.ST .MSA -> Floppy -> Play happily on my Atari?

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
sprite
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 9:42 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

.ST .MSA -> Floppy -> Play happily on my Atari?

Postby sprite » Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:47 pm

Hi there!

I have a few games to the Steem emulator, but it's not the same feeling as playing on my Atari

Anyway! Is there a way to convert a .ST or .MSA file to a floppy and then play them on my Atari? I have an Atari 1040ST
I live for Life

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5016
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:53 pm

See http://makedisk.atari.org/ for a tutorial.
If that method fails, try MSA Convertor to split the files in two and run JayMSA or MSA 2.3 on the ST.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby NikiforosST » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:22 am

http://www.stemulator.net/download.php see this, it's very good, but if you have linux, you can make it from your console like this:
dd if=image.st of=/dev/fd0 or image.msa
and dd if=/dev/fd0 of=image.st from disk to image
if image is an another directoy then etc. if=/home/nik/image.st

User avatar
Nightengale
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:39 am
Location: Calfornia

Postby Nightengale » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:32 am

I know this is really old, but.. I found this website to be very handy, at least for me:

http://msaconverter.free.fr/index-uk.html
TI-99/4A w/PEB, CC-40, TRS-80 100, STacy2, NeXT Turbo Station NS 3.3, iMAC 10.3.9, HP intel with Openstep 4.2/Rhapsody 5.1, Quadra 840av, two mac portables, iBook 10.3.9.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5016
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:40 am

MSA Converter will only convert .msa into .st and vice versa but it won't write any of those to floppy for use on with the ST.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Nightengale
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:39 am
Location: Calfornia

Postby Nightengale » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:39 pm

That is true. It was like magic for me though the first time I was able to see and use all of the files of a .st or .msa file. i could see them and drag them to the desktop of my wintel machine. From there i put them on a usb keychain because I do not have a floppy drive on my main machine. I took that keychain over to another older pc that's also running xp but it has a 3.5 floppy drive. i found an old aol dd for mac disk, put that into the floppy drive, ran cmd for a dos prompt, then entered: FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9, waiting for a long time for the floppy to format hehe, then closed out the dos prompt and dragged the files over to the floppy and walah, the st machine was able to use the files on the floppy.
TI-99/4A w/PEB, CC-40, TRS-80 100, STacy2, NeXT Turbo Station NS 3.3, iMAC 10.3.9, HP intel with Openstep 4.2/Rhapsody 5.1, Quadra 840av, two mac portables, iBook 10.3.9.


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests