Heimdall on a Atari Ste

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Tarak
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:16 pm

Heimdall on a Atari Ste

Postby Tarak » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:50 pm

Hello,

I ve copied the game Heimdall cracked by the pompey pirates to 4disks. At first glance the game seems to be working perfectly. But after you disembark on one of the islands the computer keeps asking for disk 1....does anybody know a solution for this problem?

Thanks!

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Heimdall on a Atari Ste

Postby nativ » Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:12 pm

How much Ram have you got?

generally speaking PP used packing and Ram disks, so when the game thinks it wants a floppy stuff is already in RAM ! So just hit space!

If it's actually testing the a: drive for a floppy, perhaps try all of the disks and see if it isn't asking for the wrong one!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

Tarak
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: Heimdall on a Atari Ste

Postby Tarak » Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:38 pm

hello nativ!

thank you for your reply. I have 1meg of ram and have followed your advice regarding using the other disks, but i am afraid it hasn't worked. could it be a problem with my disk drive?

all the best,

Tarak

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Heimdall on a Atari Ste

Postby nativ » Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:17 am

your welcome

If it's loaded, then it's probably not your disk drive, maybe try making the disks again, from a new download.

Or.......

Upgrade your STe to 4MB and use the http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/ version, which I think can be spilt to floppies...

Maybe someone else has some ideas!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest