goes awry.

* either 0xffff2700 or 0xffffa700, each masked to however much RAM there actually is. One of the VIA outputs selects either the one or the other.

EDIT: wait, obviously I've been stupid posting the above. I would dare imagine it's also accurate for the SE/30, which has a 68030, but otherwise it applies only to 68000 machines that hugely predate those that MacMint aims to support. Anything colour with a 68020 or better makes no guarantees about its video hardware beyond that they'll provide suitable firmware. Apple made no efforts towards hardware compatibility between models.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:41 am

Realizing there's adventure to most everything, as a M68K MagiC Mac user, resistance is futile.
What is it that can't be done running MagiC as opposed to JET or MacMiNT?

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby stormy » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:55 am

Rustynutt wrote:Realizing there's adventure to most everything, as a M68K MagiC Mac user, resistance is futile.
What is it that can't be done running MagiC as opposed to JET or MacMiNT?


I completely forgot about this software! Looking forward to playing about with it, thanks for reminding me :)

As for what macmint offers over this, probably the entire Unix sparemint repository of Unix software? I think
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby stormy » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:18 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Realizing there's adventure to most everything, as a M68K MagiC Mac user, resistance is futile.
What is it that can't be done running MagiC as opposed to JET or MacMiNT?


Hey Rusty, just a quick one... I'm testing out MagicMac, I quickly went through the configuration at the begining by clicking 'ok ok ok' without reading, the system came up and works. But I cannot work out how to get back into the configuration, even if I remove/reinstall MagicMac it doesn't come back now. I think there are dialogue options 'above' the Atari display, but I can't work out how to access them. Any idea? Thx
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby Rustynutt » Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:49 am

Been a long time since having my Quadra up and running, sorry, I'd be guessing. I'm sure I have the manual if not on line.

Agreed, MiNT opens up an entire world.
For DTP, or most packages that work across the Atari platform, MagiCMac is the trick. Using Gembench (at the time), the Quadra runs the O/S as fast as the Afterburner, in 16bit video.
I don't have any experience with the Power Mac or PC version.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby Rustynutt » Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:57 am

Found my MagiC Mac manuals. My German isn't good enough to easily translate, maybe someone has an English manual.
In The Day, Robert Schaffner helped me set up an account on ASH's BBS, and purchased directly from them before System Solutions began distro in the UK.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Atari Mint on 68k Macintosh

Postby Rustynutt » Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:00 am

After I get the Milan 060 up, which is behind testing a MKX extensively, i'll get around to setting up the Quadra. Last I'd opened it up, installed a DayStar 50mhz 040 card with cache. Fast, but kind of unstable. There's a few graphics apps on the Mac that easily convert to an image format easily imported for Atari applications. One think is called Jackal, imaging processing softs, the others are Kai's Power Goo, kind of like the stuff you can do with Apex Media. It has its use :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Non Atari Platforms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests