Time Bandit

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

mvalvo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:00 pm

Time Bandit

Postby mvalvo » Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:51 pm

Hi, I downloaded STEEM and time bandit from PlanetEMU, but the colors are all messed up. Does anyone know of a reliable download of time bandit?

thanks..

User avatar
daeghnao
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:41 pm
Location: York, UK
Contact:

Postby daeghnao » Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:54 pm

The last time I downloaded it from PlanetEmu it was fine - what sort of 'all messed up' do you get, exactly? I can't get to my collection to extract the relevant menu before tomorrow night, unfortunately, I'm sure someone else can though.

mvalvo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:00 pm

colors

Postby mvalvo » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:24 pm

the RGB colors of the pixels are completely wrong and it makes the gameplay very difficult. I'll attach a couple screenshots. I tried this on another PC and got the same results. maybe someone has a .st file they can email to me?

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:33 pm

I'm wondering if this could be down to a tos selection in Steem. Selecting an STE tos would make non-ste aware games show the wrong colours (if they run at all). Have you tried it with different tos versions? i.e. < tos 1.6?

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Postby Tomchi » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:39 pm

One of the images of gamebase st.
Seems to run ok with steem.
Last edited by Tomchi on Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
There's no way to happiness, happiness is the way ...
click
Noextra

mvalvo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:00 pm

weeeeeeeeeeee

Postby mvalvo » Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:55 pm

PaulB, THANK YOU!!!!! it worked with the older TOS
WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

User avatar
blakespot
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 9:32 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA (USA)
Contact:

Postby blakespot » Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:24 am

I wrote a little article about Time Bandit. A few actually. FYI:

Found New Time Bandit for Atari ST Retail Pacakge
Kroah's Retro Game "Decompilation" Effort
Time Bandit Manual Available As PDF Document
Time Bandit

I hope someone enjoys.





blakespot
http://www.bytecellar.com - ByteCellar :: The Vintage Computing Weblog / Forum

User avatar
Kroah
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:32 am
Location: France, Orléans
Contact:

Postby Kroah » Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:45 pm

Hi Blake and all other people!

I'm glad to see people still playing this wonderful game.

Concerning my project on Time Bandit, i haven't given up. It's just a question of time and priorities.

I'm currently finishing my project of multi-player Colonial Conquest (TCP/IP) for XP. It will be released soon... i'm tweaking the improved AI.

If you want more informations, you can visit my forum.

Cheers,
Pascal

Symoon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:48 pm

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Symoon » Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:06 pm

Somewhere there was a trained version of Time Bandit, but that only works with early TOS IIRC.

Really a good game, but I wonder if anyone managed to finish it without cheat !

Now, a Colonial Conquest in TCP/IP, that would be wonderful !

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby keili » Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:35 pm

Symoon wrote:Somewhere there was a trained version of Time Bandit, but that only works with early TOS IIRC.

Do you have this version, Symoon? I only know about an invincibilty-cheat, which can be found on Floppyshop Uitility Disk 3993.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

Symoon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:48 pm

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Symoon » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:02 pm

keili wrote:
Symoon wrote:Somewhere there was a trained version of Time Bandit, but that only works with early TOS IIRC.

Do you have this version, Symoon? I only know about an invincibilty-cheat, which can be found on Floppyshop Uitility Disk 3993.


Well, there's a disk patching an original disk I think, but the version I was talking about is in the GAU collection, disk 56.
I suspect it can be easily found on the Net, if not let me know I'll try to post it somewhere.
BTW, the Time Bandit version on the GAU disk is the 2.0; there's a 2.1 version of Time Bandit.

Cheers
Simon

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Dal » Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:54 pm

Here it is....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby keili » Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:26 pm

Of course i have the disk, the entry in the disk image list of Steem is a bit different (Time - Bandit) and so i didn't find the right one. Thanks, Symoon and Dal_1978 :) .
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby samf » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:53 pm

Symoon wrote:
keili wrote:
Symoon wrote:Somewhere there was a trained version of Time Bandit, but that only works with early TOS IIRC.

Do you have this version, Symoon? I only know about an invincibilty-cheat, which can be found on Floppyshop Uitility Disk 3993.


Well, there's a disk patching an original disk I think, but the version I was talking about is in the GAU collection, disk 56.
I suspect it can be easily found on the Net, if not let me know I'll try to post it somewhere.
BTW, the Time Bandit version on the GAU disk is the 2.0; there's a 2.1 version of Time Bandit.

Cheers
Simon


Will those later versions work on a Falcon straight out of the box? I have Time Bandit, but I haven't had time (no pun intended :twisted: ) to try it on my Falcon with Backward 3.

Thanks! :)
Atari Computer Nut
Virginia U.S.A.
C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,
256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,
4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Klapauzius » Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:06 pm

samf wrote:Will those later versions work on a Falcon straight out of the box? I have Time Bandit, but I haven't had time (no pun intended :twisted: ) to try it on my Falcon with Backward 3.


Just checked my Falcon compatibility spread sheet.
Both Time Bandit v0.96 and v2.0 run on my Falcon030 (fast!), and you don't even have to fire up Backward - just perform a clean boot from floppy. :-)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby samf » Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:48 pm

Klapauzius wrote:
samf wrote:Will those later versions work on a Falcon straight out of the box? I have Time Bandit, but I haven't had time (no pun intended :twisted: ) to try it on my Falcon with Backward 3.


Just checked my Falcon compatibility spread sheet.
Both Time Bandit v0.96 and v2.0 run on my Falcon030 (fast!), and you don't even have to fire up Backward - just perform a clean boot from floppy. :-)



Wow Klapauzius......that is awesome news!!! :D :D

So, what's the difference between versions 0.96, 2.0 and 2.1....I wasn't eve aware that newer versions existed!! :oops:

Thanks for your input and have a great day!! :)

PS...will Time Bandit recognize the JagPad?
Atari Computer Nut

Virginia U.S.A.

C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,

256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,

4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive

Symoon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:48 pm

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Symoon » Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:48 am

samf wrote:So, what's the difference between versions 0.96, 2.0 and 2.1....I wasn't eve aware that newer versions existed!! :oops:


I remember the save game option didn't exist in the 0.96.
I seem to recall an old interview with Harry Lafnear on the Web (which isn't online anymore it seems) where he explained why there were several versions...
Maybe someone in touch with him could ask :)

User avatar
Kroah
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:32 am
Location: France, Orléans
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Kroah » Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:11 pm

You can find some good informations on the different versions of Time Bandit at the ST Graveyard:
http://graveyard.atarizone.com/game_reviews/Timebandit/Timebandit.htm

Thanks Maarten to keep your website online :)

Dio
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Dio » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:58 pm

Last time I was playing this I had some problems with Greymoon (not understanding 'get green paper' at the dissolving crate on the 4X levels). Anyone know if 2.1 was bugged like this, or is it just the Automation crack? I'm sure it used to work on the 2.0 I had back in the day.

Absolutely bloody ace game mind. I spent a summer back in 86 or 87 playing one game a day (about six hours a time!).

User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby samf » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:19 pm

Where can one obtain Time Bandit 2.1?

Thanks
Atari Computer Nut

Virginia U.S.A.

C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,

256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,

4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 09, 2008 8:20 pm

samf wrote:Where can one obtain Time Bandit 2.1?

Thanks


Automation 12 for example.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby samf » Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:03 pm

Pardon my ignorance but....what is Automation 12? :oops:
Atari Computer Nut

Virginia U.S.A.

C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,

256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,

4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby teh3pwner » Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:04 pm

this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

skeezix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 7:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby skeezix » Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:24 pm

I've (slowly) been working on a Time Bandit remake..

Ran into some issues and actually contacted the authors and got some help, source clips and so on. One of these days I'm going to make a Time Bandit fan site to discuss some of my findings, but having a young baby around among other things is killing my time :)

jeff
--
Firebee, MiST, ST Book, STacy, TT030, 520STM, Atari 800XL, Atari 2600 heavy sixer, arcade machines, homemade computers, big toys for big boys!

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Time Bandit

Postby bullis1 » Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:56 pm

skeezix wrote:I've (slowly) been working on a Time Bandit remake..

Ran into some issues and actually contacted the authors and got some help, source clips and so on. One of these days I'm going to make a Time Bandit fan site to discuss some of my findings, but having a young baby around among other things is killing my time :)

jeff


Remake for what platform, may I ask?
Member of the Atari Legend team


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest