My Atari-based studio

This is the gallery. It's where we put the pictures upon pictures of us all showing off our dens and collections.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:16 pm

Hi!

Just wanted to share a picture of my current studio setup.

Image

Used as a sequencer is my black TT with 10mb ST-Ram and a 10gb harddrive running Emagic Logic 2.5.
It has the LOG3 dongle/expansion and a C-Lab Unitor 2 unit as well.

Synthesizers and samplers showing:
Novation Supernova
Kawai K4r
E-MU E5000 Ultra
Yamaha A5000
Roland MC-505
Alesis SR-16

Synthesizers and samplers not showing:
Yamaha EX7
Yamaha DX7 II FD

Just felt like sharing as i enjoy watching other peoples setups for inspiration and whatnot :)

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:42 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Scarlettkitten » Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:56 pm

Very nice, plus you have my favorite sampler the Yamaha A5000 8)
Music gear
Falcon 030 14MB, Cubase Audio, Soundpool FA8,FDI, MAudio 88 keystation, Roland S750, Yamaha A5000, Roland JV1080, Yamaha MG10, 1040STE, ZX Spectrum 128k.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby DarkLord » Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:45 am

See! I'm not the only one who paints their Atari computers black. :lol:

<vindicated> :cheers:

Very nice setup btw!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:10 am

All looks a bit neat to me. Where are all the 4-way blocks daisy chained under the desk?!? :)
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:36 am

Dal wrote:All looks a bit neat to me. Where are all the 4-way blocks daisy chained under the desk?!? :)


They are under the desk, just not to be seen ;)
I like it neat, so everything is hanging from underneath the desk.

Like this: :)
Image

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:57 pm

Very nice indeed. My studio does not look like this!
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:52 pm

Dal wrote:Very nice indeed. My studio does not look like this!


Post some pictures of yours! :)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:27 pm

It's not really finished. I've still got plastering/decorating to do and I have gear all over the place and set up in a 'temporary' manner! Once I've completed my Fender Rhodes restoration, I'll get it sorted and post pictures of it once I've got something to be proud of.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby DarkLord » Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:24 pm

Dal wrote:It's not really finished. I've still got plastering/decorating to do and I have gear all over the place and set up in a 'temporary' manner! Once I've completed my Fender Rhodes restoration, I'll get it sorted and post pictures of it once I've got something to be proud of.


Dal, I've seen enough of your work to know it'll be worthy. :cheers:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:45 pm

The studio have moved and the TT has been replaced by a 1040STe so I can use Notator as well as Logic.

It's a bit smaller than before, but really cosy ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
retrogameandcomputer
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby retrogameandcomputer » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:49 pm

I love seeing Ataris still being used today! There is just something about their reliability!

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:51 pm

Here's my current rig:
Studio.jpg


Atari Falcon running Cubase Audio 2.06 (although, I'm just using it as a midi sequencer for most of the time).

In the rack from top to bottom: Steinberg SMP24, Roland U-220, Roland JV1080, Yamaha TG77, Kawai K3M, Akai S2000, Behringer ADA8000 and MOTU 896 - these are linked together to give 16 channels into the MacBook Pro sitting on top of the rack.

Then I have a Roland Juno G - quite a versatile bit of kit and served me well over the years as part of my live rig, but now retired to the studio.

Finally, at the end of the room, there's my current full live rig consisting of a Nord Stage 2 with a StudioLogic VMK161 organ controller and a Nord Wave on top.

The eagle eyed may have noticed the old Tascam PortaStudio in the corner - I use this as a line mixer for my keyboard rig. This is sitting on top of a Fender Blues Junior which I have modded with most of the Billm kits including replacing the output power transformer and upgrading the EL84's to 6L6's.

Not shown are the various guitars (Custom Shop 59 reissue Strat, Gibson LP Studio, Stagg bass and a budget electro acoustic), amps, mics and effect units/stomp boxes. Not that I do much guitar work these days.

All MIDI sequencing is performed on the Falc, then I track it into Logic 9 on the Mac. From there I track additional non-midi instruments and vocals then mix & master it.
Whilst I could do everything in Logic, I much prefer the MIDI implementation offered by the Atari + SMP24.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby wongck » Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:34 am

Wonder why the photo is upside down on Chrome.
The lower bottom is on top. 8O :?:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:13 pm

I have no idea. I edited the image a reduced the resolution - re-uploaded and the preview was still upside down. Then I opened the image up again and hit rotate 4 times, saved it and now it's the correct orientation.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby wongck » Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:31 pm

may be the exif information on the photo?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:30 am

Looks great, Darren! Probably going to replace the STe with a CT2 powered Falcon for some Cubase Audio or Logic Audio awesomeness.
Or not. I would like to try to do a full production on the Falcon sometime soon.

User avatar
Knezzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: Sweden, Next to my Falcon 060
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Knezzen » Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:32 pm

Allmost done plugging everything in, in the new studio. This is the smaller of our new two-controlroom studio ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby DarkLord » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:36 pm

I have to say, that looks awesome. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:46 am

Very classy setup Knezzen. That has a lot of style :D Nice work!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:48 am

Nice one. I liked the wallpaper on the Mac having the same wallpaper as your wall. :thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Shredder11 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:52 pm

Nice setup and one I would guess was bought in the late 1990s. A nice blue Supernova (super clinical sounding with wide filters); EMU samper; Yamaha EX7 (EX5 a real classic and inspiring to play); Roland MC303; Yamaha NS10; various Behringer rack stuff and desk (this was notoriously unreliable but brilliant when it worked properly); Technics keyboard piano controller? (beautiful to play if it is) Hard to see the rest of the stuff as the photo is a little blurry and grainy.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:37 am

You missed the Juno 1 on the desk ;)
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:42 am

Oh and the NS-10's of course. Arguably a staple in any studio.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:43 am

I think I spy a Kawai KM-3 in the rack too....
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: My Atari-based studio

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:54 am

I still have my lovely Kawai K1r that I bought back in 1990, which still has some really useful sounds that just plain 'work'.


Social Media

     

Return to “Gallery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest