PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:54 pm

So got a 1040STe (mainly to try to fill out the compatibility range, though I still don't have just a 'normal' ST that works). I downloaded the image from http://atari.8bitchip.info/DiskImgPP1.html and stuck it on a 2gb SD card, and into the UltraSatan.

But it seems the games are very hit and miss whether they work or not. Like Battlechess just turns the desktop into a negative (white turns black, black turns white, oddly I think the green turned yellow). I'm wondering if this is just TOS 1.06 being crappy, or there is some other possibility here (this system looks like it was used for a bit then shoved into a box, so possibly an old capacitor, other weird issue).

I do have 4mb of RAM, which from what I understand could cause some compatibility issues as well, but I thought these games were the tweaked/fixed versions that should work on everything, and just want to make sure it's not a hardware issue.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Thu Jan 26, 2017 5:32 am

Weird. So Battlechess on TT030 works fine. I upgraded the 1040STe with the TOS 1.62/2.06 switcher from exxos as well as the PSU, still can't get Battlechess to work on either version of TOS for it. I don't think I tried it on the Mega STe, but according to the site, it should work with all of them.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1993
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:10 am

You could check compatibility with an emulator too, before messing with your hardware. :angel:

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:14 am

This is true, though I was planning on the upgrade anyhow. Pretty sure it crashed there as well. I have some other set up things I need to do in the meantime.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:29 am

It was tested in big part on STE with 4MB RAM. RAM size should be not problem - those bad codes were fixed, or whole system sets environment for game as there is only 512KB or 1MB if game needs that much.
Considering age of machines, I expect that there will be more and more problems. This is typical case - when some SW runs, some not - so degradation of components.
Indeed, replacing electrolytic capacitors is what should be done when some electronic is 25 or more years old.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:07 am

I did replace the PSU and installed the Fast TOS switcher from Exxos, but it still crashes. I still need to test it on Hatari and see if it does it there. Tried with 1.06, 1.62 and 2.06 TOS, only worked on 3.06 on the TT030. I could try it on my Mega STe that has 2.06 as well.

Any other capacitors inside the 1040STe?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby dlfrsilver » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:53 pm

There are 2 big ones on the motherboard, that you can change and recapp.
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:13 am

Thanks, hopefully I can get some time tomorrow to check them out.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests