Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:39 am

Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red Label version)

I just wondered if this game is faulty or non-compatible because it doesn't seem to want to work on STE UK TOS 1.62 with either 1Mb or 4Mb.
Is this because of an early Rob Northern protection method?

I did check the bootsector with UVK and it appears to be intact as far as I know, in that it recognises it as Rick Dangerous .. it COULD be that the disk itself is faulty but I don't know that much because have only recently acquired it.

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

Postby dlfrsilver » Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:20 am

indeed, this game, even in its original retail version doesn't work on anything else than an STF.

The RNC protection is indeed crashing right at the beginning.
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

Driant
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

Postby Driant » Fri Jul 29, 2016 9:01 am

I've got a version on the Firebird / Tenstar label and it works on my 1040 STE. Bought a copy of RD2 and that didn't though - froze out on a red screen...

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1990
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:30 pm

One pasti image works in Steem as a STE.
The Medway Boys 28 version works on my 4MB STE. Can't test MB30 as it says there's a virus on STE.
Automation menu 120 hangs on 4MB machines by the way.

EstTeeEfEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 9:02 pm

Re: Rick Dangerous (Rainbird - Red label version)

Postby EstTeeEfEm » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:21 pm

indeed, this game, even in its original retail version doesn't work on anything else than an STF.


Thanks for the heads-up...
Im not an owner of the STF so thats a shame, still, as pointed out there are several versions out there lol


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest