Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:52 pm

I just recently bought 4MB of RAM for my STE 1.62 (Swedish TOS). I have ran a memory test and the memory test fine. I have been trying to get R-Type Deluxe running from floppy, but I can't get it to work. It gets to the bit where the screen fades to black, then the disk drive stops briefly and then starts again for a bit and then goes quiet. Then my STE just sits there... sulking ... with a black screen. I am using the disks from Atarimania. Anyone have any ideas on how to get this working?

I also tried to run the HD installable version from my USB Unicorn. Doesn't work either, it stops at the same point; the screen fades to black (after the R-Type picture) and then the ST just hangs...

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby catmando » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:31 pm

I think there is a more recent (fixed) version on the forum
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:49 pm

Thanks for replying! You mean the HD installable version? I have tried both from this thread : viewtopic.php?f=28&t=29047&start=25. Doesn't work and both produce the same black screen. I am running my Unicorn using BigDOS, maybe that's the problem there ... :shrug:

Is there an alternate floppy version? I have the following files on my disks, seems right to me:

Disk 1
2017-03-24 14:02 205ÿ512 GAME.RTP
2017-03-24 14:02 89ÿ990 INTRO.RTP
2017-03-24 14:02 187ÿ502 OPENING.RTP
2017-03-24 14:02 9ÿ389 RTYPE.RTP
2017-03-24 14:02 2ÿ088 RTYPE.TOS
2017-03-24 14:02 76ÿ401 STAGE1.DAT
2017-03-24 14:02 220ÿ478 TITLE.RTP

Disk 2
2017-03-24 14:04 77ÿ286 ENDING.RTP
2017-03-24 14:04 102ÿ865 STAGE2.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 38ÿ264 STAGE3.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 58ÿ808 STAGE4.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 24ÿ564 STAGE5.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 29ÿ085 STAGE6.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 68ÿ271 STAGE7.DAT
2017-03-24 14:04 43ÿ248 STAGE8.DAT

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:36 am

No one got any tips? Has anyone got it going with a memory card solution? I know people at least have the floppy disk version working...

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby AtariCrypt » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:48 am

I've not downloaded this for a while now but I remember linking to the version by Peter. This works on my 4mb STe just perfect. Is this the one u mention above that you've tried? https://ataricrypt.blogspot.co.uk/2015/ ... eluxe.html My hardware is different to yours but perhaps more generic? I use a 4mb STe but it's English of course and also I'm using an Ultrasatan with HDDriver. Sometimes I do need to COLD boot with a few 'difficult' games...
AtariCrypt ... ST/e gaming https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:08 pm

AtariCrypt wrote:I've not downloaded this for a while now but I remember linking to the version by Peter. This works on my 4mb STe just perfect. Is this the one u mention above that you've tried? https://ataricrypt.blogspot.co.uk/2015/ ... eluxe.html My hardware is different to yours but perhaps more generic? I use a 4mb STe but it's English of course and also I'm using an Ultrasatan with HDDriver. Sometimes I do need to COLD boot with a few 'difficult' games...


Yeah, that's one of the HD installable versions I have tried, they both fail in the same manner. It could be BigDOS creating problems I guess, but at least some games works fine with it. But at least the floppy disk version should run I think .. :(

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2754
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:18 pm

The problem is BigDOS 99% - at least in case of hard disk v. You may DL this image, where is demo version of my TOS/DOS compatible hard disk driver, so no need for BigDOS, and copy there R-Type deluxe:
http://atari.8bitchip.info/DiskImgPP1.html
Then if still works not most likely there is some minor HW error in your machine.
English language is like bad boss on workplace: it expecting from you to strictly follow all, numerous rules, but self bending rules as much likes :mrgreen:

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:29 pm

AtariZoll wrote:The problem is BigDOS 99% - at least in case of hard disk v. You may DL this image, where is demo version of my TOS/DOS compatible hard disk driver, so no need for BigDOS, and copy there R-Type deluxe:
http://atari.8bitchip.info/DiskImgPP1.html
Then if still works not most likely there is some minor HW error in your machine.


Thanks for the link! I will give this a try. I have had some weird issues with my Unicorn where I have been unable to partition any USB stick on my STE. The only way around it was to format and partition on PC and the use BigDOS to enable my STE to read the memory stick. I am also experiencing other weird behaviour when my Unicorn is connected. Allan has tried his best to help me, but we were unable to determine whether it was a problem with my STE or the Unicorn ... and in the end I was so sick of fiddling with it that I settled with the BigDOS solution, so I at least could get going with transferring my old disks...

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:24 am

ATariZoll: I have tried your image now; can't get it to work. I am not sure I can get the Unicorn to boot from the USB stick? It's not working anyway. I tried to boot from floppy with the Unicorn drivers (removed BIGDos) and with your image installed in the Unicorn. But that messes up the boot, my STE ignores my desktop.inf, can't add a HD and when I try to open a floppy disk most of the file names on it are changed into garbage... There's got to be a HW problem with either my machine or the Unicorn ... :shrug:

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1290
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Marakatti » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:43 pm

Cogweasel wrote:I just recently bought 4MB of RAM for my STE 1.62 (Swedish TOS). I am using the disks from Atarimania. Anyone have any ideas on how to get this working?

I also tried to run the HD installable version from my USB Unicorn. Doesn't work either, it stops at the same point; the screen fades to black (after the R-Type picture) and then the ST just hangs...

I think i played it with real STe using SD Floppy Emulator by Lotharek at the time it was uploaded. Can't be 100% sure as it was a long time ago. Will try again to see if it was correct or not.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Cogweasel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Problems getting R-Type deluxe running on real hardware

Postby Cogweasel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Marakatti wrote:
Cogweasel wrote:I just recently bought 4MB of RAM for my STE 1.62 (Swedish TOS). I am using the disks from Atarimania. Anyone have any ideas on how to get this working?

I also tried to run the HD installable version from my USB Unicorn. Doesn't work either, it stops at the same point; the screen fades to black (after the R-Type picture) and then the ST just hangs...

I think i played it with real STe using SD Floppy Emulator by Lotharek at the time it was uploaded. Can't be 100% sure as it was a long time ago. Will try again to see if it was correct or not.


I am suspecting there's something rotten with my STE, because I can't get the floppy version to work either. Just can't quite figure out what the problem is, most of my old software works ... and I have ran memory tests, no problem.


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest