[Solved] Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee...what's the issue??

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

[Solved] Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee...what's the issue??

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:43 am

My ext2 fs partition seems to be dirty every time I shutdown my Firebee.

So I decided to run e2fsck twice in a roll with 4 x sync after each e2fsck command, inside my MINT.CNF file.
The 2nd e2fsck always reported my ext2 fs as clean..... :roll:
Of course, it is cleaned by 1st e2fsck. So e2fsck is working.

Once I am on the desktop, to ran bash, did sync 3 times and reboot from teradesk menu item.
I did not run any other thing as it is a test.
I can see OS displaying shutdown sequence, syncing disk and unmounting the drives.

On next reboot, the 1st e2fsck again said e2fs partition is dirty while 2nd e2fsck says it is clean.
Cycle continue until cow comes home...

So something to do with the syncing and unmounting by the MINT/XaAES is the problem ???

ETA: changed subject title.... to remove any accidental accusation. :oops:
Last edited by wongck on Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4067
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby Dal » Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:18 am

What version of MINT?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:39 am

Mint 1.18 that came with it as well as version 1,19 that I downloaded from Vincent's CF Mint build.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby joska » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:46 am

Which version of e2fsck?

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Tapatalk
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:48 am

joska wrote:Which version of e2fsck?

The one that came with the Firebee.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby helmut » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:35 pm

Does it display "unmounting" on the drives that are not clean next time? Or are all drives not clean?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:30 am

helmut wrote:Does it display "unmounting" on the drives that are not clean next time? Or are all drives not clean?

The unmounting is display for all drives.
My other drives are DOS and FAT32, and both of them are being asked to do dosfsck as well.
So my guess is that all drives are not clean.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:57 am

New observations -

1. I created a ext2 fs on another CF.
2. Boot up FB, with HDD and CF.
3. e2fsck for my e2fs on HDD was dirty, e2fs on my CF was clean.
( this is correct as CF was just created from Gparted !!)
4. Once the desktop comes up, I rebooted via the Teradesk menu.
5. On reaching the e2fsck part, both my e2fs on HDD and CF are dirty !!!

So just rebooting makes my CF e2fs dirty, I did not even do a LS on it !!!

Note:
I did this twice, a long cycle because I have to re-create e2fs on my CF.
Both time same results.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:09 pm

helmut wrote:Does it display "unmounting" on the drives that are not clean next time? Or are all drives not clean?


it says....
1. syncing
2. unmounting
3. symncing

C is my boot, d is the hdd e2fs partition, f is the cf dos partition, g is the cf e2fs partition. ( e is my fat32 which I did not touch)
CAM00244.jpg


After unmounting.... it does a sync again ??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby helmut » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:29 pm

wongck wrote:
helmut wrote:Does it display "unmounting" on the drives that are not clean next time? Or are all drives not clean?


it says....
1. syncing
2. unmounting
3. symncing

C is my boot, d is the hdd e2fs partition, f is the cf dos partition, g is the cf e2fs partition. ( e is my fat32 which I did not touch)
CAM00244.jpg


After unmounting.... it does a sync again ??


Yes - to be sure to have clean drives ;)
The shutdown-output looks ok.
Do you power off after shutdown or do you just reboot? Maybe there's an additional cache in the firebee that's not flushed?

Did you try another method (taskmanager, Ctrl-Alt-Del, Ctrl-Alt-H, ...)?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:23 pm

I do a reboot from Teradesk.

I will do a reboot from Xaaes and see if this help.

But now I have another issue.... e2fsck now says imagic is set and does not finish.. 8O
So both my e2fsck now reports dirty... 8O
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:56 pm

I e2fsck my 2nd e2fs partition, and it is clean now.
The 1st e2fs partition had a lot of errors now. So I gave up by breaking it.
Anyway, I rebooted using XaAES task manager.
And e2fsck now reports both e2fs partition as dirty. :roll:

I will need to reformat my 1st e2fs partition now... :twisted:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby helmut » Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:47 pm

Wouldn't be mke2fs enough?

With what options do you call e2fsck?

What if you quit teradesk before shutting down?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:50 pm

I am using Gparted and will need to boot from the live-usb to boot Gparted.
The mke2fs that I have is from the 060 package, which I try not to use.

e2fsck -p -C 0 d:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby helmut » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:09 pm

-p means automatic repair. Newer versions of e2fsck won't repair if there are serious problems, you'll have to run it interactively (no options) in this case.
But I don't think this causes your trouble.

I never used -C.

I can only assume that a process writes after the unmount (->teradesk, XaAES, ...?), or the aforementioned cache or something completely different. teradesk seems not to be killed by the shutdown.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:27 pm

The e2fsck on the FB sems to be cleaning it.


I have manually closed all the applications including Teradesk, and the next reboot, e2fsck reported clean.
I have to close one-by-one and see which app.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby joska » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:33 pm

Have you upgraded to the latest FireTOS? Previous versions had a bug in the IDE-driver that caused data corruption on disks/cards bigger than 2Gb.

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Tapatalk
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:44 am

joska wrote:Have you upgraded to the latest FireTOS? Previous versions had a bug in the IDE-driver that caused data corruption on disks/cards bigger than 2Gb.

yes, the latest I obtained via the ACP website.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby jfl » Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:50 am

wongck wrote:
joska wrote:Have you upgraded to the latest FireTOS? Previous versions had a bug in the IDE-driver that caused data corruption on disks/cards bigger than 2Gb.

yes, the latest I obtained via the ACP website.

Just to confirm: I have the latest FireTOS with an 8GB ext2 partition and I have no such issues.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:39 am

Just for the record... this problem I had for a long time on the FB. It also happened on the previous FireTos.
So this have nothing to do with the versions of FireTos so far.

This also happens on Mint 1.18 (which was on the FB as I got it) as well as on Mint 1.19 that I downloaded from Vincent's website.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby joska » Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:29 pm

wongck, did you find a solution to this problem?
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:42 am

No solution.

The partition also gets totally trashed after more usage.
To get a faster recovery, I imaged the ext2 partition and just put back the image when it trashed.
It takes less than 5 mins to put back the image but it's just of a burden.

I may take out my falcon/Ct63 out of the cupboard. :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby oehansen » Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:39 pm

What I did, was have only DOS and TOS fielsystems on C,D and the SD cards. I have a partition E, which has e2fs and some mint programs on it. But just like in your case, although a bit different, it crashes for me ... I can basically run bash, and nothing else. If I use anything beyond that ... crash.

Haven't spent any time to analyze it, I just use C and D ... and avoid e2fs for the time being.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby wongck » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:14 pm

yeah. I already spend some days looking at it.
I just don't see any pattern, it seems to just trash my partition randomly.
The only thing for sure is that it will finally trash it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Dirty Ext2 FS every time on FireBee... Mint/Xaaes issue?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:35 pm

Hi Wongck,

Have you found a solution to ext2 corruption?

I have been playing with EasyMint, updated to Mint 1.19.CUR and the latest Mint tools from Vincent, and was obliged to remove fsck test from Mint.cnf as it was reporting a major error on ext2 partition and was stopping the boot.
I know it's not a good solution, but at least I can boot and do some tests, expecting my ext2 partition to crash anytime. So far I have been using it for 2 weeks without any major issues excepted a few folders which refuse to be modified or deleted from Thing 1.27 desktop but that I can modify and delete with the shell or with KKcommander. Strange, may be a Thing bug, that I have never seen under Aranym by the way.

When I run fsck /d from the shell it's saying that ext2 partition has a wrong superblock.

Any idea?

[Edited] From Thing I receive the error "The Directory can not be read! (TOS -11)" when I try to modify some folders.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests