Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug? FIXED!

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug? FIXED!

Postby Heavy Stylus » Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:27 am

I've tried both the Atari Legend and official TSCC versions of this game on STEEM and on my real Atari, and think I've found a bug/error.

Inbetween matches (and most visible via the menu->tables option) the graphics are all screwed up - flashing/jumping around/off the screen. I'm using TOS 2.06 on both STEEM and my real Atari.

Anyone else able to get the same bug on their machines? Anyone want to fix it?
Last edited by Heavy Stylus on Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
bazza_bethell
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby bazza_bethell » Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:47 pm

Heavy Stylus wrote:I'm using TOS 2.06 on both STEEM and my real Atari.


Ewww 2.06 is teh sux, it's for the dads not teh kids; apps not teh warez.

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:15 pm

Thanks for your most helpful reply. The Atari scene really needs more people like you.

FYI I am a 'dad', so 2.06 is quite appropriate for me.
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby lotek_style » Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:31 pm

We never experienced that bug... I guess because we never had machines with TOS 2.06. Dynabusters was developed on 1040 STE and Falcon 030... also we never received any reports of a bug like that yet :) I doubt my coders will do a fix these days :P
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:25 pm

Oh well!

Sometimes I wish my STE was TOS switchable...

I've forwarded it over to GGN. Maybe D-Bug (or Klaz when he's back) will be able to look into providing an all-ataris patch.

Can anyone else see if they can reproduce the bug? Could it be a memory or 50/60Hz bug? If a game doesn't like TOS2.06 they tend not to load at all rather than have the odd graphics bug you see.

I'm using HDDriver (latest version), an STE (PAL) with 4MB Ram and TOS 2.06. Please can people see if they can reproduce the same error in their STEEM setup and real atari's?

Lotek - is the source available still?
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby lotek_style » Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:33 pm

Source is still available ;) I have to check if the creators wanna spread it or not.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby nativ » Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:21 pm

Hi,
How's about running TOS 1.62 via Seltos? or a software switcher of some description?
Good luck
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby thothy » Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:44 pm

I once saw the same problem when I ran Dynabusters in Hatari. I think it is because the game writes to the video base registers in the wrong order - it first writes to the low register, then to the med and high register. But for proper operation, you have to write the low register last, because the low register gets reset to zero when you write to the med or high register. Don't know why this works on real machines, but it is certainly a pain for emulators (since other games/demos depend on this behaviour of the shifter).

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:38 pm

To repeat - it's not just an emulator bug. This happens on my real Atari too. Anyone else experience it on an STE?
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby lotek_style » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:50 am

btw spoke with Scy... Tos shouldnt be a problem at all as they wipe it out of the memory completely.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

ppera

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby ppera » Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:59 am

I checked it on STE with 4MB, IDE hard disk IF (own driver). Didn't observe any screen screwing. Game and 'tables' worked flawless.
Even worked well in 1MB mode (started with special launcher), what was problem for Steem (did not accept any KB commands).

Maybe to try with less disk buffer space allocated in Hddriver ?

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:11 am

I've just tried running from floppy with my HD turned off and still get the same problem on real hardware (TOS2.06, 4MB STE) and STEEM (using the same set up) - so nothing to do with HDDriver.

I'll take some screenshots to explain the problem.
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby thothy » Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:25 pm

lotek_style wrote:btw spoke with Scy... Tos shouldnt be a problem at all as they wipe it out of the memory completely.


If you still have the source code, could you try to change the order in which the games writes the video base registers? I am pretty sure that this will fix this issue.

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:40 pm

If anyone fixes this I'll pay them the original shareware fee ;)
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug?

Postby Heavy Stylus » Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:07 am

Haha - it was a bug, and GGN fixed it :)
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
Heavy Stylus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug? FIXED!

Postby Heavy Stylus » Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:58 am

GGN (of DBUG) has kindly given me permission to post this here. Thothy was right BTW - the registers were written in the wrong order.

Enjoy! I know that I will :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.rgcd.co.uk
The Essential Discmag for Retro Gamers!

http://www.myspace.com/heavystylus
Usual myspace crap.

http://tinyurl.com/heavystylus
Facebook

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Dynabusters+ (TSCC) - A Bug? FIXED!

Postby lotek_style » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:00 am

Thoty... if you still want the source I can send it to you... not sure if it is still needed as the bug seems to be fixed.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest