Phoenix Database

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Phoenix Database

Postby Mathias » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:30 am

I just wanted to share my latest finding. The Database Phoenix 5.5 is already working at the FireBee. And as it seems it always worked well. Thanks to a user who adviced me, we know now, you just have to make clear that the folder "system" from the phoenix package goes into the folder "GEMSYS" at your boot partition. Subsequently it will run in every resolution and bitdepth!

So we have another professional application, as Phoenix 5.5 is from 2010 and still supported.

http://home.ewr-online.de/~gstoll/phoenix.htm

phoenix.jpg


phoenix2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby oehansen » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:41 pm

Now here is an application, worthy of noting. Good application, works well.

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby Mathias » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:36 pm

oehansen wrote:Now here is an application, worthy of noting.
I do not understand, what does this mean?
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby christos » Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:00 pm

So does anyone know how to create entry forms?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby Latz » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:53 pm

Hi,

the above link is "temporary not available".

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
davemacblack
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:20 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby davemacblack » Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:08 pm


nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:45 pm

christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?


What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby christos » Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:02 pm

nagual wrote:
christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?


What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...


Well i couldn't find any form creation menu and searching for forms in the hyp didn't give any results. I mean input form
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:55 pm

christos wrote:
nagual wrote:
christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?


What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...


Well i couldn't find any form creation menu and searching for forms in the hyp didn't give any results. I mean input form


As I said - run Designer, create one table, and drag mask icon (like carneval mask) on table.
New window appear with generic forms, select one you want and...voila!
Form window is active so you can edit fields, text, add buttons etc...

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:59 pm

Here's the screenshots of described actions:-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby christos » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:11 pm

Cool. So forms are masks. Can i ceate a mask from multiple tables?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:24 pm

christos wrote:Cool. So forms are masks. Can i ceate a mask from multiple tables?


Yep...
And for some components (like combobox/listbox) you have to create lookup table or manually add items...

My advice - open samples and analyze forms, actions and how that work in Manager, because, if you don't have too much experience with database programming, or database in general, this could be frustrating.

Authors of Phoenix presume that user are not total beginners in databases.

Phoenix support SQL and relational model really good, so this is actually nice tool to learn programming SQL databses and create SQL querys - common commands are supported as SELECT, FROM, WHERE, UPDATE, SET etc...

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:29 pm

I also have a Windows version of Phoenix, little bit different, more SQL implementation, but, it's fast, stabile and accurate.
Only one thing eating me - no report designer (as Atari version), so I wrote my own...

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby christos » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:41 pm

I have some experience with databases, i was just a bit confused by the interface.
Am I right to assume that you can output code to interface the dB you create with C code?

Thanks for your help nagual. I am really impressed by phoenix.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby nagual » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:48 pm

christos wrote:Am I right to assume that you can output code to interface the dB you create with C code?


Yes:-)
Actually there's a API for Phoenix, it's in attachment - powerfull:-)

And I'm impressed with Phoenix too, nice stabile database:-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Phoenix Database

Postby jury » Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:16 pm

Damn, this DB engine looks awesome. If I will have some more free time I definitely need to check this one.


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest