N.AES

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby OL » Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:45 pm

jfl wrote:

Fantastic stuff, Olivier. And ending that video with the rocket launcher blast on Noir Désir's music! 8O


I like it too! It match so fine with the video!

I spend a week to choose music!

Olivier
OL

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3695
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby joska » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:58 pm

OL wrote:
joska wrote:Impressive! It is obviously running on a very fast emulated machine, but still impressive. I did not know about the Mini V Mac port, I'll try that one tomorrow on my CT60.


MiniVMac MacII (color) emulation as diplayed is too slow on CT60, MiniVMac Mac Plus emulation is ok on CT60


I got lots of redraw errors. I guess it needs 16/32 bit colours to work correctly? Speed was OK.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby shoggoth » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:38 am

Amazing.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby OL » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:36 pm

joska wrote:
OL wrote:
joska wrote:Impressive! It is obviously running on a very fast emulated machine, but still impressive. I did not know about the Mini V Mac port, I'll try that one tomorrow on my CT60.


MiniVMac MacII (color) emulation as diplayed is too slow on CT60, MiniVMac Mac Plus emulation is ok on CT60


I got lots of redraw errors. I guess it needs 16/32 bit colours to work correctly? Speed was OK.


Should work in 256 color too, this is SDL program, never test I don't know

Olivier
OL

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: N.AES

Postby m0n0 » Fri May 12, 2017 11:27 pm

It looks like a very modern windowing system :D

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Neurotoxic » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:02 am

Is the N.AES patch for the Firebee still available and can be downloaded somewhere? That would be really nice.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: N.AES

Postby vido » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:45 am

Neurotoxic wrote:Is the N.AES patch for the Firebee still available and can be downloaded somewhere? That would be really nice.

I downloaded it but after that I had HDD crash and I lost it. But I found naes_fb.sys on my pc. Maybe thats it. Maybe that is everything you need to replace?
I can sent it to you if you dont have better solution.

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Neurotoxic » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:18 pm

vido wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:Is the N.AES patch for the Firebee still available and can be downloaded somewhere? That would be really nice.

I downloaded it but after that I had HDD crash and I lost it. But I found naes_fb.sys on my pc. Maybe thats it. Maybe that is everything you need to replace?
I can sent it to you if you dont have better solution.


That would be really nice. Thank you very much. 8)
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:43 am

Think you still have to purchase it.
http://woller.com/n.aes.html

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: N.AES

Postby vido » Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:07 am

Rustynutt wrote:Think you still have to purchase it.
http://woller.com/n.aes.html

yes, n.aes is stil available to buy but you need a patch to run it on the firebee.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:27 am

Yes, what lp had done, but only the 68000 version, as I read. Didn't catch the OP was referring to the Cold Fire patch.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: N.AES

Postby vido » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:36 am

Rustynutt wrote:Yes, what lp had done, but only the 68000 version, as I read. Didn't catch the OP was referring to the Cold Fire patch.

Patched N.AES by lp runs just fine on the FireBee. I know people using it on the FireBee ;)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:08 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Think you still have to purchase it.
http://woller.com/n.aes.html

yeap, tis the reason why it's not anywhere to dl.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby lp » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:28 pm

They haven't done anything for like a decade and you need to have the original disk, so I didn't think it was a problem to give the one file. However, I had an email exchange with woller and the "serial number" issue came up. To avoid any problems it was removed from my site.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:31 am

Funny, when I purchased the floppy disk set from Woller about what, 25 years ago, sent a personal check from California. Wasn't long before the package arrived. ASH also worked that way when you ordered via the BBS they used at the time. Now, I'm using a dumb phone to post from the front porch :) Recently purchased Photoline from Gehard, and it was the credit card company blocking the purchase until I contacted them. Of course, think it easier to make purchases from Europe (and the UK :) )

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:54 am

N.AES is nearly 20 years old and it wasn't change during that time. So I cannot understand why Woller isn't going to release it as freeware without any support. They also might sell sell for a small price like 10 €. That would be alright, too. I don't like selling a very old software for a high price. More than 100 €! It wouldn't be any issue if they were still developing N.AES but that's isn't the case.

A year ago a sent a mail to Woller with a technical question. I've got no answer. But lp got an answer concering his N.AES patch! I don't like Woller. :x
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3695
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby joska » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:13 am

lp wrote:However, I had an email exchange with woller and the "serial number" issue came up. To avoid any problems it was removed from my site.


What about creating a simple patch-program that patches the user's file(s)? Distributing that shouldn't be a problem.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: N.AES

Postby vido » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:24 am

Neurotoxic wrote:N.AES is nearly 20 years old and it wasn't change during that time. So I cannot understand why Woller isn't going to release it as freeware without any support. They also might sell sell for a small price like 10 €. That would be alright, too. I don't like selling a very old software for a high price. More than 100 €! It wouldn't be any issue if they were still developing N.AES but that's isn't the case.

A year ago a sent a mail to Woller with a technical question. I've got no answer. But lp got an answer concering his N.AES patch! I don't like Woller. :x

Woller showed an interest to release FireBee version by himself. So we will see if something will happen regarding this? ;)
Till then I see no problem if users unoficialy shares patch by themself. You still need original naes package to have it running on the FireBee.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby lp » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:25 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:A year ago a sent a mail to Woller with a technical question. I've got no answer. But lp got an answer concering his N.AES patch! I don't like Woller. :x


Same experience I had. I emailed Woller several times regarding the status of NAES and never got a single reply. I assumed it was a dead project and unattainable. Perhaps, only emails about money get answered. Anyway, ACP project manager emailed Woller and told him what I had done, then Woller decides to talk to me. :P

I never did get to talk to the actual author, only Woller who markets it. It's so few requests for the firebee patched file that I don't spend the time to make a patch tool. If someone sends me a private email, I simply send the file.

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:28 pm

lp wrote:I never did get to talk to the actual author, only Woller who markets it. It's so few requests for the firebee patched file that I don't spend the time to make a patch tool. If someone sends me a private email, I simply send the file.


That would be very kind of you. Thank you very much! 8)
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: N.AES

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:45 pm

DML did a lot of patching from the auto folder with the Afterburner Tool Kit. I'd assume it was easier, and with a likely unintended compliance with copyright laws :)
Do think it pretty much moot point with NAES, but did enjoy sending Roger Borroughs a check for a complete ExtenDos package with new manuals :)

Gamer
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: N.AES

Postby Gamer » Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:59 pm

Yes, I got it to run. Works great. Need to find out just programs work and do not work.


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest