Atari Screensaver for Firebee

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 783
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby mfro » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:33 pm

Gamer wrote:... I am going to buy a big Multi-sync monitor soon...


So that particular screen saver appears definitively counter productive, as you didn't save anything on screens :lol:

SCNR

Gamer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby Gamer » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:48 pm

vido wrote:In my case only few modules of screensaver worked with the FireBee. But I stil had some problems after screensaver stoped and resumed back to desktop. I dont remember what was the problem. After that I deleted Twilight from my FireBee.


I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:01 pm

Gamer wrote:I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.


Any screensaver works for you? even the one that is built in to the monitor?

http://didier.mequignon.free.fr/firebee.htm
Look at the Firebee CPX, configuration states it can blank screen after few minutes. Does that work for you?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Gamer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby Gamer » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:05 pm

wongck wrote:
Gamer wrote:I can see your point, but it still would be nice to use it. If I cannot, then I will just go with out one. Who knows, maybe the next monitor I get will have a built in one.


Any screensaver works for you? even the one that is built in to the monitor?

http://didier.mequignon.free.fr/firebee.htm
Look at the Firebee CPX, configuration states it can blank screen after few minutes. Does that work for you?


Well I am using a Vizio TV/Monitor that I got from my wife's garage sale. It actually work well with the Firebee. I am not sure it has a screen saver. I have left it on for 5-10 minutes and nothing, but I will it it's settings. I will also try the Rage screensaver and see if it works. It still boggles my mind why a lot of people can run Twilight with their FB. I have load ed my FB with the original CF that came with it and it still did not work.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:59 pm

well, i will try that CPX screen saver next time I have my FB out.
My Falcon/CT63 is currently setup in my small man cave.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Gamer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby Gamer » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:00 am

wongck wrote:well, i will try that CPX screen saver next time I have my FB out.
My Falcon/CT63 is currently setup in my small man cave.


Well that screen does work for me. I get a blank screen, so I guess that works for me until I can figure out Twilight. I tried 256 and 16bit color and Twilight still crashes when it tries to display what ever screen saver I have set it to. I would love to get it working, but for now, I will settle for a blank screen. If any has any ideas, please let know. Thanks....

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:07 am

Glad that at least one saver worked for you.
I do not use Twilight, never used any screen savers, even on my windows.
I use all with LCD, which still burn-in but not as bad as CRT.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby Latz » Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:37 am

Hi,
i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Sun Feb 17, 2019 11:38 am

Latz wrote:i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:

Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
On my windoze, I put it to sleep mode and power off my monitor.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby jury » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:16 pm

wongck wrote: Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.


From the CT6x official hyp guide:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).


I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.
Last edited by jury on Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gamer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby Gamer » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:27 pm

wongck wrote:
Latz wrote:i´d like to mention that you can use the always available and most efficient screensaver - the monitor power switch :lol:

Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.
On my windoze, I put it to sleep mode and power off my monitor.



I must confess I do that also. :D

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:03 pm

jury wrote:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).


I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.


I never saw that in my CT60 CPX.
You have it on your's ??
What version is your's.... mine is 2.02 from May 2012
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby jury » Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:12 pm

Its from version 2.01 ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​July 24, 2011. Under chapter 1.9 ATX Tower

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:50 pm

Yes, it was also in the HYP of v2.0 which I have ( I do not have the v2.01 HYP).
I mean the software ACC/CPX mentioned, I do not see it in my CT60CONF.CPX.
My guess is there is another ACC/CPX for it?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby mikro » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:48 am

I think by that 'sleep' it is meant software power off. :)

EDIT: Indeed it is:

10.2.5 ABE60 REGISTERS DETAILS CT60
[..]
SLP (SleeP)
Write at $FA800000 : Turn OFF the power supply.


Funny thing is that in registers summary just one page further it is said to be $FA000000 register.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby wongck » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:10 am

mikro wrote:I think by that 'sleep' it is meant software power off. :)
EDIT: Indeed it is:


Oh, In that case, i found the software to do that.... years ago already. :lol: :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Atari Screensaver for Firebee

Postby jfl » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:26 pm

jury wrote:
wongck wrote: Actually that's what I do if I leave my Falcon on and I need to go off for 10 mins. Any longer, I would just shutdown. Would be nice to have a sleep mode.


From the CT6x official hyp guide:

Code: Select all

A SLEEP function (SLP) was even added in the hardware and manageable
by a software (an ACC or a CPX) to 'sleep" the machine (like the
windows menu).


I have never tried it, so I do not know if it works, but it seems there is a chance that its implemented and works.

That feature never worked for me. I wish it would because contrary to Latz I hate having to switch the monitor off manually :D
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests