running "venus the flytrap"

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

VAC
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:21 am

running "venus the flytrap"

Postby VAC » Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:21 pm

I have 2 versions of the game "venus the flytrap"
one is the stx and the other has a st extension.

I really like to replay the game, but my old atari is just messed up.
So I started downloading emulator after emulator and trying to get either of the versions to work. But no luck. I've had only a little progress when using the "winfellow" program. It got me to the "press esc to skip intro" screen, but after that nothing happens (even after slamming down the esc key 87 times). One time though it went past that screen and winfellow asked for the 2nd disk (even though I attached both files).

Is this a known problem for the game, or am I just using the wrong emulators?

the st is a single file, and the stx has 2 files.
(im sure I cant post the roms here, so I wont. altough I supose it would be easier for you to help me if I did)

Disclaimer:
I realise this is my first post here, and I could break rules by asking this, or if posted this in the wrong forum. hereby I apologize.

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:10 pm

NP, this place is for questions :) .
I have no problem running the game (stx- and st-file) with Steem, using TOS1.04 and 4MB. Maybe you can try this or tell us, what emus and settings you've used.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

VAC
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:21 am

Postby VAC » Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:18 pm

On your recomendation I installed steem v3.2.
Downloaded an english TOS 1.04 and put the memory size to 4 mb.

I've selected the folder with the game in it as the c: drive.

But when I open venus.st steem says: "You can only print or show this document" I've checked that the file isnt set "read only" in windows.

Can you give me a kick in the right direction? :)


Edit:
Omg venus works !
I just dragged and dropped the .st in the steem screen, and I got it working
This is so cool to replay this game after so many years.

Thanks for the help Keili :)

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1487
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:41 pm

Vac - for future reference the ST file needs to be in teh A drive as its a floppy image basically

same for MSA images
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest