PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:54 pm

So got a 1040STe (mainly to try to fill out the compatibility range, though I still don't have just a 'normal' ST that works). I downloaded the image from http://atari.8bitchip.info/DiskImgPP1.html and stuck it on a 2gb SD card, and into the UltraSatan.

But it seems the games are very hit and miss whether they work or not. Like Battlechess just turns the desktop into a negative (white turns black, black turns white, oddly I think the green turned yellow). I'm wondering if this is just TOS 1.06 being crappy, or there is some other possibility here (this system looks like it was used for a bit then shoved into a box, so possibly an old capacitor, other weird issue).

I do have 4mb of RAM, which from what I understand could cause some compatibility issues as well, but I thought these games were the tweaked/fixed versions that should work on everything, and just want to make sure it's not a hardware issue.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Thu Jan 26, 2017 5:32 am

Weird. So Battlechess on TT030 works fine. I upgraded the 1040STe with the TOS 1.62/2.06 switcher from exxos as well as the PSU, still can't get Battlechess to work on either version of TOS for it. I don't think I tried it on the Mega STe, but according to the site, it should work with all of them.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1892
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:10 am

You could check compatibility with an emulator too, before messing with your hardware. :angel:

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:14 am

This is true, though I was planning on the upgrade anyhow. Pretty sure it crashed there as well. I have some other set up things I need to do in the meantime.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2759
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:29 am

It was tested in big part on STE with 4MB RAM. RAM size should be not problem - those bad codes were fixed, or whole system sets environment for game as there is only 512KB or 1MB if game needs that much.
Considering age of machines, I expect that there will be more and more problems. This is typical case - when some SW runs, some not - so degradation of components.
Indeed, replacing electrolytic capacitors is what should be done when some electronic is 25 or more years old.
English language is like bad boss on workplace: it expecting from you to strictly follow all, numerous rules, but self bending rules as much likes :mrgreen:

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:07 am

I did replace the PSU and installed the Fast TOS switcher from Exxos, but it still crashes. I still need to test it on Hatari and see if it does it there. Tried with 1.06, 1.62 and 2.06 TOS, only worked on 3.06 on the TT030. I could try it on my Mega STe that has 2.06 as well.

Any other capacitors inside the 1040STe?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby dlfrsilver » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:53 pm

There are 2 big ones on the motherboard, that you can change and recapp.
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: PP's 1gb image and 1040STe compatibility. HW issue?

Postby leech » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:13 am

Thanks, hopefully I can get some time tomorrow to check them out.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest